
 
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Standards Division 
1050 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC 27699-1050 

Telephone (919) 733-3313, Fax (919) 715-0524 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS DEALER 
 
The North Carolina LP-Gas law, G. S. 119 Article 5, defines an LP-Gas dealer as any person, firm, or corporation who engages in or 
desires to engage in: 

a. The business of selling or otherwise dealing in LP-Gases which requires handling, storing, measuring, transporting, or 
distributing LP-Gas; or 

b. The business of installing, servicing, repairing, adjusting, connecting, or disconnecting containers, equipment, or appliances 
which use liquefied petroleum gas. 

Further, the law states that there shall be two classes of dealers, Class A and Class B.  Class A dealers are involved in transporting 
LP-Gases in any amount.  Class B dealers do not.  Each and every dealer shall obtain and maintain general liability insurance, 
including product liability, of at least $1,000,000 for Class A dealers and $100,000 for Class B dealers combined single limit and, 
when applicable, motor vehicle liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 combined single limit. 
The North Carolina Board of Agriculture has adopted the National Fire Protection Association Codes 58, 54, and 30A (chapter 12) 
(current editions) as standards for storage, handling, and installation of LP-Gas. 
 
NOTE: A separate proof of insurance must be filed with this office before this application can be processed. An ACORD certificate is 
appropriate and it must show the physical address of the covered business. 
 
 
______________________________________________      ___________________________________________________ 
Name of Company or Store (name site goes by)   Name of Principal Individual or Parent Company 
 
 
______________________________________________      ____________________________________________________ 
Physical Address (Actual location of Business)(Required)       Mailing Address (Place to Mail Correspondence)(Optional) 
 
 
___________________________ _____ ___________      ______________________________ _____ ___________ 
Physical City   State  Zip Code        Mailing City     State  Zip Code  
 
 
___________________ ________________________      ___________________  __________________________ 
County  Telephone Number        Telephone Number  E-mail Address (corporate) 
 
 
______________________________________ ____________________________  _________________________ 
Name of Insurance Company   City and State    Policy Number 
_____ Class A Dealer OR _____ Class B Dealer (See above for differentiation between classes.) 
Business description: (check only those that currently apply) 

_____full service dealer (includes deliveries) 
_____bottle filling (dispenser site) 
_____motor fuel dealer 
_____LP-Gas carburetion installation 
_____LP-Gas appliance or equipment service 
_____bulk transport 

other (describe)____________________________ 

For those selling LP-Gases: (Complete all that apply.  Write NA 
for those that do not.) 

number of storage tanks__________________ 
size of tank(s)__________________________ 
number of stationary meters_______________ 
number of truck-mounted meters___________ 

LP-Gas supplier/city_______________________________ 
LP-Gas equipment owner ___________________________ 

 
_______________________________________ ___________________________________  __________________ 
Signature of Applicant     Position with Company   License No. (if assigned) 
                 (Write NEW if none assigned) 
 
 
___________________________________________      ____________ __________________________________ 
Printed name of Applicant     Date   E-mail address (local site) 

(Continued on the next page.  DO NOT SKIP, as a signature is required.) 
 

 



IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR LP-GAS DEALER LICENSE AND OTHER 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

 
Some changes to the LP-Gas Law went into effect on October 1, 2009.  The major changes are: 

1. Two classes of LP-Gas Dealer licenses were created.  Insurance requirements are shown on the application.  The 
only difference between the licenses is whether or not the dealer transports LP-Gas.  A dispensing site that 
receives propane from a dealer, fills containers at their site, and the customer removes the container is a Class B 
dealer.  (No employee of the dispensing site transports propane.)  The company that brings the propane is a Class 
A dealer. A company that fills and transports grill cylinders is transporting, hence, Class A.  (A cylinder exchange 
location where all they do is sell or exchange full cylinders and they do no filling or transporting is exempt from 
licensing requirements.)  Please select the proper class carefully. 

2. The date your license expires will now coincide with the date your insurance policy expires, as shown on the 
proof of insurance you provide for us.  No more will the license show a December 31 expiration date unless that 
is when your policy expires.  You must maintain continuous liability insurance to retain a valid license.  You are 
responsible for updating us (providing an updated application) on any changes in ownership, address, telephone 
number, or insurance coverage.  If you provide us with information that your policy is renewed prior to the 
license expiration date, renewal of the license will be automatic.  We may require a newly-completed application 
on occasion.  Delays caused by out-dated information may result in penalties.  Failure to supply information of 
policy renewal may result in penalties, even if insurance never lapsed. 

3. The civil penalty limits for violations of the LP-Gas Law were raised significantly.  Also, a clause that had made 
imposing the penalties difficult, or even impossible, on certain violations was removed.  There are certain 
operational violations, such as failure to use chock blocks when required, blocking open an emergency shutoff 
valve, or smoking where smoking is not allowed, where a penalty may be imposed immediately. 

 
We are discontinuing the DBA name used in the past.  The primary name will be the name on the store or office.  It is 
how the public generally knows the business and often not the corporation name.  A parent company or principle 
individual may be shown on the application, but it will not be printed on the license.  Also shown are places to show who 
supplies the LP-Gas and who owns the equipment.  This may be used to determine which party is responsible for 
correcting violations.  Failure to provide requested information on the first page may result in delay in issuing the 
license or in not processing the application. 
 
This is your notice that, by applying for and receiving an LP-Gas Dealer license, you have agreed to abide by the 
requirements of the LP-Gas Law and the LP-Gas Regulations or that you may be subject to penalties for failure to abide 
by those rules.  You can get see the laws and regulations at www.ncagr.gov/standard/LP/LPgasConcerns/index.htm and 
scroll down to items 13 and 14. 
 
For violations of installation requirements, you will normally receive a notification of violation (inspection form) and 30 
days to correct the violation.  Requests for extensions must be made in writing and will be reviewed.  However, for certain 
serious operational violations, such as listed in #3, above, you may receive a notice to pay the fine with no prior warning 
and no grace period.  Under North Carolina law, you will have the right to appeal the penalty to the Office of 
Administrative hearings. 
 
You are required to sign below for your application to be processed.  Applications received without the signature or where 
no proof or insurance has been provided may be returned to you.  No license will be issued until a signed copy of this 
page and proof of insurance is received by us.  This signature and commitment will remain in effect until rescinded by 
you and the license is surrendered. 
 
I have read and understand the information presented in the above paragraphs.  I agree that the LP-Gas Law and 
LP-Gas Regulations apply to my business and that I may be subject to penalties for violations of these rules. 
 
___________________________________  ____________________________________ 
  Signature      Printed Name 
 
 
_____________________________________________________  _________________ 
  Company Name and Your Position      Date 


