Public Affairs Home
News Releases
Agricultural Review
In The Field Blog
Photos and logos
Century Farm Family
Agricultural Hall of Fame
Sign-up for News Releases
Contact Us


Friend us on Facebook In the Field Blog powered by WordPress
Twitter NCDA&CS videos on YouTube
Google+ Flickr
Bookmark and Share

MONDAY, AUG. 19, 2019


Tommy Fleetwood, marketing specialist
NCDA&CS Marketing Division         

Commercial Irish potato growers to vote
on assessment program

ELIZABETH CITY – Commercial Irish potato growers in the northeastern part of the state will have a chance to vote the week of Sept. 23 to renew an assessment program. The six-year assessment provides support for promotional and research work conducted by the N.C. Potato Association, Inc. 

Official ballots will be mailed Sept. 20 to eligible potato growers in Beaufort, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Currituck, Hyde, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Tyrrell and Washington counties. The plan will have to be approved by two-thirds of those voting to continue the program for another six years.

Potato growers currently pay 1 cent per hundred weight of potatoes sold to help support research and promotions. The 2019 vote is to continue the same 1-cent assessment of potatoes sold.

“The effective period of the assessment would be from 2019 through 2024,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “Promotions and research are vital to the continued development of new markets for our growers, and this assessment helps accomplish that.”

Funds are collected by the N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and turned over to the N.C. Potato Association’s Board of Directors. The monies are then administered by the Potato Board, which is composed of growers representing counties in the assessment program area.

Completed ballots should be mailed to the Northeast Marketing Center, PO Box 2066, Elizabeth City, NC 27906. Ballots must be received by Oct. 4.

For more information, contact NCDA&CS marketing specialist Tommy Fleetwood by phone at 252-331-4773 or by email at



NCDA&CS Public Affairs Division, Andrea Ashby, Director
Mailing Address:1001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1001
Physical Address: 2 West Edenton Street, Raleigh NC 27601
Phone: (919) 707-3001; FAX: (919) 733-5047

Jobs     |      Mission Statement     |     Accessibility Statement     |     Disclaimer     |     Privacy Statement
Steve Troxler, Commissioner of Agriculture

Home Programs Services Divisions Newsroom Search