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Fee Schedule for the North Carolina Standards Laboratory
North Carolina General Statutes, Chapter § 81A-12

Effective September 1, 2005

(a) The following fees apply to all weights that are tested and certified to meet tolerances less stringent than the
ASTM International E617 Class 4. This includes the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Class
F tolerance. If the weight error exceeds three-fourths of the applicable tolerance, adjustment may be required at an
additional fee equal to the normal fee. No extra fee shall be charged for the normal adjustment of a weight cart.
Even if weights are rejected or condemned, fees shall be assessed for the test performed.

Customary Fee/Unit Metric Fee/Unit
0-10 lb $     5.00 0-5 kg $     5.00

11-100 lb $   10.00 6-50 kg $   10.00
101-1000 lb $   20.00 51-500 kg $   20.00

1001-2500 lb $   30.00 501-1000 kg $   30.00
2501-6000 lb $   50.00 1001-2500 kg $   50.00
Weight Carts $ 125.00 Up to 6000 lb (includes adjustment)

(b) The following fees apply to all weights that are tested and certified to meet ASTM International E617 Class 4 or
the International Organization of Legal Metrology (OIML) R111 Class F2 tolerances. If the weight error exceeds
three-fourths of the applicable tolerance, adjustment may be required at an additional fee equal to the normal fee.
Even if weights are rejected or condemned, fees shall be assessed for the test performed.

Customary Fee/Unit Metric Fee/Unit
0-10 lb $   10.00 0-5 kg $   10.00

11-100 lb $   20.00 6-50 kg $   20.00
101-1000 lb $   40.00 51-500 kg $   40.00

1001-2500 lb $   60.00 501-1000 kg $   60.00
2501-6000 lb $ 100.00 1001-2500 kg $ 100.00

(c) The following fees apply to all weights that are calibrated. Calibration means reporting actual mass and
conventional mass values with an assigned uncertainty specific to the test. If necessary and considered feasible by
the metrologist, adjustments to ASTM International E617 Class 1, 2, or 3 tolerances or OIML R111 Class E2, or F1
tolerances may be made for an additional fee of two times the normal fee. Adjustments to weights of this group
shall require a minimum of ten days for weights to return to environmental equilibrium before a final calibration
value can be assigned. Even if weights are rejected or condemned, fees shall be assessed for the test performed.

Customary Fee/Unit Metric Fee/Unit
0-20 lb $   20.00 0-10 kg $   20.00

21-50 lb $   40.00 11-30 kg $   40.00
51-1000 lb $   70.00 31-500 kg $   70.00

1001-2500 lb $ 130.00 501-1000 kg $ 130.00
2501-6000 lb $ 200.00 1001-2500 kg $ 200.00
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(d) The following fees apply to all weights that are calibrated using NIST weighing designs. These weights are
tested in groups (typically either a 5, 3, 2, 1 series or a 5, 2, 2, 1 series) and are subject to the minimum per series
fee shown. The best uncertainty possible from the North Carolina Standards Laboratory shall be assigned to the
mass values of the weights. If necessary and considered feasible by the metrologist, adjustments to ASTM
International E617 Class 0, 1, 2, or 3 tolerances or OIML R111 Class E1, E2, or F1 tolerances may be made for an
additional fee of two times the normal fee. Adjustments to weights of this group shall require a minimum of ten
days for weights to return to environmental equilibrium before a final calibration value can be assigned.

Weight Range Fee Unit or Series
0-1 kg $30.00 each Minimum charge of $90.00 (3 weights) per series

2-30 kg $50.00 each Minimum charge of $150.00 (3 weights) per series
0-2 lb $30.00 each Minimum charge of $90.00 (3 weights) per series

3-50 lb $50.00 each Minimum charge of $150.00 (3 weights) per series

(e) The following fees apply to volumetric standard calibration.

Provers or Test Measures Tested By the Volume Transfer Method
Customary Fee/Test Point Metric Fee/Test Point

0-5 gal $30.00 0-20 liters $30.00
Over 5 gal Add $0.40 per each additional gallon Over 20 liters Add $0.10 per each additional liter

Volumetric Flasks, Graduates, Provers, Slicker Plate Standards, or Test Measures Tested By the Gravimetric
Calibration Method

Customary Fee/Test Point Metric Fee/Test Point
0-100 gal set-up fee $50.00  0-500 liters set-up fee $50.00

Calibration Fee Add $2.00 per gallon Calibration Fee Add $0.50 per liter

Small Volume Provers (SVPs) Tested By the Gravimetric Calibration Method
Customary Fee/Test Point Metric Fee/Test Point
0-100 gal set-up fee $100.00  0-500 liters set-up fee $100.00

Calibration Fee Add $2.00 per gallon Calibration Fee Add $0.50 per liter

(f) The following fees apply to tape measures and rigid rules.
Set-Up Fee $40.00 per instrument
Calibration Fee $10.00 per calibration interval

(g) The following fees apply to liquid-in-glass and electronic thermometers.
Set-Up Fee $40.00 per instrument
Calibration Fee $20.00 per test point
Resistance Thermometry Coefficient Calculation and Report $100.00 per instrument

(h) Any special tests or weight cleaning shall be billed at the rate of seventy dollars ($70.00) per hour prorated to
the nearest tenth of an hour, with a minimum charge of thirty-five dollars ($35.00).

(i) A minimum charge of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per invoice shall apply.

(j) If travel is required in connection with the performance of any of these services, the Department shall be
reimbursed at the rates provided in G.S. 138-6.

(k) The Department may refuse to accept for testing any weight or measure the Department deems unsuited for its
intended use.

(l) The fee for tests performed on weights or measures that will be used primarily outside of the State of North
Carolina shall be twice the amounts set forth in this section.


