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NOTICE of WARNING and NOTICE of VIOLATION

Re: Violation of Title 02 N.C. Administrative Code (“NCAC”) Chapter 52J, Section .0201(j)
AWS-WL-2023-17

Boarding Kennel: River Ridge Bed & Biscuit
License No. 10392

Dear Ms. Donaldson:

On October 23, 2023, Animal Health Technician Joshua James (“Inspector James™) from the Animal
Welfare Section (“AWS”) of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
(“NCDA&CS”) attempted to conduct a facility inspection of the River Ridge Bed & Biscuit boarding
kennel (“the kennel”). Although you were present at the facility you denied Inspector James access to
conduct a Facility Compliance Inspection (“FCI”).

Pursuant to the North Carolina Animal Welfare Act and the rules promulgated thereunder, “All areas of a
facility are subject to review or inspection by North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services employees during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. through 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday)”
[02 NCAC 527 .0201())].

Therefore, AWS finds that this kennel is in violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(j).

This Warning Letter and Notice of Deficiency serves as written notice indicating in which respects the
kennel has failed to satisfy the requirements for the holding of a license as a boarding kennel. The kennel
must have at least one “Approved” facility compliance inspection in the 12 months prior to the July 1
renewal date for the shelter to be eligible to renew its registration. A review of AWS records shows that
the kennel has not received an “Approved” facility compliance inspection because of the failure of the
kennel to be accessible during normal business hours for an FCI. To be clear, should the facility continue



to be inaccessible during normal business hours for inspection, the kennel will not receive an “Approved”
inspection by July 1, 2024, the kennel will not be able to be licensed as required by NCGS § 19A-26 and
will need to cease operation by July 1, 2024.

In addition, if the kennel continues to be inaccessible during business hours and thereby preventing AWS
personnel access to the kennel from this date forward, this repeated violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(j)
will be considered a willful disregard or violation of the North Carolina Animal Welfare Act and the rules
issued pursuant thereto. Such willful disregard or violation of the North Carolina Animal Welfare Act
and the rules issued pursuant thereto may result in suspension or revocation of your facility’s license
pursuant to NCGS § 19A-30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation
pursuant to N. C. General Statute § 19A-40.

Your immediate compliance with the N.C. Animal Welfare Act is required.

Sincerely,

m\%“/%

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section
Veterinary Division, NCDA&CS

ce: Dr. Michael Martin, State Veterinarian
Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Christopher R. McLennan, Assistant Attorney General
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Appendix
REFERENCED STATUES AND REGULATIONS

§ 19A-30. Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license.

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for any
animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial
investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds apply:

(1) Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or license
or in the application for any renewal under this Article;

(2) Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto;

(3) Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the purposes of
this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at the animal
shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent of this
Article or the rules adopted under this Article;

(4) Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person;

(5) Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or dishonesty,
or conviction of any felony;

(6) Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to influence,
persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction,
commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer;

(7) Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through
advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be
licensed;

(8) Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this Article for
the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license.

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a certificate
of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a statement
indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the holding of
a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended or revoked
under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or revocation to surrender
all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his authorized representative.

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the
Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial,
suspension, or revocation.

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to apply
for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said license or if
an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final judgment
sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a licensee whose
license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the violation upon
which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the period during which
the order of suspension or revocation is in effect. (1977, 2nd Sess., c. 1217, s. 11; 1987, c. 827, s. 67.)

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any
person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the
amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation.
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The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty
and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.

02 NCAC 52J .0201 GENERAL

(j) All areas of a facility are subject to review or inspection by North Carolina Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services employees during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. through 5:30 p.m. Monday
through Friday).

History Note: Authority G.S. 194-24; Eff. April 1, 1984, Amended Eff. January 1, 2005.
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