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NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY

RE: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FOR VIOLATIONS OF NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL
STATUTES §§ 19A-32.1 (a) & (b) (2) and TITLE 02, N.C. ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, CHAPTER
52], SECTION .0402

Facility: Transylvania County Animal Services Shelter

Dear County Manager Laughter:

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-40 [ am issuing this notice to you that Transylvania County Animal
Shelter is assessed a civil penalty of $10,150.00, as provided in the enclosed Notice of Violations and
Order.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the
following:

1. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing in the NCOAH to appeal the penalty
assessment.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement
negotiations at any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, present your offer to me. I may be
contacted by telephone at (919) 707-3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline for
payment or filing of a contested case petition.

1030 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, Norih Carolina 27699-1030 @ (919) 707-3250
TTY: 1-B00-735-2962 Voice: 1-877-735-8200
An Equal Opportunity Employer



Additional information about your options is provided below:

PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by N.C. Gen. Stat. §
150B-23. The petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) payable to the N.C.
Office of Administrative Hearings. Should you have any questions about what the fee would be for your
case, please contact the OAH Clerk’s Office at 919-431-3000. Payment can be made by cash, money
order, certified check or check drawn on an attorney’s trust account. Make checks payable to: Office of
Administrative Hearings. File the petition and one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone 919-431-3000.
You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Ms. Tina Hlabse
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuning nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you.



Your attention to this matter is appreciated.
Sincerely,

Rl o S

Patricia Norris, DVM
Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Assessment Document
cc: R. Douglas Meckes, DVM, North Carolina State Veterinarian

Ms. Tina Hlabse, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Mr. Joe Reardon, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF

COUNTY OF WAKE AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES,
VETERINARY DIVISION
IN THE MATTER OF ) NOTICE OF VIOLATIONS,
TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY ) ASSESSMENT OF CIVIL
TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY ANIMAL ) PENALTY
SERVICES SHELTER )
) For Violations Of:
) N. C. General Statutes §§ 19A-32.1 (a) & (b) (2)
) 02 N.C.A.C 521 .0402
)

Acting pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §19A-40, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director of the Animal Welfare Section
(“AWS”}, Veterinary Division, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
(NCDA&CS) makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. At all times pertinent to this matter Transylvania County Animal Services Shelter (the
“shelter”) is an animal shelter registered pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §19A-26.

2. From September 1, 2014 through to the time of the July 21-24, 2015, the only Certified
Euthanasia Technician employed by the Transylvania County Animal Services Shelter was
Paul Vis.

3. OnJuly 21-24, 2015 AWS Animal Health Technician Joshua James (“Inspector James”)
visited the shelter as part of a complaint investigation. The records referenced in the body of
this document are records gathered by Inspector James during this investigation.

4. On July 21, 2015, Inspector James interviewed Shelter Director Paul Vis. During this
interview Inspector James learned the following:
a. Director Vis acknowledged being on suspension from his duties at the shelter from
September 24, 2014 until October 20, 2014;
b. Director Vis acknowledged that upon return from the suspension on October 21, 2014,
he modified the euthanasia log by signing his initials to 5 entries for euthanasias occurring
during the suspension period.

5. OnJuly 22, 2015, Transylvania County Animal Control Officer David Blackwell provided a
written statement acknowledging that he euthanized the pitbull type dog named “Soldier”
(Intake number #18043).

6. The euthanasia section of the Shelter kennel card for Soldier (#18043) provided by the
complainant shows Blackwell’s initials.

7. The entry for Soldier (#18043) in the shelter’s euthanasia log has Blackwell’s initials.



8. The Shelter kennel card for Soldier (#18043) found by Inspector James in euthanasia files
showed the initials of Gosnell and Byrd in the euthanasia section.

9. On July 22, 2015, Transylvania County Animal Control Officer Michael Gosnell provided a
written statement acknowledging that he assisted Blackwell in the euthanasia of a pitbull that
had completed its rabies quarantine.

10. On July 22, 2015 Transylvania County Animal Control Officer Charles Byrd provided a
written statement denying involvement in the euthanasia of this pitbull which he named as
“Sailor.” He also provided a time card log which showed he was not working on October 20,
2014.

11. Inspector James reviewed the euthanasia files for the shelter from September 1, 2014 to July
21, 2015.

12. Review of these records indicates that there were 205 incidences of euthanasia being
performed by staff members that were not certified euthanasia technicians. Forty-six of these
euthanasias occurred during the period of time during which Director Vis was suspended.

13. The records show there were 81 incidences of euthanasia being performed on stray animals
before the expiration of the 72 hour minimal hold period for reasons other than serious illness
or injury.

14. There were more than 100 records in which there was conflicting information between the

kennel card and the euthanasia log as to who euthanized the animal or in which incorrect
information was entered.

As a result of this investigation, AWS, alleges that the Shelter, either by act or omission, violated the
following provisions of the N.C. Administrative Codes:

a) North Carolina General Statutes §§ 19A-32.1 (a) and (b) (2) — 81 violations
b) North Carolina Administrative Code 52J .0402 — 205 violations

(See Appendix for text of cited General Statutes and Administrative Codes)

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-40 in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered
the degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly, Transylvania County is assessed a civil penalty of:
a) $8100.00 for 81 violations of North Carolina General Statutes §§19A-32.1 (a) and (b) (2)

b) $2050.00 for 205 violations of North Carolina Administrative Code 52J] .0402



$10,150.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED

a\anidois i N

Date Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Department of
Agriculture & Consumer Services



Appendix

N.C. General Statutes 19A-32.1 (a) and (b) (2) and N. C. Administrative Codes 52J .0402 and
0418 (9)

§ 19A-32.1. Minimum holding period for animals in animal shelters; public viewing of animals in
animal shelters; disposition of animals.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, all animals received by an animal shelter or by an
agent of an animal shelter shall be held for a minimum holding period of 72 hours, or for any longer
minimum period established by a board of county commissioners, prior to being euthanized or otherwise
disposed of.

(b) Before an animal may be euthanized or otherwise disposed of, it shall be made available for
adoption under procedures that enable members of the public to inspect the animal, except in the following
cases:

(1) The animal has been found by the operator of the shelter to be unadoptable due to injury
or defects of health or temperament.

(2)  The animal is seriously ill or injured, in which case the animal may be euthanized before
the expiration of the minimum holding period if the manager of the animal shelter
determines, in writing, that it is appropriate to do so. The writing shall include the reason
for the determination.

§19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against
any person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining
the amount of the penalty, the Director shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the
violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the
Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2. (1995, c. 516, s.6: 1998-215,5.3.)

02 NCAC 527 .0402 AUTHORIZED PERSONS

Only a Certified Euthanasia Technician, Probationary Euthanasia Technician, or a veterinarian licensed to
practice veterinary medicine in North Carolina may euthanize an animal in a certified animal shelter. A
Certified Euthanasia Technician shall not euthanize animals using a method for which he or she is not
currently certified except as specified in 02 NCAC 52} .0700.

History Note: Authority G.S. 19A-24;
Eff. March 23, 2009.

02 NCAC 527 .0419 GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE - CERTIFIED EUTHANASIA
TECHNICIANS
The Department may refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate the certification of a Euthanasia Technician, or
may deny, revoke, suspend, sanction, or place on probation, impose other forms of discipline, and enter into
consent agreements and negotiated settlements with Certified Euthanasia Technician pursuant to the
procedures set forth in G.S. 150B, Atrticle 3, for any of the following reasons:
9 Improper Record Keeping. Failure to follow proper record keeping procedures as outlined



