Steven W. Troxler North Carolina Department of Agriculture R. Douglas Meckes, DVM
Commissioner and Con sumer Services State Veterinarian
Veterinary Division

November 16, 2015
A. Scott Jackson
Registered Agent
United Animal Coalition
701 Green Valley Road
Suite 100
Greensboro, NC 27409

NOTICE OF CIVIL PENALTY

Re: CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT FOR VIOLATIONS OF TITLE 02, N. C.
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, CHAPER 52J, SECTION .0210 (b} and (c).
Facility: Davidson County Animal Shelter

Dear Mr. Jackson:

Pursuant to N. C. General Statute § 19A-40 I am issuing this notice to you that the United Animal
Coalition is assessed a civil penalty of $10,000.00 as provided in the enclosed Notice of Violations.

With regard to the civil penalty, within 60 days from the date of receipt, you must do one of the
following:

1. Pay the civil penalty assessment; or

2. File a written petition for a contested case hearing with the N. C. Office of Administrative
Hearings to appeal the penalty assessment.

Pursuant to N. C. General Statute § 150B-22, either party to a dispute may initiate informal settlement
negotiations at any time. To negotiate a settlement of this assessment, you may present your offer to me.
I can be contacted by telephone at (919) 707-3280. Settlement offers do not extend the 60-day deadline
for payment of filing of a contested case petition.
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Additional information about your options is provided below:
PAYMENT

To pay the penalty, please send your payment by check or money order made payable to the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Dr. Patricia Norris
Director, Animal Welfare Section
1030 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1030

APPEAL

If you file a contested case petition, it must be in writing and in the form prescribed by N.C. General
Statute § 150B-23. The petition must be accompanied by a filing fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) payable
to the N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings (*OAH”). Should you have any questions about what the
fee would be for your case, please contact the OAH Clerk’s Office at 919-431-3000, Payment can be
made by cash, money order, certified check or check drawn on an attorney’s trust account. Make checks
payable to: Office of Administrative Hearings. File the petition and one copy with:

Office of Administrative Hearings
6714 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Any questions about filing a petition may be directed to the Clerk of OAH by telephone at 919-431-3000.
You must serve NCDA&CS by mailing a copy of the petition to:

Ms. Tina Hlabse
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Registered Agent and General Counsel
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001

Payment of the penalty will not foreclose further enforcement action against you for any new violation. If
the violations which resulted in the assessment are of a continuing nature, NCDA&CS reserves the right
to assess additional civil penalties in the future or take other enforcement action against you.

Your attention to this matter is appreciated.



Sincerely,

Patricia Norris, DVM
Director, Animal Welfare Section

Attachment: Notice of Violations, Assessment of Civil Penalty
cc: R. Douglas Meckes, DVM, NCDA&CS

Tina Hlabse, General Counsel, NCDA&CS
Joe Reardon, Assistant Commissioner, NCDA&CS



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT

COUNTY OF WAKE OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
. SERVICES, VETERINARY DIVISION
ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION
IN THE MATTER OF )
) NOTICE OF VIOLATIONS
UNITED ANIMAL COALITION DBA ) ASSESSMENT OF CIVIL PENALTY
DAVIDSON COUNTY ANIMAL SHELTER )
) FOR VIOLATIONS OF
) 02 NCAC 527 .0210 (b) and (c)

Acting pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-30, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, Animal Welfare Section
("AWS”}, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“NCDA&CS”) makes the
following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On June 11, 2015, Dr. Patricia Norris, Director, AWS, NCDA&CS conducted a complaint
investigation, including a records review, on the premises of the United Animal Coalition DBA Davidson
County Animal Shelter (“UAC"), located at 490 Glendale Road, Lexington, NC, concerning the lack of
care of a severely injured dog. Dr. Norris’ review of UAC records included review of UAC’s Annual
Program of Veterinary Care dated April 27, 2015 that was submitted to AWS with its license application.
UAC’s Annual Program of Veterinary Care indicated that “[a]ll ill or injured animals are removed from
the general public and placed in our sick isolation areas. Veterinary Technicians provide medication
prescribed by our veterinarian as she directs. Any severely ill or injured animals are taken to outside
veterinarians for immediate evaluation and veterinarians’ recommendations and protocol are
followed.” (emphasis added) Dr. Norris’ findings are as follows:

a) The investigation of the records revealed that on intake the dog was noted to appear paralyzed
from the shoulders down and possibly have a broken back. It was also noted that the dog was
placed on “pain meds thru stray period.” The dog was euthanized three (3) days after intake.
There is no record of a veterinary examination.

b) By the date of the investigation, the dog had already been euthanized.

2. On August 13, 2015, Dr. Norris returned to the shelter to continue her complaint investigation. Dr.
Norris’ review of UAC records again included review of UAC’s Annual Program of Veterinary Care.
Dr. Norris’ review of UAC records revealed the following:

a) InJanuary 2015 nine (9) animals were found dead in their kennels. Five (5) of these were
dogs and four (4) were cats.

b) In February 2015 twenty-three (23) animals were found dead in their kennels. Five (5) of
these were dogs and nineteen (19) were cats.

c¢) In March 2015 nine (9) animals were found dead in their kennels. Five (5) of these were dogs
and four (4) were cats.

d) In April 2015 forty-seven (47) animals were found dead in their kennels. Four (4) of these
were dogs and forty-three (43) were cats. From April 1-14, 2015 there were seven (7) deaths.
From April 15-30, there were forty (40) deaths.

¢) In May 2015 ninety-six (96) animals were found dead in their kennels. Five (5) of these were
dogs and ninety-one (91) were cats.



f) In June 2015 ninety-one (91) animals were found dead in their kennels. Five (5) of these were
dogs and eighty-six (86) were cats.

g) InJuly 2015 ninety-two (92) animals were found dead in their kennels. Fourteen (14) of these
were dogs and seventy-eight (78) were cats.

h) From August 1-12, 2015 thirty-eight (38) animals were found dead in their kennels. Four 4)
of these were dogs and thirty-four (34) were cats.

3. Review of the euthanasia records for the shelter from May 1 through August 13, 2015 revealed an
overwhelming number of euthanasias due to moderate to severe medical reasons and/or contagious
disease.

4. No written program for disease control written by a veterinarian could be located that addressed this
apparent disease problem.

CONCLUSIONS

As a result of this investigation, the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services, Veterinary Division, Animal Welfare Section, finds that you either by act or omission, violated
the provisions the North Carolina Administrative Code 52J .0210 (b) and (c).

(See Appendix for text of cited General Statutes and Administrative Codes)

CIVIL PENALTIES

As required by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 19A-40 in determining the amount of the civil penalty, I have considered
the degree and extent of harm caused by the violations listed above.

Accordingly the United Animal Coalition is assessed a civil penalty. The amount of the penalty for each
violation is detailed below:

1) $5,000.00 for failure to provide adequate veterinary care to the dog noted in Findings of Fact,
Section 1; and

2) $5,000.00 for failure to obtain and follow a veterinarian’s written recommendation for correcting
a disease problem that persisted for more than 30 days at the facility.

$10,000.00 TOTAL AMOUNT ASSESSED
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Date Patricia Norris, DVM
Director, Animal Welfare Section
North Carolina Depariment of
Agriculture & Consumer Services




Appendix

RELEVANT LAWS AND REGULATIONS

§ 19A-40. Civil Penalties.

The Director may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) against any person who violates a
provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thercunder. In determining the amount of the penalty, the Dircctor shall consider
the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall
be remitted to the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2. (1995, c. 516, s. 6; 1998-215,5.3))

02 NCAC 52] .0210 VETERINARY CARE

{(a) A written program of veterinary care to include disease control and prevention, vaccination, euthanasia, and adequate
vetertnary care shall be established with the assistance of a licensed veterinarian by any person who is required to be licensed or
registered under the Animal Welfare Act, Article 3 of Chapter 19A of the General Statutes.

(b) If there is a disease problem that persists for more than 30 days at the facility, the facility operator shall obiain and follow a
veterinarian's written recommendations for correcting the problem.

(c) Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal caretaker in charge, or by someone under his direct supervision. Sick
or diseased, injured, lame, or blind dogs or cats shall be provided with veterinary care or be euthanized, provided that this shall
not affect compliance with any state or local law requiring the holding, for a specified period, of animals suspected of being
diseased. If cuthanasia is performed at a certified facility, a list of personnel approved to perform euthanasia shall be maintained
in a Policy and Procedure Manual as described in 02 NCAC 527 .0800. Diseased or deformed animals shalt be sold or adopted
only under the policy set forth in the "Program of Veterinary Care.” Full written disclosure of the medical condition of the animal
shall be provided to the new owner.

(d) All animals in a licensed or registered facility shall be in compliance with the North Carolina rabies law, G.S. 130A, Article
6, Part 6. However, no shelter shall be disapproved following inspection or otherwise cited for failure to inoculate any dog or
cat known to be less than 12 wecks old or until such animals have been in the shelter at least 15 days.

History Note: Authority G.§. 19A-24;
Eff April I, 1984;
Antended Eff. March 23, 2009; January 1, 2005.



