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February 20, 2025 

 

Ishah Scott 

9andMe, LLC 

5104 Kiev Drive 

Charlotte, NC 28216 

 

NOTICE of CIVIL PENALTY and NOTICE of WARNING  

 

Re:  CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT for VIOLATION of NC GENERAL STATUTES § 19A-28 

and NOTICE of WARNING for VIOLATION OF 02 NC ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 52J .0201(m) 

and (n). 

 

AWS-CP-2025-3         

 

Facility:   9andMe, LLC 

             License Number:  Unlicensed 

   

Dear Ms. Scott: 

 

Pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, I am issuing this notice that you as owner and operator of an unlicensed 

boarding kennel (“the kennel”) are hereby assessed a civil penalty of $500.00 as provided in the enclosed 

Notice of Violation.    

 

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of this letter, you must do one of the 

following: 

 

 1.  Pay the civil penalty assessment; or  

 

 2.  File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N.C. Office of Administrative  

      Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment. 

 

Pursuant to NCGS § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement negotiations at 

any time.  To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may contact me by telephone at (919) 707-

3280.  Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for payment or filing of a contested case 

petition. 

 

Additional information about your options is provided below: 
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PAYMENT 

 

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to: 

 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Dr. Patricia Norris 

Director, Animal Welfare Section 

1030 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-1030 

 

 

APPEAL 

 

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by NCGS § 150B-23.  

The petition must be filed with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings (“OAH”) within 60 days from 

the date of this document.  Additionally, the petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty 

dollars ($20.00).  Payment can be made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an 

attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings.  File the petition and 

one copy with: 

 

Office of Administrative Hearings 

6714 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-6714 

 

 

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.   

 

You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to: 

 

 

Mr. Jonathan Lanier 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Registered Agent and General Counsel 

1001 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-1001 

 

 

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation.  If 

the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right 

to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you. 
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Your attention to this matter is appreciated.  

 

 

   Sincerely, 

 

 

     Patricia Norris, DVM, MS 

     Director, Animal Welfare Section 

 

Attachment:  Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty 

 

cc: Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian 

 Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS 

 Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS 

 Samuel Gray, Assistant Attorney General 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA   NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT   

COUNTY OF MECKLENBURG    OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 

       SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION 

       ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION 

 

IN THE MATTER of       ) NOTICE of VIOLATION and 

       ) ASSESSMENT of CIVIL PENALTY 

ISHAH SCOTT ) for VIOLATION of N.C. GENERAL 

 ) STATUTE (“NCGS”) § 19A-28 and  

OWNER of ) NOTICE of WARNING for VIOLATION 

 ) OF 02 NC ADMINISTATIVE CODE 

9ANDME, LLC )  CHAPTER 52J SECTION .0201(m) and (n) 

 ) .  

 )   

   

      

Acting pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section (“AWS”), 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“NCDA&CS”) makes the following: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 

1. At all times pertinent to this matter, Ishah Scott owner and operator of 9andMe, LLC provided 

boarding services at her residence (“the kennel”), located at 5104 Kiev Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216.  

This kennel was not licensed with AWS as a boarding kennel pursuant to NCGS § 19A-28.  AWS 

opened an investigation.  The investigation centered on possible violation(s) of the N.C. Animal 

Welfare Act (“AWA”) as these statutes and associated regulations are the extent of the jurisdiction of 

AWS. 

 

2. On February 5, 2025, AWS obtained information that a kennel at the address above provided boarding 

and dog daycare services to the public for a fee.  A review of the kennel’s 9andMe, LLC website and 

social media posts for this kennel shows that, as of February 5, 2025, the kennel offered to the public 

boarding services starting at $40.00 per day and dog daycare services for $25.00 a day.  The kennel 

also offered training services for a fee, but these fees were found in a different section of the post 

under a tab entitled “Training.”   

 

3. On February 5, 2025, while AWS Veterinary Program Specialist Bradley (“Inspector Bradley”) was 

on the premises, Ms. Scott, the owner of the kennel, spoke to him through a wireless device attached 

to the garage.  They continued the conversation by phone and this is what was relayed during this 

conversation:  

a. Ms. Scott denied that she was offering boarding and dog daycare services to the public for a 

fee.  She stated that she only trained dogs at this kennel; and 

b. when Inspector Bradley countered this inaccurate information stating that he had already 

obtained recent screenshots of the hours of operation and a price schedule for boarding and 

daycare services as well as recent client reviews, Ms. Scott refused to concede the accuracy of 

her own social media posts for the facility. 
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4. A review of AWS documentation shows that AWS: 

a. on October 17, 2019, Ms. Scott submitted a boarding kennel application to AWS for a kennel 

named 9andMe, LLC located at 1100 N Church Street, Charlotte, 28206;  

b. as part of this boarding kennel license dated October 17, 2019, Ms. Scott  initialed the 

following section:  “10.  As owner or authorized agent, I agree to comply with the NC Animal 

Welfare Act and regulations pursuant thereto.  I agree to cooperate as required by law with 

inspections and investigations conducted by personnel of the Animal Welfare Section, 

Veterinary Division, of the N.C. Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services; 

c. the name of the owner on this October 17, 2019 boarding kennel application was Ishah Scott 

and the owner’s address was 5104 Kiev Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216;  

d. the boarding kennel license (Boarding Kennel License Number 20543) for this kennel was not 

renewed on July 1, 2020 and was noted to be closed on July 7, 2020 due to the COVID 

pandemic; 

e. AWS has never received a boarding kennel license application or issued a boarding kennel 

license to Ishah Scott for operation of a boarding kennel at 5104 Kiev Drive, Charlotte, NC 

28216; and  

f. a review of the Facebook post for this kennel on February 10, 2025 shows that under the 

description of the facility, the post states “Providing excellent in-home/facility dog boarding 

and doggie daycare.” 

 

CONCLUSIONS 

 

To the extent that the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the Conclusions of Law are 

Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the given labels.  Based on the findings 

of this investigation, AWS concludes that the kennel violated the following provisions:  

 

NCGS §19A-28 for willfully operating a boarding kennel without obtaining a license granted by 

the AWS Director to operate such an establishment 

 

02 NCAC 52J .0201(m) and (n) for obstructing and failure to be truthful with NCDA&CS during 

all phases of inspections or investigations 

 

CIVIL PENALTY   

 

As required by NCGS § 19A-40, in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered the 

degree and extent of harm caused by the violation listed above.   

 

Accordingly, Ishah Scott is hereby assessed a civil penalty for the following violation: 

  

$500.00 for the willful violation of NCGS § 19A-28 for operating a boarding kennel without 

obtaining a license granted by the AWS Director to operate such an establishment.  This violation 

was deemed willful as Ms. Scott had prior knowledge of the statute requiring the obtaining of an 

AWS boarding kennel license before offering these services to the public for a fee. 

 

$500.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED 
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Please be aware that pursuant to NC General Statute § 19A-33, operation of a boarding kennel without a 

currently valid license constitutes a Class 3 misdemeanor with each day of operation constituting a 

separate offense.  In addition, the operation of a boarding kennel without a valid license is a violation of 

the NC Animal Welfare Act and may result in the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per 

violation pursuant to NC General Statute § 19A-40 and/or the suspension, revocation, or denial of a 

license pursuant to NC General Statute § 19A-30. 

 

NOTICE of WARNING 

 

As to the remaining violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0201(m) and (n), this Warning Letter serves as written 

notice indicating in which respects the kennel may have violated the NC Animal Welfare Act and the 

rules issued pursuant thereto. 

 

Continued or future violation of these statutes or regulations will be considered a willful disregard or 

violation of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto.  Such a willful disregard 

or violation may result in action against any future boarding kennel license application from you or your 

facility pursuant to N.C. General Statute § 19A-30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to 

$5,000.00 per violation under N.C. General Statute § 19A-40.   

 

(See Appendix for text of referenced General Statutes and Administrative Code) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

_February 20, 2025_____   ____________________________________ 

Date      Patricia Norris, DVM, MS 

      Director, Animal Welfare Section 

      North Carolina Department of     

      Agriculture & Consumer Services  
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Appendix 

 

REFERENCED LAWS AND REGULATIONS 

 

§ 19A-28.  License required for public auction or boarding kennel. 

No person shall operate a public auction or a boarding kennel unless a license to operate such 

establishment shall have been granted by the Director. Application for such license shall be made in the 

manner provided by the Director. The license period shall be the fiscal year and the license fee shall be 

seventy-five dollars ($75.00) for each license period or part thereof beginning with the first day of the fiscal 

year.  

 

§ 19A-30.  Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license. 

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for 

any animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial 

investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds 

apply: 

(1)        Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or 

license or in the application for any renewal under this Article; 

(2)        Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto; 

(3)        Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the 

purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at 

the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent 

of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article; 

(4)        Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person; 

(5)        Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or 

dishonesty, or conviction of any felony; 

(6)        Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to 

influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction, 

commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer; 

(7)        Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through 

advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be 

licensed; 

(8)        Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this 

Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license. 

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a 

certificate of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a 

statement indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the 

holding of a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended 

or revoked under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or 

revocation to surrender all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his 

authorized representative. 

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the 

Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial, 

suspension, or revocation. 

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to 

apply for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said 

license or if an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final 
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judgment sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a 

licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the 

violation upon which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the 

period during which the order of suspension or revocation is in effect. 

 

§ 19A-33.  Penalty for operation of pet shop, kennel or auction without license. 

Operation of a pet shop, kennel, or public auction without a currently valid license shall constitute a 

Class 3 misdemeanor subject only to a penalty of not less than five dollars ($5.00) nor more than twenty-

five dollars ($25.00), and each day of operation shall constitute a separate offense. 

 

§ 19A-40.  Civil Penalties. 

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any 

person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the 

amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation. 

The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty  

and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.  

 

02 NCAC 52J .0201          GENERAL 

(m)  A licensee or registrant and all agents of the facility shall be truthful with NCDA&CS employees 

during all phases of inspections or investigations. 

 

(n)  Neither an applicant for a license or registration nor a licensee or registrant or any agent of a facility 

may abuse, harass, delay or obstruct any inspector or State official while inspectors or officials are 

attempting to discharge their official duties. For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1)           "Abuse" means: 

(A)          Communicating a threat as defined by G.S. 14-277.1; 

(B)          Using profane, indecent or threatening language to any person over the telephone, 

annoying or harassing by repeated telephoning or making false statements over the 

telephone as defined by G.S. 14-196; 

(C)          Cyberstalking as defined by G.S. 14-196.3; 

(D)          Stalking as defined by G.S. 14-277.3A; and/or 

(E)           Disorderly conduct as defined by G.S. 14-288.4. 

(2)           "Harass" means knowingly conduct, including oral, written or printed communication or 

transmission, telephone, cellular, or other wireless telephonic communication, facsimile 

transmission, page messages or transmissions, answering machine or voice mail messages 

or transmissions, electronic mail messages, or other computerized or electronic 

transmissions directed at a specific person that torments, terrorizes or terrifies that person 

and that serves no legitimate purpose. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 19A-24; 19A-30(3); Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2022. 

 


