

Steven W. Troxler Commissioner North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services *Veterinary Division* Michael P. Martin, DVM, MPVM, ACPV State Veterinarian

Working Draft, last revised 07.10.2025

In an effort to provide general provisions for animal mortality management utilizing thermal dehydrators and fulfill anticipated needs of 15A NCAC 02T .0113 (a)(12) should it be expanded to include methodologies beyond composting, pursuant to State Statutes 106-403 and 02 NCAC 52C.0102, the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Veterinary Division approves of all thermal dehydration units meeting the following conditions and stipulations:

- 1. All North Carolina solid waste, air, water quality, and other applicable regulations must be met in siting and operation of the system.^a
- 2. Only poultry is to be processed in this facility; NO swine, bovine, caprine, ovine or cervid species shall be processed.
- 3. Mortality to be processed shall originate only from the premises on which the dehydrator is located. ^b
- 4. The final product of the process must be stored, treated, and utilized in accordance with all federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and approval requirements. ^c
- 5. Temperatures shall reach 140 degrees F or greater for a minimum of 4 hours for any individual processing run. Moisture content of finished product should be less than 10% by weight at the end of any given processing run.
- 6. Dead animals are not to be removed from dehydrator until all flesh, internal organs, and other soft tissue is processed beyond recognition.
- 7. The proposed facility shall have the following minimum setback requirements: ^d
 - 100-foot buffer between all property lines and dehydrator facilities;
 - 100-foot buffer between all wells and dehydrator facilities, except for monitoring wells;
 - 50-foot buffer between perennial streams/rivers and dehydrator facilities.
- 8. The facility and operational records with a retention time of 3 years shall be available for inspection by NCDA&CS, Veterinary Division personnel upon request.
- 9. Operational records shall include for each processing run: a) date and start time b) time-stamped data to indicate the actual length of time the vessel was at or above 140 degrees F and c) start and end weight.
- 10. The Veterinary Division must be immediately notified of any complicating issues involving animal disease or environmental concerns.
- 11. The State Veterinarian reserves the right to cancel this approval if a specific concern for controlling animal disease arises, or if any of the aforementioned conditions are not met.

This document shall in no circumstances be interpreted as an endorsement of any specific manufacturer or type of mortality management system by the State Veterinarian, and the Office of the State Veterinarian does not approve or disapprove the technical or performance standards for specific makes or designs of equipment.

^a NCDA&CS, Veterinary Division strongly encourages approval applicants to seek the technical assistance of a NRCS - USDA official in planning, developing, and carrying out this project.

^b While formal veterinary division approval is limited to thermal dehydrators receiving mortality from the premises on which they are built, if a premises moves carcasses to a thermal dehydration unit on a different poultry premises, the owner must comply with conditions in GS 106-168.8 (5) and (6) followed by licensed renderers. Carcasses must be transported within 24 hours of death in a leak-proof vessel or vehicle with a cover, to

prevent spread of disease by flies or other agents during the transportation. The vessel or vehicle must be disinfected following loading of carcasses, to prevent the spread of disease. After unloading at the thermal dehydration site, the vehicle or vessel must be cleaned and disinfected prior to leaving. The person loading and transporting the carcasses must use suitable protective clothing including foot protection.

All anticipated movement of carcasses from one premises to another for thermal dehydration should be reported to NCDA&CS, including farm names and addresses of all premises involved, prior to movement. This will help to facilitate disease response in the event of an outbreak in the region.

^c Additional requirements and regulations may apply from DEQ, Department of Environmental Quality if application for off-farm disposition of dehydrated material is requested (see G.S. 130A-309.29 and 15A).

^d As property lines can shift over time, it is recommended that property owners maintain documentation that can serve as formal documentation of when the thermal dehydrator was installed.