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To Whom It May Concern: 

 

As per your request for information regarding an Equine Event Permit, enclosed you will find our Equine 

Event Permit application form. In order for you to receive a permit, the application must be completed, 

signed and returned to our office, along with copies of (1) a current North Carolina Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection (CVI) that is no more than 30 days old, and (2) an equine infectious anemia (EIA) 

test, also known as a Coggins, that has been performed within the last 12 months. You will also need to 

provide three complete pictures, preferably digital, of your horse – one each of the left and right sides 

from the head to the hooves, and a photo of the front view from above the tips of the ears to below the 

mouth. Please note that photos of horses included on CVI or EIA forms are too small to be edited to 

create our passport ID cards and therefore cannot be used. Digital photos may be emailed to 

Joe.Web@ncagr.gov. Once your application, your photos and a $5 permit fee have been received in our 

office along with a valid CVI form and the horse’s EIA test results, your Equine Event Permit will be 

issued.  

 

If you have any questions, please contact our office at (919) 707-3250. 

 

 

       Sincerely,  

 

 

       R. Douglas Meckes, DVM 

       State Veterinarian 
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Permit Number  

Date Issued  

 

 

 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services 

                                   Veterinary Division  

                    Application for Equine Event Permit 
 

 

      
 

In making application for an Equine Event Permit, I have attached a copy of the North Carolina 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) and equine infectious anemia (EIA) test record. I understand 

that this permit is issued by the State of North Carolina, and the horse must be accompanied at all times 

by an original EIA test record, a complete travel itinerary listing all events and transport occurring during 

the passport’s active status, and the Equine Event Permit. If a microchip is used as a means of 

identification, I also agree to provide regulatory authorities immediate access to a functional microchip 

scanner, if requested. Violators of any requirement of the passport program are subject to the laws of the 

state where the violation occurs and may include an immediate return to the state of origin, revocation of 

passport, civil penalties or criminal prosecution. A $5 fee for processing the permit is required. Make 

your check or money order payable to the NCDA&CS Veterinary Division. 

 

Owner Information 
 

Owner Name:   

Address: 

City, State, Zip Code: 

Phone Number: 

 

Veterinarian Information 

 

Veterinarian Name: 

Address: 

City, State, Zip Code: 

Phone Number: 

 

Horse Information 
 

Name: Age: Sex: Breed: Color: 

     

 
 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection Number:__________________________________ 

 

Date Certificate of Veterinary Inspection Issued:_______________________________ 
 



EIA Information 

 

 

 

Horse Identification Method Used 
 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

(Digital photographs must include views of the entire left and right sides and a front view.  These photos 

may be emailed to joe.web@ncagr.gov) 

 

 (The tattoo or microchip identification must be included on the 

   EIA/Coggins test chart that is part of the Equine Event Permit 

   application.)  

 

Detailed Description or Markings 

 
________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________ 

State Exceptions 

 

I understand the following: 

 Digital photographs are not recognized as forms of identification for travel to Louisiana. 

 An EIA test record with negative results recorded within the previous seven months is required for 

travel to Arkansas and Oklahoma. 

 

 

 

______________________________  ________________________ 

Signature of Owner/Agent    Date  
 
 

 

PLEASE SIGN COMPLETED APPLICATION AND REMIT TO: 

NCDA&CS Veterinary Division 

1030 Mail Service Center  

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1030 

Phone: (919) 707-3250     Fax: (919) 733-2277 

Email: joe.web@ncagr.gov 

 
FORM NCEQ04           

02/09/2016

Results of Test: Lab Accession No.: Lab Performing Test: Date of Test: 

    

Tattoo  

Microchip  



North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services 

                    Veterinary Division  
 

 

                  Equine Event Permit 

                      Travel Itinerary  

 

Departure Date In Transit Stops Destination  Return Date Purpose of Trip 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 
 As part of the permit agreement, an accurate, up to date transport record is required to be kept by the owner 

 or transporter at all times. 

 

1. The permit number recorded below must be the same as that listed on the permit. 

2. Additional sheets of itinerary may be added and attached as necessary. 

 

I hereby certify that all travel has been recorded for the period that the permit is valid. The original signed 

copy must be available at all time during transport of the horse. Upon permit expiration, the complete 

travel itinerary must be forwarded to the office of the State Veterinarian issuing the permit. 

 

 

_____________________________     _____________________ 

Owner/Agent Signature      Permit Number 


