Steven W. Troxler North Carolina Department of Agriculture S camasgen

Commissioner and Consumer SerVICES for Consumer Protection
Veterinary Division Michael Martin, DVM
State Veterinarian
April 8, 2025
Renne Clark

Pawsitively Pugs Rescue
120 Misty Way
Franklinton, NC 27525

Re: Compliance with NC General Statute § 19A-26
Dear Ms. Clark:

The Animal Welfare Section (“AWS”) of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services (“NCDA&CS”) received a complaint concerning the potential operation of an unregistered
animal shelter at 120 Misty Way, Franklinton, NC.

On March 31, 2025, AWS Outreach Coordinator Blomquist (“Coordinator Blomquist”) conducted a site
visit at the 120 Misty Way, Franklinton, NC address. He found that your rescue, Pawsitively Pugs Rescue
(“the rescue”) was housing 18 rescue dogs at this location and conducting activities consistent with the
NC Animal Welfare Act (““AWA”) definition of an animal shelter. A review of AWS records does not
show an active certificate of registration for an animal shelter for Pawsitively Pugs Rescue at this or any
other address.

Until such a time the rescue has a valid AWS animal shelter registration, you may not operate as an
animal shelter. This means that the rescue may not: intake stray or unwanted animals directly from the
public, animal shelter or other rescue; house more than 9 rescue, stray or unwanted dogs or cats; or
provide foster care for a shelter or other rescue for more than 9 animals.

To initiate the process to become registered as an animal shelter, you must complete the animal shelter
registration application, before housing any animals. If you need a copy of the application form, it can be
found on the AWS website at the following link: https://www.ncagr.gov/veterinary/awsnewshelterapp/open

Failure to abide by this directive shall be considered a willful disregard or violation of the NC Animal
Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto. Under NC General Statute § 19A-40, violation of the
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NC Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto may result in the assessment of a civil
penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation.

Your immediate attention to this matter is appreciated.

CC:

Sincerely,
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Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section
Veterinary Division, NCDA&CS

Dr. Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian, NCDA&CS
Christina Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS

Samuel Gray, Assistant Attorney General



Appendix

RELEVANT LAWS AND REGULATIONS

8 19A-26. Certificate of registration required for animal shelter.

No person shall operate an animal shelter unless a certificate of registration for such animal shelter shall
have been granted by the Director. Application for such certificate shall be made in the manner provided
by the Director. No fee shall be required for such application or certificate. Certificates of registration shall
be valid for a period of one year or until suspended or revoked and may be renewed for like periods upon
application in the manner provided. (1977, 2nd Sess., ¢. 1217, s. 7; 1987, c. 827, s. 64.)

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any person
who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the amount of
the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation. The clear
proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty and
Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.



