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September 11, 2025 

 

Dia Denton 

County Manager 

Halifax County Animal Shelter 

19 North Dobbs St 

Halifax, NC 27839 

Via Hand Delivery 

 

NOTICE of CIVIL PENALTY and NOTICE of WARNING 

 

Re:  CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT for VIOLATIONS of TITLE 02 N.C. ADMINISTRATIVE 

CODE (“NCAC”) CHAPTER 52J SECTIONS .0101(6) and .0210(d) and NOTICE of WARNING 

for VIOLATION of .0210(a)(3). 

 

AWS-CP-2025-17         

 

Facility: Halifax County Animal Shelter 

   Registration Number:  25 

   

Dear County Manager Denton: 

 

Pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, I am issuing this notice that Halifax County, as the operator of the Halifax 

County Animal Shelter (“the shelter”), is hereby assessed a civil penalty of $850.00 as provided in the 

enclosed Notice of Violation.    

 

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the 

following: 

 

 1.  Pay the civil penalty assessment; or  

 

 2.  File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N.C. Office of Administrative  

      Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment. 

 

Pursuant to NCGS § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement negotiations at 

any time.  To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may contact me by telephone at (919) 707-

3280.  Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for payment or filing of a contested case 

petition. 
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Additional information about your options is provided below: 

 

PAYMENT 

 

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to: 

 

 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Dr. Patricia Norris 

Director, Animal Welfare Section 

1030 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-1030 

 

APPEAL 

 

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by NCGS § 150B-23.  

The petition must be filed with the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings (“OAH”) within 60 days from 

the date of this document.  Additionally, the petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty 

dollars ($20.00).  Payment can be made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an 

attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings.  File the petition and 

one copy with: 

 

Office of Administrative Hearings 

6714 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-6714 

 

 

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.   

 

You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to: 

 

 

Mr. Jonathan Lanier 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Registered Agent and General Counsel 

1001 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC  27699-1001 

 

 

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation.  If 

the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right 

to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you. 

Your attention to this matter is appreciated.  
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   Sincerely, 

 

 
     Patricia Norris, DVM, MS 

     Director, Animal Welfare Section 

 

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty 

 

cc: Michael Martin, DVM, State Veterinarian 

 Jonathan Lanier, General Counsel, NCDA&CS 

 Christina L. Waggett, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS 

 Lindsey Spain, Special Deputy Attorney General 
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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA   NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT   

COUNTY OF HALIFAX    OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 

       SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION 

       ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION 

 

IN THE MATTER of      ) NOTICE of VIOLATION and  

      ) ASSESSMENT of CIVIL PENALTY 

HALIFAX COUNTY )  for VIOLATIONS of TITLE 02 NC  

) ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (“NCAC”) CHAPTER 

OPERATOR OF   ) 52J SECTIONS .0101(6) and .0210(d) and 

) NOTICE of WARNING for VIOLATION of 

HALIFAX COUNTY ) 02 NCAC 52J .0210(a)(3). 

)  

ANIMAL SHELTER    )  

      )  

   

Acting pursuant to NCGS § 19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section (“AWS”), 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“NCDA&CS”) makes the following: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 

1. At all times pertinent to this matter, the Halifax County Animal Shelter (“the shelter”), owned and 

operated by Halifax County, was an animal shelter registered pursuant to NCGS §19A-26. 

 

2. On August 18, 2025, AWS received a complaint alleging failure to provide adequate veterinary care 

to animals in the care and custody of the shelter.  Based on this information, AWS opened an 

investigation.  The investigation centered on possible violation(s) of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act 

(“AWA”) as these statutes and associated regulations are the extent of the jurisdiction of AWS.  

 

3. On August 20, 2025, AWS Veterinary Program Specialist Bowes (“Inspector Bowes”) conducted a 

site visit at the kennel as part of the investigation.  The following information was obtained from the 

site visit:   

a. On January 9, 2025, a dog named Ringo (ID#25018) was impounded into the shelter.  The 

shelter staff stated that they noticed an injury to Ringo’s left rear leg.  No veterinary care was 

provided to the dog by the shelter.  The dog was transferred to a rescue on January 17, 2025. 

Ringo was examined by a veterinarian on January 20, 2025.  He was diagnosed with an old, 

comminuted fracture of the left tibia.  Due to the age of the injury, Ringo was prescribed 

confinement, an antibiotic, an analgesic, and a dewormer (to treat hookworms and 

whipworms); 

b. On April 15, 2025, a dog named Murphy (ID#25340) was impounded into the shelter.  Due to 

the dog’s enlarged abdomen, the dog was assumed to be pregnant. Murphy was transferred to a 

rescue on April 19, 2025.  The rescue returned Murphy to the shelter the same day as they 

found Murphy to be an intact male dog, not a pregnant female.  The shelter had Murphy 

examined on April 21, 2025.  The veterinarian diagnosed Murphy as suffering from congestive 

heart failure from an advanced case of heartworm disease.  Murphy was euthanized on April 

21, 2025; 



 

1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-1030  ⚫  (919) 707-3250  ⚫  Fax (919) 733-6431 
TTY: 1-800-735-2962    Voice: 1-877-735-8200 

An Equal Opportunity Employer 

 

 

c. A review of shelter records showed that records for Murphy did not contain an update on his 

re-intake on April 19, 2025 or that he was euthanized by the veterinarian on April 21, 2025; 

and 

d. A review of the shelter’s Program of Veterinary Care submitted for the 2025-2026 animal 

shelter’s renewal application showed that it stated that illness and injures were treated and 

monitored per their veterinarian’s approved standing orders.  The shelter was unable to 

produce current or previous standing orders approved by their previous or current veterinarian. 

 

CONCLUSIONS 

 

To the extent that the Findings of Fact contain Conclusions of Law, or that the Conclusions of Law are 

Findings of Fact, they should be so considered without regard to the given labels.  Based on the findings 

of the AWS investigation, AWS finds that the shelter violated the following provisions:  

 

02 NCAC 52J .0101(6) for failure to update Murphy’s record as to the dog’s re-intake on April 19, 

2025 or the euthanasia on April 21, 2025 within 48 hours of the occurrence as noted on August 20, 

2025. 

 

02 NCAC 52J .0210(a)(3) for failure to implement and follow the shelter’s Program of Veterinary 

Care as noted on August 20, 2025. 

 

02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate veterinary care in a timely manner for the 

dog named Ringo (ID#25018) as noted on August 20, 2025.   

 

02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate veterinary care for the dog named Murphy 

(ID#25340) as noted on August 20, 2025. 

 

Pursuant to NCGS §§ 19A-30 and 19A-40, these violations can result in the suspension, revocation, or 

refusal to renew a registration for any animal shelter and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to 

$5,000 per violation.   

 

CIVIL PENALTIES 

 

As required by NCGS § 19A-40, in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered the 

degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.   

 

Accordingly, Halifax County, as the owner and operator of the Halifax County Animal Shelter, is hereby 

assessed a civil penalty for the following violations: 

  

$100.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0101(6) for failure to update Murphy’s record as to the 

dog’s re-intake on April 19, 2025 or the euthanasia on April 21, 2025 within 48 hours of the 

occurrence as noted on August 20, 2025. 

 

$500.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate veterinary care in a 

timely manner for the dog named Ringo (ID#25018) as noted on August 20, 2025.   
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$250.00 for violation of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(d) for failure to provide adequate veterinary care for 

the dog named Murphy (ID#25340) as noted on August 20, 2025. 

 

 

$850.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED 

 

Continued or future violation of the statutes or regulations referenced in this letter will be considered a 

willful disregard or violation of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto.  Such 

willful disregard or violation may result in action against your facility’s registration pursuant to NCGS § 

19A-30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation under NCGS § 19A-40.   

 

NOTICE of WARNING 

 

As to the remaining violations of 02 NCAC 52J .0210(a)(3) this Warning Letter serves as written notice 

indicating in which respects the shelter may have violated the NC Animal Welfare Act and the rules 

issued pursuant thereto. 

 

Continued or future violations of these statutes or regulations will be considered a willful disregard or 

violation of the N.C. Animal Welfare Act and the rules issued pursuant thereto.  Such a willful disregard 

or violation may result in action against your facility’s registration pursuant to N.C. General Statute § 

19A-30 and/or the assessment of a civil penalty of up to $5,000.00 per violation under N.C. General 

Statute § 19A-40.   

 

(See Appendix for text of referenced General Statutes and Administrative Code) 

 

 

 

September 11, 2025_________   ___________________________________ 

Date     Patricia Norris, DVM, MS 

     Director, Animal Welfare Section 

         North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services   
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Appendix 

 

REFERENCED STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 

 

§ 19A-26.  Certificate of registration required for animal shelter. 

No person shall operate an animal shelter unless a certificate of registration for such animal shelter shall 

have been granted by the Director. Application for such certificate shall be made in the manner provided 

by the Director. No fee shall be required for such application or certificate. Certificates of registration shall 

be valid for a period of one year or until suspended or revoked and may be renewed for like periods upon 

application in the manner provided.  

 

§ 19A-30.  Refusal, suspension or revocation of certificate or license. 

The Director may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend or revoke a certificate of registration for 

any animal shelter or a license for any public auction, kennel, pet shop, or dealer, if after an impartial 

investigation as provided in this Article he determines that any one or more of the following grounds 

apply: 

(1)        Material misstatement in the application for the original certificate of registration or 

license or in the application for any renewal under this Article; 

(2)        Willful disregard or violation of this Article or any rules issued pursuant thereto; 

(3)        Failure to provide adequate housing facilities and/or primary enclosures for the 

purposes of this Article, or if the feeding, watering, sanitizing and housing practices at 

the animal shelter, public auction, pet shop, or kennel are not consistent with the intent 

of this Article or the rules adopted under this Article; 

(4)        Allowing one's license under this Article to be used by an unlicensed person; 

(5)        Conviction of any crime an essential element of which is misstatement, fraud, or 

dishonesty, or conviction of any felony; 

(6)        Making substantial misrepresentations or false promises of a character likely to 

influence, persuade, or induce in connection with the business of a public auction, 

commercial kennel, pet shop, or dealer; 

(7)        Pursuing a continued course of misrepresentation of or making false promises through 

advertising, salesmen, agents, or otherwise in connection with the business to be 

licensed; 

(8)        Failure to possess the necessary qualifications or to meet the requirements of this 

Article for the issuance or holding of a certificate of registration or license. 

The Director shall, before refusing to issue or renew and before suspension or revocation of a 

certificate of registration or a license, give to the applicant or holder thereof a written notice containing a 

statement indicating in what respects the applicant or holder has failed to satisfy the requirements for the 

holding of a certificate of registration or a license. If a certificate of registration or a license is suspended 

or revoked under the provisions hereof, the holder shall have five days from such suspension or 

revocation to surrender all certificates of registration or licenses issued thereunder to the Director or his 

authorized representative. 

A person to whom a certificate of registration or a license is denied, suspended, or revoked by the 

Director may contest the action by filing a petition under G.S. 150B-23 within five days after the denial, 

suspension, or revocation. 

Any licensee whose license is revoked under the provisions of this Article shall not be eligible to 

apply for a new license hereunder until one year has elapsed from the date of the order revoking said 

license or if an appeal is taken from said order of revocation, one year from the date of the order or final 
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judgment sustaining said revocation. Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a 

licensee whose license has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for or participated in the 

violation upon which the order of suspension or revocation was based, shall not be licensed within the 

period during which the order of suspension or revocation is in effect. 

 

§ 19A-40.  Civil Penalties. 

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any 

person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the 

amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation. 

The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty 

and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.  

 

02 NCAC 52J .0101          RECORDS; ANIMAL SHELTERS, ETC. 

Operators of all animal shelters, pet shops, public auctions, and dealers shall maintain records on all dogs 

and cats showing the following: 

(6)           all records shall be created and/or updated within 48 hours of the occurrence of procedures, 

including but not limited to intake, change of location, medication or treatment 

administration and/or disposition. The record shall be accurate; creation of a misleading 

record or deliberate or non-incidental falsification of a record including medication 

administration documentation during or after an investigation or inspection shall be 

considered a violation of this regulation. 

  

History Note:  Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022. 

 

02 NCAC 52J .0210          VETERINARY CARE 

(a)  A written program of veterinary care ('PVC') to include disease control and prevention, vaccination, 

euthanasia (animal shelters only), disposition of diseased, ill, injured, infirm or deformed animals, and 

provision of adequate routine and emergency veterinary care shall be established with the assistance of a 

licensed veterinarian by any person who is required to be licensed or registered under the Animal Welfare 

Act, Article 3 of Chapter 19A of the General Statutes. The following is required of each PVC: 

(3)           The facility shall implement and follow the PVC; and 

(d)  Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal caretaker who has been adequately trained or is 

experienced in animal care or is under the direct supervision of a person who has such training or 

experience. Sick or diseased, injured, lame, or blind dogs or cats shall be provided with adequate veterinary 

care in a timely manner or be euthanized, provided that the euthanasia shall not affect compliance with any 

state or local law requiring the holding, for a specified period, of animals suspected of being diseased. If an 

animal cannot be euthanized due to a required holding period and does not meet the criteria of G.S. 19A-

32.1(b)(2), then adequate veterinary care shall be provided to the animal. 

  

History Note:  Authority G.S. 19A-24; Eff. April 1, 1984; Amended Eff. March 23, 2009; January 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2022. 

 


