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Stevep W Troxler NOI'th CaI'Ollna Department Of Agrlculture Assistant Commisglgnar
Commissioner an d C onsumer S ervices for Consumer Protection
Veterinary Division Michael Martin, DVM

State Veterinaran

April 13, 2023

David Cantara

Carolina Air Canine, LLC

4553 Walpole Road

High Point, North Carolina 27265

NOTICE of CIVIL PENALTY

Re: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT for VIOLATIONS of TITLE 02 N.C. ADMINISTRATIVE
CODE (NCAC) CHAPTER 52J SECTIONS .0201(h); .0204(k); and .0206(a).

AWS-CP-2023-6
Facility: Carolina Air Canine, LLC
License Number: 10653
Dear Mr. Cantara:
Pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, I am issuing this notice that you as owner and operator of Carolina Air
Canine, LLC (“the kennel”) is hereby assessed a civil penalty of $1,100.00 as provided in the enclosed

Notice of Violation.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of this letter, you must do one of the
following:

I. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N.C. Office of Administrative
Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to NCGS § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement negotiations at
any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may contact me by telephone at (919) 707-
3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for payment or filing of a contested case
petition.

Additional information about your options is provided below:



PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by NCGS § 150B-23.
The petition must be filed with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings (“OAH”) within 60 days from
the date of this document. Additionally, the petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty
dollars ($20.00). Payment can be made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an
attorney’s trust account., Make checks payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings. File the petition and
one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.

You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Mr. Jonathan Lanier
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you.
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Your attention to this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

| o Nowa DM Ms

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty

cc: Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian
Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Christopher R. McLennan, Special Deputy Attorney General
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT

COUNTY OF WAKE OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION
ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION
IN THE MATTER OF ) NOTICE of VIOLATION and
) ASSESSMENT of CIVIL PENALTY
DAVID CANTARA ) for VIOLATION of TITLE 02 NC
) ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (“NCAC”)
OWNER OF ) CHAPTER 52J SECTION .0201¢h); .0204(k);
) and .0206(a).
CAROLINA AIR CANINE, LLC )

Acting pursuant io NCGS § 19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section (“AWS™),
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“NCDA&CS”) makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1.

At all times pertinent to this matter, Carolina Air Canine, LLC (“the kennel”"} owned and operated by
David Cantara was a boarding kennel, registered pursuant to NCGS § 19A-28.

On March 20, 2023, AWS received a complaint alleging failure to provide animals with continuous
access to water. Based on this information, AWS opened an investigation. The investigation centered
on possible violation(s) of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act (“AWA") as these statutes and associated
regulations are the extent of the jurisdiction of AWS.

As part of the complaint investigation, AWS Animal Health Technicians Christie Shore and Chris
Bradley (“Inspectors Shore and Bradley™) conducted an unannounced site visit of the kennel on March

30, 2023.
a.

The findings for the site visit included:
in violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(h), upon arrival at the kennel the Inspectors noted that
dogs were present in the outdoor play area beside the parking lot and the play area
surrounding the outbuilding without employee supervision. A separate 5-foot perimeter
fence is not present around these yards. The kennel had previously been cited for this
violation in the April 9, 2021, May 18, 2021, and February 18, 2022, Facility Compliance
Inspection (“FCI") reports;
in violation of 02 NCAC 52 .0204(k), 8 dogs were noted in the front play yard without
supervision. The kennel had been previously cited for this violation in the March 14,
2020, July 15, 2020, and April 9, 2021 FCI reports; and
in violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) the only dog in the kennel area did not have any
access to water as there was no water receptacle in the dog’s primary enclosure. The
kennel owner stated that when the dogs were brought inside for their food breaks, the dogs
were not provided with water. The kennel owner also stated that unless it was bad weather
and the dogs were being housed inside completely, the kennel only provides water to the
dogs while they are out in the play areas. The kennel owner also stated that once the dogs
are brought inside for the night at 6 PM, they are not provided with water until they go
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back into the play yards the next morning at 6 AM. He stated that he had been “doing it
that way for 30 years.” The kennel had previously been cited for this violation in the July
15, 2020, April 9, 2021, and March 7, 2023, Facility Compliance Inspection (“FCI")
reports.
5. The FCI reports noted in this Notice of Civil Penalty have been made available to the kennel and are
posted on the AWS website.

CONCLUSIONS

To the extent that the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the Conclusions of Law are
Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the given labels. Based on the findings
of this investigation, AWS concludes that the kennel violated the following provisions:

02 NCAC 52J .0201(h) for failure to provide a separate 5 ft perimeter fence while allowing
unsupervised access by dogs to the outdoor play area beside the parking lot and to the play area
surrounding the outbuilding on March 30, 2023

02 NCAC 52J .0204(k) for failure to provide supervision of the 8 comingling dogs in front play
yard on March 30, 2023

02 NCAC 52J .0206(a) for failure to provide continuous access to water to the dog housed in the
kennel area on March 30, 2023

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by NCGS § 19A-40, in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered the
degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly, David Cantara as owner and operator of Carolina Air Canine, LLC is hereby assessed a civil
penalty for the following violations:

$400.00 for 2 violations ($200.00 per violation) of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(h) for failure to provide a
separate 3 ft perimeter fence while allowing unsupervised access by dogs to the outdoor play area
beside the parking lot and to the play area surrounding the outbuilding on March 30, 2023

$200.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(k) for failure to provide supervision of the 8
comingling dogs in front play yard on March 30, 2023

$500.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 521 .0206(a) for failure to provide continuous access to water
to the dog housed in the kennel area on March 30, 2023

$1,100.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

Continued or future violation of the statutes or regulations referenced in this letter will be considered a
willful disregard or violation of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto. Such
willful disregard or violation may result in action against your facility’s license pursuant to NCGS § 19A-
30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation under NCGS § 19A-40.
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(See Appendix for text of referenced General Statutes and Administrative Code)

Rm'\lj \3,2023 —m&w s VM, S
Date Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Department of
Agriculture & Consumer Services
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Appendix
REFERENCED LAWS AND REGULATIONS

§ 19A-28. License required for public auction or boarding kennel.

No person shall operate a public auction or a boarding kennel unless a license to operate such
establishment shall have been granted by the Director. Application for such license shall be made in the
manner provided by the Director. The license period shall be the fiscal year and the license fee shall be
seventy-five dollars ($75.00) for each license period or part thereof beginning with the first day of the fiscal

year.

§ 19A-30. Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license.

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for
any animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial
investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds
apply:

(1) Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or
license or in the application for any renewal under this Article;

(2) Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto;

(3) Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the
purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at
the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent
of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article;

(4) Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person;

(5) Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or
dishonesty, or conviction of any felony;
(6) Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to

influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction,
commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer;

¥)) Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through
advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be
licensed;

(8) Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this

Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license.

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a
certificate of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a
statement indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the
holding of a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended
or revoked under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or
revocation to surrender all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his
authorized representative.

; A person to whom a certificate of registration or a Jicense is denied, suspended, or revoked by the
Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial,
suspension, or revocation.

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to
apply for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said
license or if an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final
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Jjudgment sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a
licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the
violation upon which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the
period during which the order of suspension or revocation is in effect.

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any

person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the
amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation.
The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section sha]l be remitted to the Civil Penalty
and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.
02 NCAC 52] .0201 GENERAL
(h) A separate five-foot tall perimeter fence is required if any animal(s) has/have unsupervised access to
an outdoor primary enclosure, common area, and/or exercise area. Supervision of animals is required for
any animal(s) within any outdoor enclosure, common area, or exercise area without a separate five-foot tall
perimeter fence.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24; 19A-30(3);
Eff. April 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2022.

02 NCAC 52] .0204 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES -

(k) If more than four dogs including animals owned by the staff or operator of the facility are housed or
confined in an exercise area or primary enclosure, then there shall be at least one person constantly
supervising each 10 dogs housed or confined within each primary enclosure or exercise area. This
supervision shall be conducted from within the exercise area or primary enclosure such that the person(s)
has/have immediate access to the animals in the event of an emergency, aggression or fight between
animals.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984,
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 1985;
Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022

02 NCAC 52] .0206 WATERING
(a) Animals shall have continuous access to fresh, potable water, except as might otherwise be required to
provide adequate veterinary care.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005;
Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022.
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