

Steven W. Troxler Commissioner

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Veterinary Division

Christina L. Waggett Assistant Commissioner for Consumer Protection

Michael Martin, DVM State Veterinarian

June 24, 2025

Stacie Shatzer, MBA Nash County Manager 120 W. Washington Street Suite 3072 Nashville, NC 27856 Via hand delivery

NOTICE of CIVIL PENALTY

Re: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT for VIOLATIONS of N.C.G.S. § 19A-32.1(b)(2) and (g) and TITLE 02 N.C. ADMINISTRATIVE CODE ("NCAC") CHAPTER 52J SECTIONS .0101(5); 0103; .0201(m); .0204(d), (m), and (o); .0206(a) and (c); .0207(a); .0209(7)(a); and .0210(d)

AWS-CP-2025-10

Facility: Nash County Animal Shelter Registration Number 442

Dear County Manager Shatzer:

Pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, I am issuing this notice that Nash County as the operator of the Nash County Animal Shelter ("the shelter") is hereby assessed a civil penalty of \$6,700.00 as provided in the enclosed Notice of Violation.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the following:

- 1. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or
- 2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to NCGS § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement negotiations at any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may contact me by telephone at (919) 707-3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for payment or filing of a contested case petition.

Additional information about your options is provided below:

PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by NCGS § 150B-23. The petition must be filed with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings ("OAH") within 60 days from the date of this document. Additionally, the petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty dollars (\$20.00). Payment can be made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an attorney's trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings. File the petition and one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings 6714 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.

You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Mr. Jonathan Lanier

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you. Your attention to this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty

cc: Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian
Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Lindsey Spain, Special Deputy Attorney General

COUNTY OF NASH		OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
		SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION
		ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION
IN THE MATTER of)	NOTICE of VIOLATION and
)	ASSESSMENT of CIVIL PENALTY
NASH COUNTY)	for VIOLATIONS of N.C.G.S.§ 19A-32.1(b)(2) and
)	(g) and TITLE 02 NC ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
OPERATOR of)	("NCAC") CHAPTER 52J SECTIONS .0101(5);
)	.0103; .0201(m); .0204(d), (m) and (o); .0206(a)
NASH COUNTY)	and (c); .0207(a); .0209(7)(a) and .0210(d)
)	
ANIMAL SHELTER)	

MODELL CAROLDIA DERABEMENTE

CT LTE OF MODELL CAROLINA

Acting pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section ("AWS"), North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services ("NCDA&CS") makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

- 1. At all times pertinent to this matter, the Nash County Animal Shelter ("the shelter"), owned and operated by Nash County was an animal shelter registered pursuant to NCGS §19A-26.
- 2. On June 12 and 13, 2025, AWS received complaints alleging that the shelter failed to provide adequate care of the animals and failed to properly clean the animal enclosures. Based on this information, AWS opened an investigation. The investigation centered on possible violation(s) of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act ("AWA") as these statutes and associated regulations are the extent of the jurisdiction of AWS.
- 3. On June 13, 2025, AWS Veterinary Program Specialist Lynn (Inspector Lynn) conducted a site visit at the shelter to conduct the investigation. The following information was obtained from the site visit:
 - a. In violation of N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(b)(2), the cat with Intake Number 14723 was euthanized on June 13, 2025. The intake information showed that this cat was brought into the shelter on June 12, 2025. The intake form has a signature from the public stating that this cat was a stray. As a stray, the cat was required to be held for a minimum of 72 hours. The intake form also has a signature from the public stating that this cat was an owner surrender but there was no proof of ownership or written waiver of the minimum 72-hour period. There was no documentation that this animal was ill or seriously injured as required by N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(b)(2) in order for the cat to be euthanized prior to the end of the 72-hour period. The Shelter Director referred to this cat as a feral stray in conversation with Inspector Lynn. Inspector Lynn reminded him that, as this cat was a stray, the shelter was required to hold the cat for 72 hours. Despite this conversation, the cat was euthanized later in the day after Inspector Lynn left the shelter;

- b. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0103, the shelter was unable to match Cat #14723 with its record. A review of the shelter's surrender paperwork provided for this cat shows that it does not match the Animal Control's incident number or the shelter's intake number;
- c. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(m), the Shelter Director was not truthful in conversation with Inspector Lynn concerning Cat #14723. Inspector Lynn noted this cat was confined to a cat trap in the sally port area of the shelter. The sally port was not an approved area for housing animals and a cat trap was also not an adequate enclosure. When Inspector Lynn asked about this cat, the Shelter Director went over to the trap and read the intake information. He then told Inspector Lynn that this feral stray had been brought into the shelter at 12:00 p.m. on June 13, 2025 and was going to be euthanized later in the afternoon. Inspector Lynn obtained a copy of the intake form that showed that this cat had actually been brought in by an Animal Control officer at 3:59 p.m. on June 12, 2025;
- d. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(d) and (m), Cat #14723 was not provided with adequate space to be able to walk, turn about freely and stand, or lie or sit in a natural position without touching the sides or top covering of the enclosure;
- e. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(m), 2 enclosures had female cats and their weaning-aged kittens confined in closed carriers. These carriers did not provide the floor space required by this rule;
- f. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(o), Cat #14723 and the 2 cats with their weaning-aged kittens confined in closed carriers were not provided with a clean receptacle containing clean litter in their enclosures;
- g. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a), seven enclosures including those housing Cat #14723 and the 2 cats and their weaning-aged kittens did not have any water available for the animals;
- h. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0206(c), the water receptacles in numerous enclosures in the adoptable cat room were visibly soiled;
- i. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0207(a), the shelter failed to properly clean the enclosures a minimum of two times per day. The June 13, 2025 site visit started at 1:00 p.m., and at that time none of the cat enclosures in the adoptable cat room and the feral cat room had been cleaned for first cleaning. The shelter's AWS registration renewal application stated that the daily cleaning occurred at 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.;
- j. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0209(7)(a), the records of 10 of the long-term care dogs did not contain documentation of daily social interactions and enrichment. On September 4, 2024, Inspector Lynn discussed enrichment documentation with the shelter staff and provided them with a sample form that could be used for this documentation;
- k. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d), the shelter failed to provide adequate veterinary care to the dog named Wally Earl (#14421). Medication (a sleeve of antibiotic pills) was attached to this dog's enclosure. Based on the label on the medication packaging, this medication was prescribed to Wally Earl on April 11, 2025. None of the medication had been given to the dog. When asked why this dog did not receive its medication, the Shelter Director explained that they did not have any "pill pockets" to put the pills in; and
- 1. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d), the shelter failed to provide adequate veterinary care in a timely manner to a kitten in the feral cat room. Inspector Lynn observed that this kitten was suffering from a very large, bulging eye. The kitten was brought into the shelter on June 12, 2025, yet no veterinary care had been provided to the kitten. The kitten was euthanized later in the afternoon of June 13, 2025.

- 4. On June 16, 2025, starting at approximately 11:00 a.m., Inspector Lynn conducted a follow-up site visit to continue the investigation. The following information was obtained from this follow-up site visit:
 - a. In violation of N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(g), the shelter euthanized two animals (Cat #13636 on May 23, 2025 and Dog #14605 on May 22, 2025) within 24 hours of their intake into the shelter. No owner surrender form or signature, proof of ownership, or written waiver of the 72-hour minimum hold for these animals were obtained and/or maintained by the shelter;
 - b. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5), the shelter failed to document the veterinary care for Wally Earl. When the shelter was asked for the shelter's medical record for this dog, it was found that there was no veterinary medical record maintained by the shelter; and
 - c. In violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a), 3 cat enclosures did not have any water present for the cats. Water receptacles were present in the enclosures, but they were completely dry. This violation occurred despite Inspector Lynn emphasizing to the Shelter Director on June 13, 2025 the importance of providing continuous access to water to the animals.

CONCLUSIONS

To the extent that the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the Conclusions of Law are Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the given labels. Based on the findings of the AWS investigation, AWS finds that the shelter violated the following provisions:

- N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(b)(2) for failure to hold Cat #14723 for the 72-hour minimum holding period prior to before euthanasia when there was no determination in writing by the Shelter Director of serious illness or injury on June 13, 2025.
- N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(g) for euthanasia of Cat #13636 on May 23, 2025 and Dog #14605 on May 22, 2025 prior to the end of the 72-hour minimum holding period without obtaining an owner surrender form or signature, proof of ownership, or written consent to the early disposition.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5) for failure to record the veterinary care of Wally Earl (Dog #14421) as noted on June 16, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0103 for failure to match an animal (Cat #14723) to it paperwork upon request on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0201(m) for failure to be truthful with NCDA&CS employees during an investigation as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0204(d) for failure to space in the enclosure for Cat #14723 sufficient for the cat to be able to walk, turn about freely and to stand, or sit or lie in a natural position without touching the sides or top covering of the enclosure as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0204(m) for failure to provide 3 cats (Cat #14723 and 2 cats with weaning-aged litters) an enclosure with a minimum of four square feet of floor space as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0204(o) for failure to provide 3 cats (Cat #14723 and 2 cats with weaning-aged litters) clean receptacles with clean litter in their enclosures as noted on June 13, 2025.

- 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) for failure to provide 7 enclosures housing cats with continuous access to water as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) for failure to provide 3 enclosures housing cats with continuous access to water as noted on June 16, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0206(c) for failure to change water receptacles in cat enclosures when they were visibly soiled as noted on June 13, 2025
- 02 NCAC 52J .0207(a) for failure to properly clean the enclosures a minimum of two times per day as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0209(7)(a) for failure to document daily social interactions and enrichment for 10 long term care dogs as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide the dog named Wally Earl (#14421) with adequate veterinary care in a timely manner as noted on June 13, 2025.
- 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate veterinary care in a timely manner to the kitten with the enlarged, bulging eye as noted on June 13, 2025.

Pursuant to NCGS §§ 19A-30 and 19A-40, these violations can result in the suspension, revocation or refusal to renew a registration for any animal shelter and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$5,000 per violation.

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by NCGS § 19A-40, in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation listed above.

Accordingly, Nash County as the owner and operator of the Nash County Animal Shelter is hereby assessed a civil penalty for the following violations:

\$100.00 for violation of N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(b)(2) for failure to hold Cat #14723 for the 72-hour minimum holding period before euthanasia when there was no determination in writing by the Shelter Director of serious illness or injury on June 13, 2025.

\$200.00 for 2 violations (\$100.00 for each violation) N.C.G S. § 19A-32.1(g) for euthanasia of Cat #13636 on May 23, 2025 and Dog #14605 on May 22, 2025 prior to the end of the 72-hour minimum holding period without obtaining an owner surrender form or signature, proof of ownership, or written consent to the early disposition.

\$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5) for failure to record the veterinary care of Wally Earl (Dog #14421) as noted on June 16, 2025.

\$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0103 for failure to match an animal (Cat #14723) to its paperwork upon request on June 13, 2025.

\$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(m) for failure to be truthful with NCDA&CS employees during an investigation as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(d) for failure to space in the enclosure for Cat #14723 sufficient for the cat to be able to walk, turn about freely and to stand, sit or lie in a natural position without touching the sides or top covering of the enclosure as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$600.00 for 3 violations (\$200.00 per violation) of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(m) for failure to provide 3 cats (Cat #14723 and 2 cats with weaning-aged litters) an enclosure with a minimum of four square feet of floor space as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$600.00 for 3 violations (\$200.00 per violation) of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(o) for failure to provide 3 cats (Cat #14723 and 2 cats with weaning-aged litters) clean receptacles with clean litter in their enclosures as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$1,400.00 for 7 violations (\$200.00 for each violation) 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) for failure to provide cats with continuous access to water as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$600.00 for 3 violations (\$200.00 for each violation) 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) for failure to provide cats with continuous access to water as noted on June 16, 2025.

\$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0206(c) for failure to change water receptacles in cat enclosures when they were visibly soiled as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0207(a) for failure to properly clean the enclosures a minimum of two times per day as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$1,000.00 for 10 violations (\$100.00 per violation) of 02 NCAC 52J .0209(7)(a) for failure to document daily social interactions and enrichment for 10 long term care dogs as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$500.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide the dog named Wally Earl (#14421) with adequate veterinary care in a timely manner as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$500.00 for violation 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate veterinary care in a timely manner to the kitten with the enlarged, bulging eye as noted on June 13, 2025.

\$6,700.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

Continued or future violation of the statutes or regulations referenced in this letter will be considered a willful disregard or violation of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto. Such willful disregard or violation may result in action against your facility's registration pursuant to NCGS § 19A-30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$5,000.00 per violation under NCGS § 19A-40.

	Father Duning
June 24, 2025	
Date	Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
	Director, Animal Welfare Section
	North Carolina Department of
	Agriculture & Consumer Services

(See Appendix for text of referenced General Statutes and Administrative Code)

Appendix

REFERENCED LAWS AND REGULATIONS

§ 19A-26. Certificate of registration required for animal shelter.

No person shall operate an animal shelter unless a certificate of registration for such animal shelter shall have been granted by the Director. Application for such certificate shall be made in the manner provided by the Director. No fee shall be required for such application or certificate. Certificates of registration shall be valid for a period of one year or until suspended or revoked and may be renewed for like periods upon application in the manner provided.

§ 19A-30. Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license.

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for any animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds apply:

- (1) Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or license or in the application for any renewal under this Article;
- (2) Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto;
- (3) Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article;
- (4) Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person;
- (5) Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or dishonesty, or conviction of any felony;
- (6) Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction, commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer;
- (7) Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be licensed;
- (8) Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license.

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a certificate of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a statement indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the holding of a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended or revoked under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or revocation to surrender all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his authorized representative.

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial, suspension, or revocation.

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to apply for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said license or if an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final

judgment sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the violation upon which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the period during which the order of suspension or revocation is in effect.

§ 19A-32.1. Minimum holding period for animals in animal shelters; public viewing of animals in animal shelters; disposition of animals.

- (b) Before an animal may be euthanized or otherwise disposed of, it shall be made available for adoption under procedures that enable members of the public to inspect the animal, except in the following cases:
 - (2) The animal is seriously ill or injured, in which case the animal may be euthanized before the expiration of the minimum holding period if the Director of the animal shelter determines, in writing, that it is appropriate to do so. The writing shall include the reason for the determination.
- (g) An animal that is surrendered to an animal shelter by the animal's owner may be disposed of before the expiration of the minimum holding period in a manner authorized under subsection (f) of this section if the owner provides to the shelter (i) some proof of ownership of the animal and (ii) a signed written consent to the disposition of the animal before the expiration of the minimum holding period.

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) against any person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.

02 NCAC 52J .0101 RECORDS; ANIMAL SHELTERS, ETC.

Operators of all animal shelters, pet shops, public auctions, and dealers shall maintain records on all dogs and cats showing the following:

(5) record of veterinary care including medications, treatments, procedures, and immunizations. The record shall include: diagnosis(es), diagnostic testing and results, date and time of administration or procedure, description of medication and initials of person administering any product, medication or procedure. The description of the medication shall include the name, strength or concentration, dosage, and dosing regimen. The dosage regimen shall include the frequency, duration to include the number of dosages or days to be given and the reason for the administration; and

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 1985; Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 52J .0201 GENERAL

(m) A licensee or registrant and all agents of the facility shall be truthful with NCDA&CS employees during all phases of inspections or investigations.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; 19A-30(3); Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; Readopted Eff. October 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 52J .0204 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES

- (d) Primary enclosures shall be constructed so as to provide space to allow each dog or cat to walk, turn about freely, and to stand with their tails erect, sit, or lie in a natural position with their limbs extended without touching other animals within the enclosure or the sides or top covering of the enclosure.
- (m) In addition to Paragraphs (d), (e) and (h) of this Rule, each feline older than six months housed in any primary enclosure or exercise area shall be provided a minimum of four square feet of floor space which may include elevated resting surfaces. Each feline younger than six months shall be provided 1.5 square feet.
- (o) In all cat primary enclosures and exercise areas, a clean receptacle containing clean litter shall be provided for waste. A minimum of one receptacle per three cats is required for each primary enclosure and exercise area.

02 NCAC 52J .0206 WATERING

- (a) Animals shall have continuous access to fresh, potable water, except as might otherwise be required to provide adequate veterinary care.
- (c) Water in receptacles shall be changed daily and whenever visibly soiled.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 52J .0207 SANITATION

(a) Waste shall be removed from primary enclosures, exercise areas and common areas to prevent contamination of the dogs or cats contained therein and to reduce disease hazards and odors. Enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats shall be properly cleaned a minimum of two times per day. The animal must be able to walk or lie down without coming in contact with any waste or debris.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 1985; Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 52J .0209 CLASSIFICATION AND SEPARATION

Animals housed in the same primary enclosure or confined to an exercise area shall be maintained in compatible groups, with the following additional restrictions:

- (7) Animals in long term care must be provided with human interaction other than interaction for enclosure cleaning, same species social interaction, opportunity for play and exercise, and environmental enrichment daily. The provision of these daily interactions and enrichment shall be adequate for the animal's species, age, size and behavior needs. In addition:
 - (a) The provision of the daily social interactions and enrichment shall be documented in the animal's records and the records maintained for three years; and

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 52J .0210 VETERINARY CARE

(d) Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal caretaker who has been adequately trained or is experienced in animal care or is under the direct supervision of a person who has such training or experience. Sick or diseased, injured, lame, or blind dogs or cats shall be provided with adequate veterinary care in a timely manner or be euthanized, provided that the euthanasia shall not affect compliance with any state or local law requiring the holding, for a specified period, of animals suspected of being diseased. If an animal cannot be euthanized due to a required holding period and does not meet the criteria of G.S. 19A-32.1(b)(2), then adequate veterinary care shall be provided to the animal.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. March 23, 2009; January 1, 2005; Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.