
WHEN REGISTERING NEW PRODUCTS, USE THE NEW PRODUCT APPLICATION 
INCLUDED WITH THIS PACKAGE (REV. 8/22).  DISCARD ANY OLD APPLICATIONS. 

   

STOP!   Registration Renewal Due By January 1, 2024! 
    Please read completely before processing the 2024 pesticide registration renewal form.  
The "North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971" requires annual registration of all pesticides marketed in North Carolina. 
All registrations of pesticides registered for 2023 expire on December 31, 2023. Product renewal applications for 
reregistration of all currently registered products must be received by January 1, 2024, for the 2024 calendar year. 
Those products listed on the renewal applications not received by this date are subject to “Stop Sale, Stop Use, or 
Removal Orders” if these products are shipped and found in the channels of trade after December 31, 2023. 

ALL INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED!! 

 

RENEWAL OF PESTICIDE PRODUCTS: Enclosed is one (1) renewal form that, as of printing, 
lists all products that were registered for the 2023 calendar year. Please complete the 

reregistration of these products by FOLLOWING THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE FORM. Under 
“STATUS” please indicate whether this product is “Renewal,” “Revised,” or “Discontinued.”  Please SIGN 
AND DATE the form and return it with the appropriate fees (made payable to NCDA & CS) to the 
address given on the renewal form. Make a copy of the completed form for your records. If you 
registered any new product(s) for 2023 after the enclosed renewal form was printed, you will receive a 
separate renewal form for the product(s). 
 

NEW PRODUCT: To register a new product or to continue the registration of any previously 
discontinued product, complete a copy of the "Application for Registration of New Pesticide 
Product" for the product(s) to be registered. Follow the instructions on the application form. Up to 

three (3) products can be entered on each form. The new product application can be duplicated if 
additional copies are needed. 
 

REGISTRATION FEES: The annual registration fee for each brand or grade of pesticide is 
$150.00. An ENVIRONMENTAL TRUST FUND assessment (ETF) is required for each 

product registered. The assessment amount depends on the sales of the product in North Carolina the 
previous fiscal year from October 1 to September 30. If gross sales of the product were $0 to 
$5,000, the assessment is $25.00 for that product.  If gross sales for the product were 
above $5,000, the assessment is $50.00 for that product. New products require a $25.00 
assessment, since $00.00 sales is less than $5,000.00. Make check payable to the North Carolina 
Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA & CS). The pesticide registration fee and the ETF 
assessment can be combined on one check. 
 

DISCONTINUED PRODUCTS: Each pesticide declared to be “discontinued” by the registrant 
must be registered for one full year after distribution into North Carolina has 

stopped. Shipment into North Carolina must not occur during the discontinuance year. A registration 
fee and an ETFA (see directions under REGISTRATION FEES) must be submitted for each discontinued 
product unless the registrant certifies in writing on the renewal form that "the product was sold only to 
the end user and no longer remains in the channels of trade.” Products registered as discontinued for 
the 2023 calendar year do not appear on the renewal form. If you wish to renew the registration of any 
previously discontinued product, follow the procedure outlined in the "New Product" section above. 



 

 
 

PESTICIDE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION: Registrants will receive a Pesticide Registration 
Certification that certifies that the brands or grades of pesticides listed have been registered and 
their sale in North Carolina is authorized for the calendar year indicated. Due to high volumes of 

renewal applications coming in, you may not receive your certification until June. 
 

APPLICATION REVIEW: Mail all applications to the address on application. Please be sure 
applications are complete before submitting them. Applications for new products are reviewed 
first, and the renewal applications are reviewed second, in the order received. 

                                                                    
LABELING: Include a complete set of labeling for each new product. Revised labels may be 
submitted any time during the year. These revised labels, if approved, will be added to your file, 
and will be considered the most current label for the product. No additional registration fees are 

required for revised labels of currently registered products. Do not send a copy of the EPA stamped 
approved label unless we request it.  Do not submit labeling on CDs, USB sticks or via email. 
 

DELINQUENT REGISTRATION PENALTY: The "North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971" requires 
a delinquent registration penalty of $200.00 for each brand or grade of pesticide found being 
offered for sale in North Carolina prior to registration. This penalty MUST be paid and cannot be 
waived. 

 
2(EE) BULLETINS: Send all 2(ee) bulletins issued for North Carolina uses, as you would 
supplemental labels. 

 
25(b) PRODUCTS, BIOTECH PRODUCTS, GENETICALLY ALTERED PRODUCTS, VIRUSES, 
ETC.: Registration IS required for products exempted under FIFRA Section 25(b), biotech 
products, genetically altered products (such as B.t. corn), viruses, etc. Seed products that have 

been altered to produce plants that are herbicide tolerant are NOT required to be registered. 
 

FERTILIZER-PESTICIDE MIXTURES: Separate pesticide registrations are required for each 
fertilizer analysis even if the pesticide remains the same. These mixtures also require registration 
with the Seed & Fertilizer Section, Plant Industry Division, NCDA & CS, 1060 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699, (919) 707-3735. 
 
TERMITICIDES: Please see enclosed memorandum. 
 

 
CONFIDENTIAL STATEMENT OF FORMULA: Do NOT send the EPA Confidential Statement of 
Formula unless we specifically request it.   
 

QUESTIONS? 
Please contact us at (919) 733-3556. To access the North Carolina Pesticide Law, regulations, forms, 

and other pesticide registration information go to: 
http://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesticides/Registra.htm 

Once there, follow the links. 

http://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesticides/Registra.htm

