

#### NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES MEAT AND POULTRY INSPECTION DIVISION Raleigh, North Carolina

Steve Troxler, Commissioner

# MPID NOTICE

35-08

11-17-08

# **ON-FARM SLAUGHTER ACTIVITIES**

## I. PURPOSE

This document is issued to clarify the North Carolina State laws governing slaughter activities conducted on the farm.

- II. REFERENCES: North Carolina General Statutes 106-549-23 and 106-549.27
- III. CANCELLATION: MPIS Notice 6-03 dated 9-12-03

### IV. COMMON QUESTIONS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS ACTIVITY

- 1. Q: Can I sell a live animal and let the buyer slaughter it on my farm?
  - A: No. Per North Carolina General Statutes 106-549.23, this slaughter activity must take place in an approved facility regulated by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Meat and Poultry Inspection Division.
- 2. Q: Can I slaughter animals of my own raising on my farm?
  - A: Yes. Per NC General Statute 106.549.27, this is permissible provided:
    - a. the meats and meat products derived from the animal are for personal use only (not sold to other persons or businesses)
    - b. the inedible parts (blood, internals, etc) are properly disposed of (transported to a licensed rendering plant or buried at least 3 feet deep and no closer than 300 feet to any flowing stream or public body of water).
- 3. Q: How can I learn more about inspection requirements?
  - A: Contact the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Meat and Poultry Inspection Service at 919-707-3180 or visit our web site at *http://www.ncagr.gov/meatpoultry.*

Please be advised that if you do not follow the guidelines described above, you could be in violation of the North Carolina Compulsory Meat Inspection Laws and/or the Animal Disease Act as well as the laws of other local, state and federal agencies that are responsible for such areas as water quality and public health. Violators of the North Carolina Compulsory Meat Inspection Laws and/or the Animal Disease Act may be assessed a civil penalty up to **\$5,000.00** per violation and/or subjected to criminal prosecution.

Dr. Karen Beck State Director DISTRIBUTION: MPID Personnel, NCDA & CS Animal Health Programs, Public

SUBJECT CATEGORY: Compliance