Steven W. Troxler NOI'th Carolma Dep artment Of Agrlculture David T. Marshall, DVM

Commissioner an d C onsumer S CI’Vi ces State Veterinarian
Veterinary Division

August 1, 2011

BY HAND DELIVERY

Ms. Sam Milam

Happy Tails Pet Resort

1086 Turnersburg Hwy.
Statesville, North Carolina 28625

Re: REVOCATION OF BOARDING KENNEL LICENSE
Happy Tails Pet Resort
Boarding Kennel License no. 10929

Dear Ms. Milam:

This letter is an Order concerning your operation of an boarding kennel under license issued by the
Animal Welfare Section of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
(“NCDA&CS) pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-28. Your boarding kennel, Happy Tails Pet Resort,
failed inspection conducted by this Section on July 15, 2011. Said inspection was conducted pursuant to
the authority and requirements set forth under the NC Animal Welfare Act. You have been provided with
the NC Animal Welfare and the rules establishing facility standards there under with your license
application.

In the course of today’s inspection it was found that your facility demonstrated serious deficiencies in the
conditions in which your animals are kept and the care that they receive. These deficiencies are described
in detail by the attached inspection report, provided as required by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-30. For the
reasons set forth in your last inspection report, your certification of registration is hereby REVOKED for
failure to comply with the requirements set forth in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-30(3).

You may contest this decision by filing a petition under the North Carolina Administrative Procedure Act,
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-23, within five (5) days of your receipt of this Order. Please find enclosed
information on filing said petition. Filing the petition will require a payment of twenty dollars to the
North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings (see below, “Filing a Contest Case™).

Therefore, you are notified to CEASE AND DESIST operation of a boarding kennel within five (5) days
of receipt of this letter, at which time you are required to surrender to this Division all licenses issued to
this boarding kennel under the Animal Welfare Act. If you are found operating a boarding kennel after
the fifth day following your receipt of this letter, the NCDA&CS has the authority to impose a civil
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penalty of up to five thousand do. 5 ($5,000.00) pursuant to:

§ 19A-40.Civil Penalties.
The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against
any person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In
determining the amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm
caused by the violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall
be remitted to the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2.

If you believe that you have substantially cured the reasons for having failed your last inspection within
five (5) days of your receipt of this Order and are qualified for licensing, please contact this office
immediately.

Sincerely,

r. Lee Hunter, DVM, MPH
Director, Animal Welfare Section
Veterinary Division, NCDA&CS

Enclosures

cc: David McLeod, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS
David Marshall, DVM, State Veterinarian, NCDA&CS
Barry Bloch, Assistant Attorney General, NCDOJ



I acknowledge that, on (date) I received this Order of

License Revocation from , Inspector, Animal Welfare

Section, NCDA&CS.

(Signature)

(Print Name, job title)



Nort,. _arolina Office of Administrative Hear.. 3
Hearings Division and Clerk's Office: 919-431-3000
Fax: 919-431-3100

http://www.oah.state.nc.us/hearings/#filing

The Hearings Division provides a forum for an independent hearing before an administrative law judge
when a dispute with a state agency involving a person's rights, duties or privileges cannot be resolved
through informal procedures. The statutory procedures governing Administrative Hearings before OAH
are found in Articles 3 and 3A of Chapter 150B, the Administrative Procedure Act (APA). The regulatory
procedures are found in Title 26, Chapter 3 of the North Carolina Administrative Code.

You may be represented by an attorney at your administrative hearing or you may appear on your own
behalf, unless you are a corporation. If you are a corporation, you must be represented by an attorney. It is
up to you to decide whether you will retain an attorney. OAH cannot advise you on this decision and
cannot recommend an attorney. You may not be represented by anyone who is not an attorney.

There are filing fees for certain types of contested cases - see OAH Contested Case Filing Fees for a
representative list of fees. You may petition OAH to waive the filing fee in cases of financial hardship
prior to filing your case. Once your hearing is scheduled, there is a cancellation fee if you cancel the
hearing less than 24 hours before its scheduled time. There is also a fee to obtain a copy of the hearing's
transcript or audio recording.

The Office of Administrative Hearings maintains an email notification list to send notice of new Hearings
rules or procedures and to send any other information the Chief Administrative Law Judge determines is
helpful to the listserv subscribers. To subscribe or unsubscribe to the NC Hearings listserv, please use the
web form found at the following link: http://lists.ncmail.net/mailman/listinfo/hearings.interestedpersons.

FILING A CONTESTED CASE

To begin a contested case, a petition must be filed with OAH. Filing fees, if required, must accompany the
petition form. An indigent status petition may be filed before the contested case petition to request a
waiver of the filing fee. Petition forms are available through this web site by clicking on the word
"petition" in the first sentence of this section, or by contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings. It is
not required that petitions be filed on this form, but use of the form may assure that you include all
necessary information. An original and one copy of the petition must be filed at OAH, and a copy must
be served on the opposing party. In serving a copy of the petition on a state agency, be sure to follow
the instruction provided in any notice received from that agency. OAH requires that you file an original
and one copy of any document filed in your case, and an additional copy must be sent to the opposing
party.

The following filing fee schedule is a representative example of the fees for filing a Petition for a
Contested Case. The list is not intended to be all inclusive. Should you have any questions about what the
fee would be for your case, please contact the OAH Clerk’s Office at 919-431-3000. Payment can be
made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an attorney’s trust account. Make checks
payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings.

Department of Agriculture - $20
BEFORE THE HEARING

Once the petition has been filed, it is given a docket number and assigned to an Administrative Law Judge
(ALJ). The docket number will appear in the upper right-hand corner of all documents received from
OAH. You must use this docket number to properly identify all pleadings or correspondence submitted
for filing in your contested case file. A "Notice of Contested Case and Assignment" is sent to all parties.




This notice will show the name ol .ie ALJ who has been assigned to the ca. . and will require that the
agency submit any document which caused the filing of the contested case.

If you have an attorney, all correspondénce or documents will be mailed to your attorney. Attorneys must
file a Notice of Representation which indicates the name, address, telephone number and State Bar
Number of the attorney representing each party.

If you do not have an attorney, all correspondence or documents will be mailed to you at the address you
provide OAH. YOU MUST KEEP OAH INFORMED OF YOUR CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS
AND TELEPHONE NUMBER.

Soon after filing a petition, you may be notified that your case has been selected for a mediated settlement
conference. A mediated settlement conference is a prehearing conference conducted by a neutral person,
known as a mediator, who acts to encourage and facilitate settlement of the case. If your case is sent to a
mediated settlement conference, you and the other party must agree on a mediator. OAH maintains a
directory of mediators to assist you with this decision. This directory is available through this web site
by clicking on "directory of mediators" in the previous sentence or by contacting the Office of
Administrative Hearings. If you are unable to agree, the presiding ALJ will choose a mediator for you. In
either circumstance, the petitioner's attorney shall file a Designation of Mediator form with the presiding
ALJ. This form is normally mailed with the Order of Mediation. A copy is available by clicking on
"Designation of Mediator" in the prior sentence. The parties are required to pay the cost of the mediated
settlement conference. At the close of the mediated settlement conference, the mediator will file a written
report with the presiding ALJ as to whether or not an agreement was reached by the parties. The report is
made through a Report of Mediator form. This form is available by clicking on "Report of Mediator" in
the prior sentence or by contacting the Office of Administrative Hearings. (As an alternative to mediation,
you may be notified that an Administrative Law Judge will conduct a settlement conference.)

A prehearing request to the ALJ for any action in a contested case must be made by filing a written
motion. If a party files a motion, the other party has ten (10) days to respond. The ALJ will rule on all
motions.

Before the contested case hearing, the ALJ may require the parties to file a Final Prehearing Order. This
document sets out the issues which are agreed upon by the parties and identifies the witnesses and
exhibits which each party will offer at the hearing.

Each party is responsible for arranging for the appearance of their witnesses. If you want to ensure the
presence of your witnesses, you must subpoena them. Subpoena forms with instructions are available
through this web site by clicking on the word subpoena in the previous sentence or by contacting the
Office of Administrative Hearings.

Not less than 15 days before the hearing, you will receive a Notice of Hearing. This Notice will be sent by
certified mail to all parties and establishes among other things, the time, date and location of the hearing.

A hearing may be continued or postponed but only for good cause. A request for a continuance of a
hearing must be made before the hearing by written motion to the ALJ and must be served on all parties.

THE HEARING

The hearing is open to the public except in limited instances.

At the hearing, each party has the right to testify on his or her own behalf. Each party may also offer
documents in evidence; have witnesses testify; question an opposing party's witnesses; and explain or
rebut evidence. Additional courtroom facilities are available for cases which are held in Raleigh (see
Raleigh Courtroom Facilities).




In advance of the hearing you mu.  prepare at least two copies of each exh . which you intend to offer
into evidence. Those exhibits admitted into evidence will be retained in the official record.

The hearing is recorded by either a hearing assistant using a 4-track recorder (there is no appearance fee
for a hearing assistant), or a court reporter, but the party requesting a court reporter must pay the
reporter's appearance fees.

You may purchase a transcript of the hearing recorded by a hearing assistant, by contacting Associated
Court Reporters in Charlotte at 704/364-8382. Depending on the length of the hearing, some transcripts
may be expensive, but transcripts become part of the official OAH record on appeal. Copies of the
cassette tapes or CD's from which the transcripts are made are also available from OAH at a much lower
cost, but these recordings are not considered part of the official record. If your hearing is recorded by a
court reporter, requests and payment for copies of the transcript must be made directly with the court
reporter.

AFTER THE HEARING

The Administrative Law Judge's Decision is made in writing and contains findings of fact and conclusions
of law. The state agency involved will make the Final Agency Decision but must adopt the ALJ's decision
unless it is clearly contrary to the preponderance of the evidence.

The ALJ has 45 days from the end of the hearing (or from the date of post-hearing submissions) to issue
the ALJ's Decision. The ALJ Decision is sent to the parties and a copy, as well as the Official Record, is
sent to the final decision maker.

Before the agency issues a Final Decision, both Parties will be given an opportunity to file exceptions and
written arguments with the final decision maker.

APPEAL OF A DECISION

A party may appeal a Final Decision within 30 days after being served with a written copy of the decision
by filing a Petition for judicial review in the Superior Court of Wake County or in the Superior Court of
the county where the person appealing resides.

THE MATERIAL PRESENTED AT THIS WEB SITE IS PROVIDED TO THE PUBLIC FOR
INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY AND IS NOT INTENDED AS LEGAL ADVICE.
NOTHING CONTAINED HEREIN SHALL BE CONSTRUED TO BIND THE PRESIDING
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE OR OAH TO ANY PRACTICE DESCRIBED HEREIN.



