Stevep W. Troxler NOI'th CarOhHa Department Of Agriculture R. Douglas Meckes,. D\!'M
Commissioner and Consumer SeI'ViCCS State Veterinarian
Veterinary Division

March 15, 2017

Mary Beth Jensen

Pet Shop Owner

Friendly Pets DBA Jensen & Sons, Inc.
625 Friendly Center Road

Greensboro, North Carolina 27408

NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY

RE: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FOR VIOLATIONS OF TITLE 02, N.C.
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, CHAPTER 52], SECTIONS .0101(5) and .0209(5).

AWS-CP-2017-3

Facility: Friendly Pets DBA Jensen & Sons, Inc.
License Number 20446

Dear Ms. Jensen:

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-40, I am issuing this notice to you that Friendly Pets is hereby assessed
a civil penalty of $350.00 as provided in the enclosed Notice of Violations and Order.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the
following:

1. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N. C. Office of Administrative
Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement
negotiations at any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may present your offer to me.
I can be contacted by telephoneiat (919) 707-3280. Settlement offers do not extend the FSO-day deadline
for payment or filing of a contested case petition.

1030 Mall Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1030 @ (919) 707-3250
TTY: 1-800-735-2962 Voice: 1-877-735-8200
An Equal Opportunity Employer



Additional information about your options is provided below:
PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form pres«l:ribed by N.C. Gen. Stat. §
150B-23. The petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) payable to the N.C.
Office of Administrative Hearings. Should you have any questions about what the fee would be for your
case, please contact the OAH Clerk’s Office at 919-431-3000. Payment can be made by cash, money
order, certified check or check drawn on an attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of
Administrative Hearings. File the petition and one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.
You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Ms. Tina Hlabse
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional cjvil penalties in the future or take other enforcement actjon against you.



Your attention to this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

=" V.

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty

cc! R. Douglas Meckes, DVM, NCDA&CS
Ms. Tina Hlabse, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Mr. Joe Reardon, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
Christopher McLennan, Assistant Attorney General



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF

COUNTY OF WAKE AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES,
VETERINARY DIVISION
IN THE MATTER OF ) NOTICE OF VIOLATIONS,
FRIENDLY PETS DBA ) ASSESSMENT OF CIVIL
JENSEN & SONS, INC. ) PENALTY
)
) For Vioclations Of:
)} 02 NCAC 521 .0101(5)
) 02 NCAC 521 .0209(5)

Acting pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director of the Animal Welfare Section
(“AWS?), Veterinary Division, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
(NCDA&CS) makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

! 1.

|

At all times pertinent to this matter Friendly Pets DBA Jensen & Sons, Inc. (the “pet shop”) is
a pet shop licensed pursuant to N.C. General Statute §19A-27.

As documented on the facility inspection reports, during the inspections of the pet shop on
February 22, 2016, April 26, 2016 and December 15, 2016, the pet shop was repeatedly
notified of the need to comply with 02 N.C.A.C 52J .0209(5).

On March 30, 2016, AWS issued a Notice of Warning and Notice of Deficiency to the pet
shop for violations of 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5) and .0210(c).

On July 7, 2016, AWS issued a Notice of Warning and Notice of Deficiency to the pet shop
for violations of 02 NCAC 52J .0204(c), .0209(5) and .0210(b).

On February 14, 2017, AWS received a complaint concerning a sick puppy purchased from
the pet shop.

On February 15, 2017, AWS Animal Health Technician Christie Shore (“Inspector Shore™)
conducted a site visit and review of the pet store records as a part of the investigation into this
complaint.

The February 15, 2017 site visit revealed the puppy noted in the complaint was housed in the
general population, despite being currently medicated for a contagious disease. When
Inspector Shore asked the store manager if any other puppy was being treated for a contagious
disease, the store manager denied that any other puppy was currently being treated. Later
during this visit, 8 puppies were found to be receiving medication for contagious diseases.
These puppies were also housed in the general population of the pet shop.

During the February 135, 2017 site visit, the review of the records of the pet store showed the 9
records of veterinary care were missing information such as time of administration and
dosage of medication as required by 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5).

According to the medical records dated February 13, 2017 from the veterinary clinic that
treated the puppy referenced in the complaint, this puppy was on the medications
azithromycin and clavamox dispensed by the pet store. The statement from the owner of the



puppy reveals that the owner purchased the puppy on February 11, 2017. The owner further
states that on February 12, 2017 she took the puppy back to the pet store because the puppy
appeared to be ill. A staff member of the pet store dispensed the medications azithromycin
and clavamox to the owner of the puppy to treat the illness. The owner states that this staff
member represented herself as a veterinary technician during this incident.

CONCLUSIONS

As a result of this investigation, AWS finds that on February 15, 2017, the pet shop, either by act or
omission, violated 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5) and .0209(5) in failing to properly maintain record of
veterinary care and to failing to separate animal being treated for a communicable disease.

Furthermore, AWS finds that the pet shop has been previously issued a Notice of Warning and Notice of
Deficiency on March 30, 2016 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0101(5) and .0210(c). The pet shop has
also been previously issued a Notice of Warning and Notice of Deficiency on July 7, 2016 for violation of
02 NCAC 52J .0204(c), .0209(5) and .0210(b). The aforementioned Notices of Warning and Deficiency
notified the pet shop of the consequences of additional violations of these regulations with the following
language: -

Continued or future violation of these statutes or regulations will be considered to
be a willful disregard or violation of the N. C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules
issued pursuant thereto. Such willful disregard or violation of the N.C. Animal
Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto may result in disciplinary action
against your facility’s license pursuant to N. C. General Statute §19A-30 and/or
the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation under N. C.
General Statute §19A-40.

AWS hereby notifies the owner of the pet shop that any future violation of these NCAC regulations will
be considered willful disregard of the AWA and pursuant to N. C. General Statute §19A-30, may result in
the suspension or revocation of the pet shop license for this facility.

(See Appendix for text of cited General Statutes and Administrative Codes)

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by N.C. General Statute § 19A-40 in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have
considered the degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly, Friendly Pets DBA Jensen & Sons, Inc. is assessed a civil penalty of:
a) $100.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52] .0101(5)
b) $250.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 527J .0209(5)

$350.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

Yol 15 20 - N W

Date Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Department of
Agriculture & Consumer Services




Appendix
Relevant Statutes and Regulations

§ 19A-30. Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license.

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for any
animal shelter or a license for any public auction, pet shop, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial
investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds apply:

(1) Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of
registration or license or in the application for any renewal under this Article;

(2) Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant
thereto;

3) Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for
the purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing
practices at the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or pet shop are not
consistent with the intent of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article;

4) Allowing onk’s license under this Article to be used by an unhd:ensed person;

(5) Conviction af any crime an essential element of which is rmsstatement fraud,
or dishonesty, or conviction of any felony;

(6) Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely
to influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public
auction, commercial pet shop, pet shop, or dealer;

@) Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises
through advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the
business to be licensed;

(8) Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of
this Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license.

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a certificate
of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a statement
indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the holding of
a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended or revoked
under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or revocation to surrender
all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his authorized representative.

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the
Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial,
suspension, or revocation.

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to apply
for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said license or if
an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final judgment
sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a licensee whose
license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the violation upon
which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the period during which
the order of suspension or revocation is in effect. (1977, 2nd Sess., ¢. 1217, s. 11; 1987, c. 827, s. 67.)

§19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a|civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against
any person who violates a provisipn of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining
the amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the
violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the
Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2. (1995, c. 516, 5.6: 1998-215,5.3.)



02 NCAC 52] .0101 RECORDS; ANIMAL SHELTERS, ETC.
Operators of all animal shelters, pet shops, public auctions, and dealers shall maintain records on all dogs
and cats showing the following:
(5) record of veterinary care including treatments, immunization and date, time, description of
medication (including name and dosage), and initials of person administering any product
or procedure.

Histary Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. April I, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 20035.

02 NCAC 52] .0209 CLASSIFICATION AND SEPARATION
Animals housed in the same primary enclosure shall be maintained in compatible groups, with the following
additional restrictions:

(5) All facilities shall designate an isolation area for animals being treated or observed for
communicable diseases. Dogs or cats in isolation that are being treated for a communicable
disease shall be separated from other dogs or cats and other susceptible species of animals
in such amanner as to minimize dissemination of such disease. A sign shall be posted at the
cage or isolation area when in use, giving notice of a communicable disease.

History Note: Awthority G.S. 194-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2003,



