
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
Plant Industry Division – Seed and Fertilizer Section 

Application for: 

New Seed Dealer’s License 

Make checks out to: 
NCDA&CS 

Send form & Check to: 
NCDA&CS 

Plant Industry – SEED 
1060 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, NC  27699-1060 

Effective Year:  January 1 – December 31: 

  Fee  License Type 

$ 125.00 Wholesale or Combined Wholesale and Retail Seed Dealer 

$   30.00 Retail Seed Dealer 
North Carolina Seed Law References: 
§ 106-277.28.  License and inspection fees 
(2) Each seed dealer who offers for sale any agricultural, vegetable, or lawn or turf seeds for seeding purposes shall register with the Commissioner and shall 
obtain an annual license, for each location where activities are conducted, by January 1 of each year
§ 106-277.2.  Definitions. 
(9) The term "dealer" or "vendor" shall mean any person, not classified as a grower, who buys, sells or offers for sale any seed for seeding purposes and shall 
include any person who has seed grown under contract for resale for seeding purposes.
(39) The term "wholesaler" shall mean a dealer engaged in the business of selling seed to retailers or jobbers as well as to consumers.

Business Name 
As it will be displayed on the license: 

Physical Address of Business: 

City: State: Zip Code: County: 

Business Phone: Business Email: 

Corporate Office / Contact: 
If same as above, leave blank 

Contact Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 
Contact Phone: Contact Email: 

Will you be selling containers of seed weighing 10 pounds or more? 
No 

Yes.   Review the excerpts from the North Carolina Seed Law below, and see if a seed reporting permit is right for you 
North Carolina Seed Law References: 
§ 106-277.28.  License and inspection fees 
(3) Each seed dealer or grower who has seed, whether originated or labeled by the dealer or grower, that is offered for sale in this State shall report the quantity of 
seed offered for sale and pay an inspection fee of four cents (4¢) for each container of seeds weighing 10 pounds or more. Seed shall be subject to the inspection 
fee and reporting requirements only once in any 12-month period. This fee does not apply to seed grown by a farmer and offered for sale by the farmer at the 
farm where the seed was grown.

Each seed dealer or grower shall keep accurate records of the quantity of seeds and container weights offered for sale from each distribution point in the 
State. These records shall be available to the Commissioner or an authorized representative of the Commissioner at any and all reasonable hours for the purpose 
of verifying the quantity of seed offered for sale and the fees paid. Each seed dealer or grower shall report quarterly on forms furnished by the Commissioner the 
quantity and container weight of seeds first offered for sale that quarter. The reports shall be made on the first day of January, April, July, and October, or within 
10 days thereafter. Inspection fees shall be due and paid with the next quarterly report filed after the seed is first offered for sale. If the report is not filed and the 
inspection fees paid to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services by the tenth day following the date due, or if the report of the quantity or container 
weights is false, the Commissioner may issue a stop-sale order for all seed offered for sale by the dealer or grower. If the inspection fees are unpaid more than 15 
days after the due date, the amount due shall bear a penalty of ten percent (10%) which shall be added to the inspection fees due.  

If the seed law excerpt applies to you, please apply for a Seed Reporting Permit with the 2nd page of this 
packet 

___________________________________ Signature & Date 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Steve Troxler 

Commissioner 

 

 

N. David Smith 

Chief Deputy 

Commissioner 
 

North Carolina  

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

 

Budget and Finance Division 
 

 

Catherine Stogner 

Budget & Finance 

Director 

 

Terrie L. Butts, CIA 

Field Auditor 
 

  

E-mail:  Terrie.Butts@ncagr.gov 
1085 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, N.C.  27699-1085    (919) 707-3041   Fax (919) 733-1041 

An Equal Opportunity Affirmative Action Employer 

         APPLICATION FOR SEED REPORTING PERMIT 
 

DATE:________________________________ 

 

NAME OF FIRM:_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

ADDRESS:_______________________________________ 

         

        ________________________________________       PHONE:_______________________   

 

To: 

NC Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services 

 External Audit Section 

 1085 Mail Service Center 

 Raleigh, NC  27699-1085 

 

  

 Application is hereby made for a permit to pay to the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services at the close of each quarter ending September, December, March, and June, the inspection fee of $0.04 per container 

of seed weighing 10 pounds or more.  Payment will be made using the reporting system as provided in Chapter 106, Article 31 

of the General Statutes of North Carolina as amended by the General Assembly of 1995. 

 

 I agree to keep satisfactory and necessary records to indicate the quantity and container of weights of seeds distributed 

in North Carolina through all distributors of this company’s seeds, and further agree to grant to the Commissioner of 

Agriculture , or his legal agent, permission to examine our records, to verify our statement of seeds distributed. 

 

 I further agree to make report of quantity and container weights and pay inspection fee by the 10th of each October (1st 

quarter), January (2nd quarter), April (3rd quarter) and July (4th quarter), covering seed distributed in the State of North Carolina 

during the preceding quarter, and to comply with all other provisions of said law and all rules and regulations established 

thereunder. 

 

Seed quantity records will be available for audit at the following address: 

 

______________________________________________________            __________________________________________ 

                                                                                                                   Applicant’s Signature 

 

_____________________________________________________              __________________________________________ 

                                                                                                                                                   Print Name & Title 

 

Phone:_______________________________________________ 


