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January 19, 2023

Deborah Lange
Owner

The Dog Knowledge
1110 Pro Am Drive
Charlotte, NC 28211

NOTICE of CIVIL PENALTY

Re: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT for VIOLATIONS of TITLE 02 N.C. ADMINISTRATIVE
CODE (*NCAC”) CHAPTER 52J SECTIONS .0204(j) and .0206(a).

AWS-CP-2023-1

Facility: The Dog Knowledge
License Number 10910

Dear Ms. Lange:
Pursuant to N.C. General Statute § 19A-40, I am issuing this notice that you as owner and operator of The
Dog Knowledge, are hereby assessed a civil penalty of $2,600.00 as provided in the enclosed Notice of

Violation.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the
following:

1. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N.C. Office of Administrative
Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to N.C. General Statute § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement
negotiations at any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may contact me by telephone
at (919) 707-3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for payment or filing of a
contested case petition.

Additional information about your options is provided below:



PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by N.C.G.S. § 150B-
23. The petition must be filed with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings (“OAH") within 60 days
of your receipt of this document. Additionally, the petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty
dollars ($20.00). Payment can be made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an
attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings. File the petition and
one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 984-236-1850.
You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Mr. Jonathan Lanier
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you.

Your attention to this matter is appreciated.
Sincerely,

%@MM.H:

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section



Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty

CC:

Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian

Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS

Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Christopher R. McLennan, Special Deputy Attorney General



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
COUNTY OF WAKE

IN THE MATTER OF

DEBORAH LANGE
OWNER OF
THE DOG KNOWLEDGE

NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION
ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION

NOTICE of VIOLATION and
ASSESSMENT of CIVIL PENALTY
for VIOLATIONS of TITLE 02 N.C
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (*NCAC™)
CHAPTER 52] SECTIONS .0204(});
and .0206(a).

R T T

Acting pursuant to N.C. General Statute § 19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section
(“AWS"™), North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“NCDA&CS™) makes the

following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

I. At all times pertinent to this matter, The Dog Knowledge located at 1110 Pro Am Drive, Charlotte,
NC 28208, (the “kennel™) was a boarding kennel, licensed pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 19A-28.

b

On December 19, 2022, AWS Animal Health Technician Chris Bradley (“Inspector Bradley™)

conducted a Facility Compliance Inspection (“*FC1”) of the kennel. During the December 19, 2022,

FCI, the following was noted:

a. several dogs in crates were noted to be without access to water in violation of 02 NCAC
52J .0206(a). The requirement for animals to have continuous access to water was discussed
with the kennel staff during the December 19, 2022, FCI; and

b. although Inspector Bradley had requested that the kennel staff show him all the areas where
animals were boarding, when he left the premises, he noted from outside the kennel building
that there were sections that he had not been shown.

3. On December 21, 2022, Inspector Bradley returned to the kennel to complete the FCI started on
December 19, 2022. During the December 21, 2022, FCI, the following was noted:
a. Six dogs in crates and 2 dogs housed in the gated area at the front of the kennel did not have
access to water in violation of 02 NCAC 52] .0206(a); and
b. 5 exercise areas were housing more than 4 dogs each without employees supervising the
animals in the areas in violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(j). A total of 39 dogs were housed in

the 5 unsupervised exercise areas.

CONCLUSIONS

As a result of this investigation, AWS concludes that the kennel, either by act or omission, violated the

following provisions:

02 NCAC 52] .0204(j) for failure to supervise 5 exercise areas housing more than 4 dogs in each

area on December 21, 2022; and

02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) for failure to provide continuous access to fresh water to 8 dogs on

December 21, 2022,



CIVIL PENALTY

As required by N.C. General Statute § 19A-40, in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have
considered the degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly, Deborah Lange, as owner and operator of The Dog Knowledge, is hereby assessed a civil
penalty for the following violations:

$1,000.00 for 5 violations ($200.00 per violation) of NCAC 52J .0204(;}) for failure to supervise 5
exercise areas housing more than 4 dogs in each area on December 21, 2022; and

$1,600.00 for 8 violations ($200.00 per violation) of 02 NCAC 521 .0206(a) for failure to provide
continuous access to fresh water to 8 dogs on December 21, 2022.

$2,600.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

Continued or future violation of the statutes or regulations referenced in this letter will be considered a
willful disregard or violation of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto. Such
willful disregard or violation may result in action against your facility’s license pursuant to NCGS § 19A-
30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation under NCGS § 19A-40.

(See Appendix for text of referenced General Statutes and Administrative Code)

Date Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Department of
Agriculture & Consumer Services



Appendix

REFERENCED LAWS AND REGULATIONS

§ 19A-28. License required for public auction or boarding kennel.

No person shall operate a public auction or a boarding kennel unless a license to operate such
establishment shall have been granted by the Director. Application for such license shall be made in the
manner provided by the Director. The license period shall be the fiscal year and the license fee shall be
seventy-five dollars ($75.00) for each license period or part thereof beginning with the first day of the fiscal
year. (1977, 2nd Sess., c. 1217,s.9; 1987, c. 827, 5. 65; 1989, c. 544, 5. 18; 2011-145, 5. 31.5(b).)

§ 19A-30. Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license.

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for
any animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial
investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds

apply:
(H

(2)
3

(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)

(8)

Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or
license or in the application for any renewal under this Article;

Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto;
Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the
purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at
the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent
of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article;

Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person;
Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or
dishonesty, or conviction of any felony,

Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to
influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction,
commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer;

Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through
advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be
licensed;

Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this
Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license.

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a
certificate of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a
statement indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the
holding of a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended
or revoked under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or
revocation to surrender all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his
authorized representative.

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the
Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial,
suspension, or revocation.

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to
apply for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said
license or if an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final
judgment sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a
licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the



violation upon which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the
pericd during which the order of suspension or revocation is in effect.

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any
person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the
amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation.
The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty
and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.

02 NCAC 527 .0204 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES

() Not more than four adult dogs shall be housed or confined in the same primary enclosure or exercise
area without supervision. Dogs younger than six months of age shall not be housed or confined or comingled
with adult dogs other than their dams without supervision; this includes any animals owned by the staff or
operator of the facility.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. April I, 1984,
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 1985;
Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 527 .0206 WATERING
(a) Animals shall have continuous access to fresh, potable water, except as might otherwise be required to
provide adequate veterinary care.

History Note: Authority G.§. 19A-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005;






