N.C. State Fair Campground

Column Paragraph

If you are an authorized vendor or show participant who would like to camp on the main grounds inside the perimeter fencing near our buildings, we do not currently take advanced reservations for those campsites. Same-day reservations can be secured by a member of our Public Safety team. You may contact Public Safety at 919-612-6767 for placement upon arrival.

Policies to Make the Most of Your Stay

Tab/Accordion Items

  • Cost for overnight camping is $35 per night (additional fees may apply).
  • Check-out time is 12:00 p.m. Check-in time is 3:00 p.m.
  • The Fairgrounds offers recreational vehicle hook-up access for visits of 14 nights or less, no exceptions.
  • There are 101 sites at the N.C. State Fair Campground, and 150 sites on the main campus (Main campus sites are still first-come, first-served).
  • Water, sewer and electrical access is available at each site at the N.C. State Fair Campground, (electricity access ranges from 30 - 50 amps).
  • No tent camping is allowed.
  • For use of dump station without an overnight stay, contact Fairgrounds Public Safety at 919-612-6767 for payment. Cost for use is $10.
  • Credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Diners Club) are accepted for camping fees.
  • Free Wi-Fi.

Our rules are for the protection of our visitors and natural resources, and to make everyone's visit a safe and enjoyable experience. The information given below is a compilation of rules, regulations, campground policies, and in some cases state and federal laws. Please observe them for your safety and enjoyment as well as the safety and enjoyment of others.

  • Camping is allowed in designated areas by permit only.
  • The N.C. State Fair Campground is CLOSED to the public for the month of October for the N.C. State Fair.
  • No refunds for early departures. Cancellations made prior to the scheduled arrival date will result in the loss of the $3.50 per night, non-refundable reservation fee.
  • Cancellations made on the scheduled arrival date will result in a loss of one night’s camping for each reservation as well as the $3.50 per night reservation fee.
  • No refunds for no-shows, cancellations or early departures after the date of arrival.
  • No tent camping is allowed.
  • Visitors must be 18 years or older to register as campers and there must be at least one adult 18 years or older accompanying each camper group.
  • Gathering firewood is prohibited.
  • Small fire pits on campsites are allowed provided that the flames are contained at cooking level and campsite is not located near posted areas restricting open flames.

Firearms and other weapons are prohibited except that those with a proper permit may possess a concealed handgun in permitted areas and under the requirements of North Carolina G.S. 14-269 and G.S. 14-415.11. The possession or use of fireworks, cap pistols, air guns, bows and arrows, slingshots, and any other similar projectiles or lethal missiles of any kind are prohibited.

  • As a courtesy to other campers, please observe the campground quiet hours.
  • Quiet hours are typically from 10 p.m. until 7 a.m.
  • The production or emission of noises, amplified speech, music or other sounds that may annoy, disturb or frighten campground visitors is prohibited in any camping or recreation area at all times.

  • Fishing activities are regulated by all applicable North Carolina laws and regulations, including those regarding fishing licenses.
  • Laws and regulations may be enforced by the N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Public Safety Division as well as other agencies including the Wake County Sheriff's Office and Raleigh Police Department.
  • Boats, rafts and canoes are prohibited in the pond.

  • Public nudity, including public nude bathing is prohibited.
  • All children under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult while around the pond.

  • Pets must be on a leash no longer than six feet at all times.
  • Pets must not be left unattended. Campers must confine pets to enclosures during the campground quiet hours.
  • Pets are not allowed in showers and restrooms. Exceptions are service animals.
  • Pet owners are responsible for cleaning up after their pets.
  • Pet owners may be asked to remove dangerous or noisy pets from the Fairgrounds.
  • All pets within the Fairgrounds must have a current rabies vaccination.

  • The removal, destruction or injury of any tree, flower, artifact, fern, shrub, rock or other plant or mineral on the Fairgrounds is prohibited.
  • The hunting, trapping, pursuing, shooting, injuring, killing or molesting of any bird or animal is prohibited. Do not feed wild animals.

  • Only two vehicles (excluding RV, camper, or trailer) may be parked on each campsite.
  • North Carolina motor vehicle and traffic laws apply on Fairgrounds property. Unlicensed vehicles or motorcycles, golf carts, ATV's and mini-bikes are prohibited with the exception of mobility-aid devices used by person who is mobility-impaired.
  • Licensed motorized vehicles are permitted only in designated areas.
  • Bicycle riders under age 16 must wear a helmet.
  • Bicycle passengers who weigh less than 40 pounds or who are less than 40 inches tall must be seated in a separate restraining seat. All other bicycle riders must be seated on saddle seats. Persons unable to maintain an erect, seated position cannot be bicycle passengers.

A substantiated violation of any of these rules or regulations may result in the cancelation of reservation.