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January 19, 2023

Kimberly Parrish

SPCA Board President

SPCA of Northeastern NC

102 Enterprise Drive

Elizabeth City, North Carolina 27909

NOTICE of CIVIL PENALTY

Re: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT for VIOLATION of TITLE 02 N.C. ADMINISTRATIVE
CODE (NCAC) CHAPTER 52] SECTION .0210(d)

AWS-CP-2023-2
Facility: SPCA of Northeastern NC Animal Shelter
Registration Number: 138
Dear Ms. Parrish:
Pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, [ am issuing this notice that SPCA of Northeastern NC as owner and
operator of the SPCA of Northeastern NC Animal Shelter (“the shelter”) is hereby assessed a civil penalty

of $1,000.00 as provided in the enclosed Notice of Violation.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the
following:

I. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N.C. Office of Administrative
Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to NCGS § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement negotiations at
any time, To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may contact me by telephone at (919) 707-
3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for payment or filing of a contested case
petition.



Additional information about your options is provided below:
PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by NCGS § 150B-23.
The petition must be filed with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings (“OAH") within 60 days from
the date of this document. Additionally, the petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty
dollars ($20.00). Payment can be made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an
attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings. File the petition and
one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.

You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Mr. Jonathan Lanier
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. [f
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you.
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Your attention to this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

%CA*; MB\}'\ M.

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty

cc: Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian
Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Christopher R, McLennan, Special Deputy Attorney General
Kimberly Parrish, Registered Agent; P. O. Box 1772, Elizabeth City, NC 27909 ~
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT

COUNTY OF WAKE OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION
ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION
IN THE MATTER OF ) NOTICE of VIOLATION and
) ASSESSMENT of CIVIL PENALTY
SPCA OF NORTHEASTERN NC ) for VIOLATION of TITLE 02 NC
) ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (“NCAC™)
OWNER OF ) CHAPTER 521 SECTION .0210(d).
)
SPCA OF NORTHEASTERN NC )
ANIMAL SHELTER )
)

Acting pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section (“"AWS"),
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“NCDA&CS"™) makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1.

[

At all times pertinent to this matter, the SPCA of Northeastern NC Animal Shelter (“the shelter”)

owned and operated by the SPCA of Northeasltern NC was an animal shelter, registered pursuant to
NCGS § 19A-26.

On December 4, 2022, AWS received a complaint concerning the failure to treat ill animals at the
shelter. Based on this information, AWS opened an investigation. The investigation centered on
possible violation(s) of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act (*“AWA”') as these statutes and associated
regulations are the extent of the jurisdiction of AWS. AWS received an additional complaint on
December 29, 2022, containing similar allegations of failure to provide veterinary care to animals in
the care and custody of the shelter.

As part of the complaint investigation, AWS Outreach Coordinator Joe Blomquist (“Coordinator
Blomquist™) reviewed the allegations in the complaint. The allegations included:

d.

on September 16, 2022, a cat named Crystal (Shelter ID # A51095874) was in labor and had
passed 2 deceased kittens. Shelter management declined to have the cat examined by a
veterinarian or euthanized. Upon the being informed that the shelter would not provide
veterinary care to Crystal and that no one authorized to perform euthanasia was present at the
shelter, a shelter volunteer arranged the cat’s transfer to a rescue. The rescue took Crystal to a
veterinarian for medical care; and
the cat named Heidi (Shelter [D #A0050933144) was nursing a litter of kittens. The kittens
were in the care and custody of the shelter for a least 2 weeks when they began passing away.
The last kitten was given (o a foster care provider on October 12, 2022, According to the
foster care provider, the kitten was emaciated, lethargic, fecally incontinent, passing
tapeworms, and infested with fleas. The foster care provider took the kitten to the veterinarian
on October 13, 2022. The veterinarian determined that due to the extremely poor condition of
1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carclina 27699-1030 ® (919) 707-3250 @ Fax (819) 733-6431
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the kitten, the most humane option for this kitten was euthanasia. The kitten was euthanized

by the veterinarian during the office visit on October 13, 2022;

4. As part of the complaint investigation, Coordinator Blomquist conducted an unannounced site visit of
the shelter on December 9, 2022. The findings for the site visit included:

a. areview of the shelter records for the cat named Crystal did not show the provision of any
veterinary care by the shelter on or around September 16, 2022, when she went into labor;
and

b. areview of the shelter records for the kitten referenced in the complaint did not show the
provision of any velerinary care by the shelter to this kitten.

5. As part of the investigation, Coordinator Blomquist reviewed documentation from the veterinarians
that examined the Kitten and the cat named Crystal. The veterinary medical records show:

a. on September 16, 2022, the veterinarian examined Crystal and found her to be in “extreme
distress.” The veterinarian performed an emergency ovarichysterectomy and found that
Crystal had 4 deceased kittens remaining in her uterus. The surgery was completed, and
Crystal’s recovery was “uneventful;” and

b. on October 13, 2022, the veterinarian examined the kitten referenced in the complaint and
found that that the kitten was “very weak, severely dehydrated, and thin.” The veterinarian
euthanized the kitten at the conclusion of the examination.

CONCLUSIONS

To the extent that the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the Conclusions of Law are
Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the given labels. Based on the findings
of this investigation, AWS concludes that the shelter violated the following provisions:

02 NCAC 521 .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate and timely veterinary care to the cat named
Crystal on September 16, 2022; and

02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate and timely veterinary care to the kitten
prior to October 12, 2022.

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by NCGS § 19A-40, in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered the
degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly, SPCA of Northeastern NC as owner and operator of the SPCA of Northeastern NC Animal
Shelter is hereby assessed a civil penalty for the following violations:

$500.00 for the violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate and timely
veterinary care to the cat named Crystal on September 16, 2022; and

$500.00 for the violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate and timely
veterinary care to the kitten prior to October 12, 2022.
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$1,000.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

(See Appendix for text of referenced General Statutes and Administrative Code)

% 20 o \ PR VT

te Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Department of
Agriculture & Consumer Services
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Appendix
REFERENCED LAWS AND REGULATIONS

§ 19A-26. Certificate of registration required for animal shelter.

No person shall operate an animal shelter unless a certificate of registration for such animal shelter shall
have been granted by the Director. Application for such certificate shall be made in the manner provided
by the Director. No fee shall be required for such application or certificate. Certificates of registration shall
be valid for a period of one year or until suspended or revoked and may be renewed for like periods upon
application in the manner provided. (1977, 2nd Sess., c. 1217, 5. 7; 1987, c. 827, 5. 64.)

§ 19A-30. Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license.

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for
any animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial
investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds
apply:

(D Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or
license or in the application for any renewal under this Article;

(2) Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto;

(3) Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the
purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at
the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent
of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article;

4) Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person;

(5) Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or
dishonesty, or conviction of any felony;
(6) Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to

influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction,
commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer;

)] Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through
advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be
licensed;

(8) Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this

Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license.

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a
certificate of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a
statement indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the
holding of a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended
or revoked under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or
revocation to surrender all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his
authorized representative.

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the
Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial,
suspension, or revocation.

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to
apply for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said
license or if an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final
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judgment sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a
licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the
violation upon which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the
period during which the order of suspension or revocation is in effect.

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any
person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the
amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation.
The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty
and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.

02 NCAC 52] .0210 VETERINARY CARE

(d) Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal caretaker who has been adequately trained or is
experienced in animal care or is under the direct supervision of a person who has such training or
experience. Sick or diseased, injured, lame, or blind dogs or cats shall be provided with adequate veterinary
care in a timely manner or be euthanized, provided that the euthanasia shall not affect compliance with any
state or local law requiring the holding, for a specified period, of animals suspected of being diseased. If an
animal cannot be euthanized due to a required holding period and does not meet the criteria of G.S. 19A-
32.1{b)(2), then adequate veterinary care shall be provided to the animal.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984,
Amended Eff. March 23, 2009; January 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022,
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