FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
FRIDAY, JAN. 14, 2011
Joyce Woodhouse, executive secretary
Corn Growers Association of North Carolina
Corn growers to hold referendum Feb. 22
RALEIGH — North Carolina corn growers will vote Feb. 22 on a six-year continuation of their commodity assessment program.
The Board of Directors of the Corn Growers Association of North Carolina is asking that farmers assess themselves at a rate of 3/4 cent per bushel on all corn marketed in North Carolina.
The campaign to continue an assessment was announced on Jan. 13 by CGANC President Darren Armstrong at the Joint Commodities Conference of Corn, Cotton, Soybeans and Small Grain Producers in New Bern. Armstrong urged growers to continue the assessment program, which is administered by the association. “As farmers we must stay united and work together to survive in the farming industry,” Armstrong said.
The association is involved in the following areas: international and domestic marketing; research and education; grants to cooperative extension offices; and legislation that will be helpful to corn growers and other farmers. A 24-member Board of Directors, covering all corn-producing areas of North Carolina, governs the organization’s activities. This board also gives support to issues of a local nature that members believe will benefit farmers.
Growers may vote at local cooperative extension offices from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. All farmers currently engaged in the production of corn, including tenants, sharecroppers or other persons sharing in the production of corn or income from corn, are eligible to vote. A two-thirds favorable vote is required to carry the referendum as authorized by Article 50, Chapter 106 of North Carolina General Statutes.
If approved, the assessment shall be collected by the first handler or purchaser of the commodity from the producer, and remitted to the N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which forwards the proceeds to the association.
Any corn grower may get a refund of levied assessments from the Corn Growers Association of North Carolina. A request for a refund should be made within 30 days from the date on which the assessment is collected.