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Pittsboro, North Carolina 27312

NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY

RE: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FOR VIOLATIONS OF TITLE 02, N.C.
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (NCAC), CHAPTER 52]J, SECTION .0204(e)

Facility: Pettsboro
AWS-CP-2016-5
Dear Ms. Thomas:

Pursuant to N.C. Gen, Stat. § 19A-40 I am issuing this notice to you that Pettsboro is assessed a civil
penalty of $500.00, as provided in the enclosed Notice of Violations and Order.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the
following:

1. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N. C. Office of Administrative
Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement
negotiations at any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may present your offer 1o me.
I'can be contacted by telephone at (919) 707-3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline
for payment or filing of a contested case petition.

1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27689-1030 @ (919} 707-3250
TTY: 1-800-735-2962 Voice: 1-877-735-8200
An Equal Opportunity Employer



Additional information about your options is provided below:
PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by N.C. Gen. Stat. §
150B-23. The petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) payable to the N.C.
Office of Administrative Hearings. Should you have any questions about what the fee would be for your
case, please contact the OAH Clerk’s Office at 919-431-3000. Payment can be made by cash, money
order, certified check or check drawn on an attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of
Administrative Hearings. File the petition and one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.
You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Ms. Tina Hlabse
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001]

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you,



Your attention to this matter is appreciated.
Sincerely,
TR Ve v, M
o J L

Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty

cC: R. Douglas Meckes, DVM, NCDA&CS
Ms. Tina Hlabse, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Mr. Joe Reardon, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF

02 NCAC 52J .0204(e)

COUNTY OF WAKE AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES,
VETERINARY DIVISION
IN THE MATTER OF ) NOTICE OF VIOLATIONS,
PETTSBORO ) ASSESSMENT OF CIVIL
) PENALTY
)
) For Violations Of:
)
)

Acting pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director of the Animal Welfare Section
("AWS"), Veterinary Division, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
(NCDA&CS) makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1.

At all times pertinent to this matter Pettsboro (the “kennel”) is a boarding kennel licensed
pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §19A-28.

On July 27, 2015, AWS Animal Health Technician Elizabeth Garner (“Inspector Garner”)
conducted the annual inspection for this facility. At this time, Ms. Thomas did not inform the
inspector that she was using part of her residence as a “senior room™ to board “nervous, sickly
or older dogs.”

On the July 27, 2015, Inspector Garner noted a violation of 02 NCAC .0204(e) due to “6-9
dogs at play without supervision.” Ms. Thomas was made aware of this violation during the
inspection and signed the inspection report noting this violation.

During an interview on September 10, 2015, Ms. Thomas indicated that the use of the senior
room noted in a paragraph above was standard practice. At that time Inspector Garner
informed Ms. Thomas that all parts of a facility used for the boarding of animals must be
inspected and be in compliance with the AWA.

On September 29, 2015, Inspector Garner returned to the kennel for a follow-up inspection.
Again the inspector noted the kennel to be violating 02 NCAC .0204(e) by allowing 11 dogs
in one room without supervision.

On October 12, 2015, the kennel was assessed a civil penalty totaling $1,250.00 for violation
of 02 NCAC 521 .0201(j) and .0204(e). This civil penalty was not appealed by the kennel and
has become final.

On April 11, 2016, Inspector Garner visited the kennel in order to conduct a follow-up facility
inspection.

During the April 11, 2016 facility inspection, a dog named Penny was being boarded inside
the kennel owner’s residence.



9. Inspector Garner noted that Penny was being housed inside the residence in an area with 12
dogs owned by the kennel owner. All 13 dogs were loose together in this area and no staff
was present to supervise the animals.

10. Review of the kennel records revealed that no evidence could be found that the kennel owner
had obtained written permission from the owner of Penny to allow contact with other animals.

CONCLUSIONS

As a result of this investigation, AWS, finds that the kennel, either by act or omission, violated the Title
02 of the North Carolina Administrative Code 52J .0204(e). Furthermore, AWS finds that the kennel has
been previously issued a civil penalty for violation of the same NCAC regulation in October 2015. AWS
hereby notifies the owner of the kennel that any future violation of these NCAC regulations will be
considered willful disregard of the AWA and may result in the suspension or revocation of the boarding
kennel license for this facility. Furthermore, AWS notifies the owner of the kennel that any area used for
confining an animal is subject to inspection. Failure to notify the AWS inspector of an area in which
animals are or will be confined will be considered to be a violation of 02 NCAC .0201(j).

(See Appendix for text of cited General Statutes and Administrative Codes)

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-40 in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered
the degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly, Pettsboro is assessed a civil penalty of $500.00 for violation of 02 North Carolina
Administrative Code 52J .0204(e)

$500.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

L(\.;u)goua ’_'%E?—DM_MM:M.}

Date Patricia Norris, DVM, MS
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Department of
Agriculture & Consumer Services



Appendix

N.C. General Statutes 19A-40 and N. C. Administrative Codes 52 .0201 (j)

§19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against
any person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining
the amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the
violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the
Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2. (1995, c. 516, s.6: 1998-215,5.3.)

02 NCAC 52) .0201 GENERAL

() All areas of a facility are subject to review or inspection by North Carolina Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services employees during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. through 5:30 p.m. Monday
through Friday).

(k) All animals in a facility are subject to the requirements of the Animal Welfare Act, regardless of
ownership.

History Note: Authority G.§. 19A-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005.

02 NCAC 52] .0204 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES
(e) If more than four dogs are housed in a common area or enclosure, then there must be at least one person
supervising each 10 dogs housed within each enclosure or common area.

History Note: Authority G.§. 19A-24;
Eff. April 1, 1984;
Amended Eff. January I, 2005; April 1, 1985.

02 NCAC 527 .0209 CLASSIFICATION AND SEPARATION
Animals housed in the same primary enclosure shall be maintained in compatible groups, with the following
additional restrictions:
(2) In boarding kennels, animals of different owners shall not have contact with other animals,
unless written permission is obtained from the animal's owner. Any dog or cat exhibiting an
aggressive disposition shall be housed individually in a primary enclosure.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. April I, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005.



