
Structural Pest Control & Pesticides Division Vol. XXXIII - No. 1  
Spring 2022 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services     Steve Troxler, Commissioner 

 

 
In this Issue: 
 
 WPS 

 Ornamental & 
Turf Applicators 

 Auxin and 
Paraquat 
Training 

 NC Pesticide 
Board Actions 

 

 

 

 

Don’t forget to keep up with your Worker ProtecƟon 
Standards! 
The Environmental ProtecƟon Agency has revised the 1992 
Agricultural Worker ProtecƟon Standard regulaƟon to increase 
protecƟon and reduce the risks of injury or illness resulƟng from 
agricultural workers 
 Annual mandatory training for workers and handlers 
 Use EPA approved training materials 
 Employers must provide a system that can deliver gently running 

water for emergency eye flushing for handlers at mixing/loading 
sites 

 During pesƟcide applicaƟons, agricultural employers must keep 
workers and other persons out of the ApplicaƟon Exclusion Zones 
(AEZ) surrounding the pesƟcide applicaƟon equipment 

 When a respirator is required by product labeling, applicators must 
complete a medical evaluaƟon and be fit tested annually.  The 
employer must train the applicators and maintain records  

 All pesƟcide handlers or early entry workers must be at least 18 
years of age before applying any pesƟcide or assisƟng with an 
applicaƟon or entering into a treated 
site before the REI has expired.  

 A Worker or Handler may designate 
a representaƟve, who may act on 
their part to request and obtain a 
copy of the pesƟcide applicaƟon and 
hazard informaƟon for the period of 
their employment on a farm.  
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Ornamental & Turf Applicators  
 

To clarify a quesƟon that is oŌen asked;  
“Can applicators with an Ornamental & Turf license, adverƟse and perform service 
for the control of Ɵcks, fleas, etc. in yards?”  
 
Answer: NO. Ornamental & Turf will allow you to treat many landscape pests 
including fire ants, but in order to adverƟse and treat for Ɵcks and fleas in people’s 
yards, you will need to add the Public Health category to your license.  

AƩend a class now before your busy season starts! 

Check your credits online here: 

hƩp://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/LicenseSearch.htm 

Find approved conƟnuing educaƟon courses here: 

https://apps.ncagr.gov/AgRSysPortalV2/course/calendar  

See how many conƟnuing educaƟon credits are required for your license category here: 

hƩp://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesƟcides/RECREDRE.HTM 

DO YOU HAVE ENOUGH CREDITS TO RECERTIFY? 

 New applicaƟon‐exclusion zones up to 100 feet surrounding pesƟcide applicaƟon 
equipment  

 Mandatory record‐keeping to improve states’ ability to follow up on pesƟcide vi‐
olaƟons and enforce compliance. Records of applicaƟon‐specific pesƟcide infor‐
maƟon, as well as farmworker training, must be kept for two years.  

 Growers need to display pesƟcide applicaƟon informaƟon within 24 hours of the 
applicaƟon and maintain the records for two years.  The Safety Data Sheets must 
now be maintained and made available to your workers and handlers.  



Auxin and Paraquat Training 
 

All applicators must have a commercial pesƟcide license or private pesƟcide 
cerƟficaƟon AND have completed the updated auxin‐specific training, and Paraquat 
training for 2022.  
 

The training: “Auxin Herbicides – Best Management PracƟces” must be approved by 
the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (NCDA&CS). The 
paraquat training can be completed online by going to hƩp://
www.usparaquaƩraining.com/  or can be completed in‐person through NCSU 
CooperaƟve Extension Agency and other parƟcipaƟng enƟƟes. Paraquat training must 
be completed individually with a 100% on the final assessment to obtain a compleƟon 
cerƟficate. Licensees aƩending these trainings will earn 1 conƟnuing educaƟon credit 
in the N, O, D, and X categories for each training.  

For more informaƟon, contact the NCDA&CS at 919‐733‐3556, contact your local 

County CooperaƟve Extension Service office, or visit hƩp://www.ncagr.gov/spcap/

pesƟcides/auxin.htm, hƩps://www.ncagr.gov/spcap/pesƟcides/paraquat.htm. 
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When you add a category to an exisƟng license, your cerƟficaƟon expiraƟon date does not 
change. 

 

CerƟficaƟon credits for the new category must be earned by your current cerƟficaƟon 
expiraƟon date, unless the new category was added in the same year that you recerƟfy. 

 

For commercial and public licenses, credits for each category must be obtained in at least 
2 different calendar years. 

 

If your cerƟficaƟon date is 6/30/2022 or 9/30/2022 but your license does not expire unƟl 
12/31/2022,  

you must get your credits by your cerƟficaƟon date.  
ONLINE TESTING AND COURSES AVAILABLE NOW! 

RECERTIFICATION REMINDERS 
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North Carolina PesƟcide Board AcƟons 
At the Spring 2022 mee ngs of the North Carolina Pes cide Board, the following 
se lement agreements were approved for alleged viola ons of the NC Pes cide Law 
of 1971.  Consent to the terms of the se lement agreement does not cons tute an 
admission of guilt to any alleged viola on. 
 

 

 Andre M Bland, a licensed commercial pesƟcide applicator for Harvey’s FerƟlizer and Gas Co. in Cove City agreed 
to pay $800 aŌer a pesƟcide applicaƟon to his corn and soybean fields driŌed to a nearby pasture. 

 
 Chance W Rosenberger, the owner and operator of Curb Appeal Landscaping in CharloƩe, agreed to pay $800 

for applying pesƟcides in Huntersville with an expired license.  
 
 Charles Boyd, the holder of a pesƟcide applicator license for W.N.C. Landscaping and Nursery in Waynesville, 

agreed to pay $800 for applying pesƟcides with an expired license. 
 
 ChrisƟne Ruiz, of J&R Landscaping based in Lancaster SC, agreed to pay $800 for applying pesƟcide in Dallas 

without a license. 
 
 Christopher R Wiggins, a private pesƟcide applicator, agreed to pay $1200 aŌer two employees applied 

pesƟcides that came in contact with field workers, the applicaƟon was found to be in violaƟon of several 
pesƟcide laws/regulaƟons including the provision that requires training in the states of WPS. 

 
 Dennis Wilson, owner of Green Rite Lawn Care in Durham, agreed to pay $800 for applying herbicides without a 

commercial pesƟcide applicator’s license.  
 
 Don A Smith, a licensed commercial pesƟcide applicator for UlƟmate Property Maintenance/Third Day Market in 

Jefferson, agreed to pay $2800 for not following the state WPS that outlines recordkeeping for pesƟcide 
applicaƟons, worker training and provision of personal protecƟve equipment. Smith was also found to have used 
pesƟcides not approved for use in the business’s greenhouse. 

 
 Drew Griffin, the holder of a pesƟcide dealer license for TriEast Ag Group in Greenville, agreed to pay $800 for 

improper sale of soil fumigants to four costumer who were not cerƟfied in the soil fumigaƟon category. 
 
 Harold E Apple Jr, a licensed private pesƟcide applicator in Gibsonville agreed to pay $600 for applying soil 

fumigants when his cerƟficaƟon in the soil fumigaƟon category had expired. 
 
 James G Hite Jr., of Greentech Land Care in Ayden, agreed to pay $800 for applying pesƟcides in Washington 

without a license.  
 
 Jamie Beasley, a licensed private pesƟcide applicator, agree to pay $600 aŌer a pesƟcide applicaƟon to his corn 

field driŌed to a pepper field on nearby property. 

 Jeff Benfield, a licensed private pesƟcide applicator for Benfield Nursery in Newland, agreed to pay $500 for 

applying pesƟcide to Christmas tree although the pesƟcide label states it should not be used in nurseries or on 

plants grown for commercial sale. 
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North Carolina PesƟcide Board AcƟons ConƟnued 

 Jerry A Dowles Jr. the holder of a private pesƟcide applicator license. Agreed t pay $800 for failing to follow 
state WPS in relaƟons to his peach orchard near East Arcadia and for applying pesƟcides with an expired appli‐
cator cerƟficate. 

 
 Jerry R Robinson, a licensed private applicator agreed to pay $600 aŌer a driŌ from his herbicide applicaƟon to 

a strawberry field damaged trees in a nearby residenƟal yard in Whiteville, NC pesƟcide law states that no per‐
son shall apply pesƟcides under such condiƟons that driŌ from pesƟcide parƟcles or vapors results in adverse 
effects. 

 

 Jerry W. Edwards, a licenses private pesƟcide applicator agreed to pay $1400 for burning pesƟcide containers in 
Sparta. The improper disposal violated several NC pesƟcide laws/regulaƟons related to storage and disposal and 
endangerment of people, plants, animals, food, water, and the environment.  

 
 Jodon C Jamison, the holder of a commercial pesƟcide applicator license for Crow Creek Golf Course in Cala‐

bash, agreed to pay $800 for contaminaƟng a pong at the course with pesƟcides. 
 
 Kenneth R Poorman, agreed to pay $500 aŌer a pesƟcide applicaƟon to a pasture in Pinetown driŌs onto peo‐

ple on a residenƟal deck on the adjacent property. 
 
 Kyle G Easly, of Easly Does It Lawnscapes in Greenville, agreed to pay $1200 for applying pesƟcides without a 

license. 
 
 Landon S Dail, a licensed private applicaƟon agrees to pay $500 aŌer his pesƟcide applicaƟon to an agricultural 

field driŌed into a nearby residenƟal yard in Tarboro. 
 
 Mark A Smith, a licensed pesƟcide dealer for Nutrien Ag SoluƟons in Norwood, agreed to pay $1500 for selling 

and repackaging into inappropriate storage containers on a farm in Monroe. 
 
 Michael J Moudry, the holder of a commercial pesƟcide applicator license for Lakewinds Golf Course in 

Rougemont, agreed to pay $1200 for applying pesƟcide with an expired license. 
 
 Mitchell BoƩomley, a licensed private applicator agreed to pay $700 because an employee applying an herbi‐

cide to corn allowed the herbicides to driŌ onto adjacent property, which damaged apple trees and grass. 
 
 Roger E Johnsonbaugh, a licensed aerial pesƟcide applicator for Helicopter Applicators in GeƩysburg, PA, 

agreed to pay $1200 aŌer an applicaƟon of pesƟcide to forest land west of Wastonburg driŌed onto a nearby 
soybean crop, causing damage to the plants. 

 
 Simplot Agribusiness, parent company of the Simplot Turf & HorƟculture locaƟon in CharloƩe, agreed to pay 
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Structural Pest Control and PesƟcides Division 

James W. BurneƩe, Jr., Director 
 

1090 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699‐1090 
Phone ‐ (919) 733‐3556  Fax ‐ (919) 733‐9796 

hƩp://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesƟcides/ 
 

POLLINATOR PROTECTION: 
hƩp://ncagr.gov/spcap/bee/ 

 
PESTICIDE WASTE DISPOSAL: 

Derrick Bell 
hƩp://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesƟcides/pdap/ 

 
 

PESTICIDE SCHOOLS AND MATERIALS FOR CERTIFICATION & RECERTIFICATION 
 

CONTACT:  Phyllis Knight, Dept. of HorƟcultural Science 
Box 7609, NCSU, Raleigh, NC 27695 

(919) 515‐3113 
www.pesƟcidemanuals.com 
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