
As well as for doing everything else.

We’re known globally as one of the best climates for business.

Taxes



Taxes

According to an Ernst & Young report available on the Council on State Taxation website (www.COST.org), 

North Carolina has one of the nation’s lowest effective business tax rates.

North Carolina affords businesses substantial savings in mandatory expenses, including some of the lowest 

workers’ compensation costs in the nation, as well as an affordable unemployment cost.

Other tax savings in North Carolina include: 

•	 No inventory tax

•	 Low property tax

•	 Tax exemption on electricity for qualifying businesses

•	 Purchases of industrial machinery and equipment are exempt from sales and use tax, 

and are only subject to a low privilege tax

•	 State corporate and franchise tax credits available to eligible businesses for job 

creation, investments in machinery and equipment, R&D expenses and ports usage.

This overview presents some of the most common state and local taxes in North Carolina, but it is not an 

exhaustive list or an official interpretation of the law. Businesses are encouraged to secure the counsel of 

a competent tax professional regarding their individual situations.

With one of the lowest effective 

business tax rates in the country, 

North Carolina’s tax advantages 

are substantial.
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Taxes — Summary Chart
Tax Rate

Personal Income Tax 
A direct tax that is levied on the income of private 
individuals.

Graduated rates of 6%, 7% and 7.75% based on filing status and N.C. 
taxable income of the taxpayer. Individuals who meet certain income 
requirements will pay a surtax of 2% – 3%.

Corporate Income Tax 
A tax on the profits of corporations.

6.9% of corporate income allocable to the state — A surcharge of 3% on 
the N.C. income tax is added before deducting any tax credits or payments.

Franchise Tax 
A tax on corporations for the privilege of doing business 
in N.C.

$1.50 per $1,000 of the largest base: either (a) capital stock, surplus and 
undivided profits; (b) 55% of appraised value of property in the state 
subject to local taxation; or (c) book value of real and tangible personal 
property in the state less any outstanding debt that was created to acquire 
or improve real property in the state.

Excise Tax 
A tax paid when purchases are made on a specific good, 
such as gasoline. The tax is often included in the price of 
the product.

Piped natural gas:	 4.7¢ for the first 200 therms;
0.3¢ in excess of 500,000 therms
Exempt for manufacturers and farmers

Gasoline:	            29.9¢ per gallon
Cigarette:	 45¢ per pack

Inventory Tax 
A tax levied on items held for resale. In a manufacturing 
business, raw materials, work in progress, working 
supplies and finished goods are all inventory.  

None

Sales and Use Tax  
A tax on general retail sales and on purchases made 
outside of N.C. for storage, use or consumption in N.C.

 State: 4.75%;  County: 2%*

*The combined general rate is 6.75% in all counties except 
Mecklenburg County, which has an additional 0.5% sales tax;  
while Alexander, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, 
Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, 
Surry and Wilkes have an additional 0.25% sales tax.

Eligible businesses may receive tax exemptions, refunds and/or discounts 
on purchases from select property and services, such as electricity, water 
or raw materials.

Property Tax  
A tax on real estate and tangible personal property, 
including all machinery and equipment.  The tax is levied 
by local governments.

Actual ratios vary from county to county.

Unemployment Insurance (UI)
A program run jointly by federal and state governments 
that provides money benefits for a specified time — 
usually 26 weeks — after being laid off from a job. The 
amount of an unemployment check will be less than 
former pay. UI covers most employees, provided that 
they worked at least six months during the year prior to 
losing the job and earned the minimum amount of money 
required under the program’s regulations.

N.C. Minimum Tax Rate: 0.00%

New Employer Tax Rate: 1.2% (first 2 years)

N.C. Maximum Tax Rate: 6.84%

Taxable Wage Base (per employee): $19,700 (2010)

Worker’s Compensation
A program that provides replacement income and medical 
expenses to employees who are injured or become ill due 
to their jobs.

Coverage is required by law; however, rates are only regulated by the 
state for companies that fall in the assigned risk category.  Employers can 
negotiate rates with their insurance provider, or can self-insure by showing 
proper fiscal responsibility. 

Employees to receive 66 2/3% of the average weekly wage, not to exceed 
$834 per week (adjusted annually).
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Taxes — Corporate Income Tax
Tax Rate

Personal Income Tax 
A direct tax that is levied on the income of private 
individuals.

Graduated rates of 6%, 7% and 7.75% based on filing status and N.C. 
taxable income of the taxpayer. Individuals who meet certain income 
requirements will pay a surtax of 2% – 3%.

Corporate Income Tax 
A tax on the profits of corporations.

6.9% of corporate income allocable to the state — A surcharge of 3% on 
the N.C. income tax is added before deducting any tax credits or payments.

Franchise Tax 
A tax on corporations for the privilege of doing business 
in N.C.

$1.50 per $1,000 of the largest base: either (a) capital stock, surplus and 
undivided profits; (b) 55% of appraised value of property in the state 
subject to local taxation; or (c) book value of real and tangible personal 
property in the state less any outstanding debt that was created to acquire 
or improve real property in the state.

Excise Tax 
A tax paid when purchases are made on a specific good, 
such as gasoline. The tax is often included in the price of 
the product.

Piped natural gas:	 4.7¢ for the first 200 therms;
0.3¢ in excess of 500,000 therms
Exempt for manufacturers and farmers

Gasoline:	            29.9¢ per gallon
Cigarette:	 45¢ per pack

Inventory Tax 
A tax levied on items held for resale. In a manufacturing 
business, raw materials, work in progress, working 
supplies and finished goods are all inventory.  

None

Sales and Use Tax  
A tax on general retail sales and on purchases made 
outside of N.C. for storage, use or consumption in N.C.

 State: 4.75%;  County: 2%*

*The combined general rate is 6.75% in all counties except 
Mecklenburg County, which has an additional 0.5% sales tax;  
while Alexander, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, 
Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, 
Surry and Wilkes have an additional 0.25% sales tax.

Eligible businesses may receive tax exemptions, refunds and/or discounts 
on purchases from select property and services, such as electricity, water 
or raw materials.

Property Tax  
A tax on real estate and tangible personal property, 
including all machinery and equipment.  The tax is levied 
by local governments.

Actual ratios vary from county to county.

Unemployment Insurance (UI)
A program run jointly by federal and state governments 
that provides money benefits for a specified time — 
usually 26 weeks — after being laid off from a job. The 
amount of an unemployment check will be less than 
former pay. UI covers most employees, provided that 
they worked at least six months during the year prior to 
losing the job and earned the minimum amount of money 
required under the program’s regulations.

N.C. Minimum Tax Rate: 0.00%

New Employer Tax Rate: 1.2% (first 2 years)

N.C. Maximum Tax Rate: 6.84%

Taxable Wage Base (per employee): $19,700 (2010)

Worker’s Compensation
A program that provides replacement income and medical 
expenses to employees who are injured or become ill due 
to their jobs.

Coverage is required by law; however, rates are only regulated by the 
state for companies that fall in the assigned risk category.  Employers can 
negotiate rates with their insurance provider, or can self-insure by showing 
proper fiscal responsibility. 

Employees to receive 66 2/3% of the average weekly wage, not to exceed 
$834 per week (adjusted annually).

North Carolina’s corporate income tax is 6.9 percent of the portion of net income allocable to the state.  Tax 

credits are available to eligible businesses for job creation, investing in machinery and equipment, R&D expenses 

and ports usage.  

Apportionment: Double-Weighted Sales Formula
If a corporation in North Carolina does business in North Carolina and in one or more other states, North Carolina 

taxes a fraction of the corporation’s income based on the amount of sales, payroll and property it maintains within 

North Carolina. In the double-weighted sales factor calculation, the payroll factor, the property factor and twice 

the sales factor are added, and then divided by four. In computing the property factor, owned property is valued at 

original cost and leased property is valued at eight times the annual rental rate. Thus, a business in North Carolina 

that makes significant sales outside the state would be taxed at a lesser level than a comparable business that is 

located elsewhere but makes significant sales within North Carolina. 

Single Sales Factor
A corporation that invests $1 billion in private funds to construct a facility within nine years in a Tier 1 or Tier 2 

county in the state may determine corporate tax using the single sales factor. G.S. 105-130.4(s1)

Other requirements:

•	 Property factor must exceed 75 percent of the sum of its property, payroll and sales factors, with the sales 

factor added twice for the current year, or the corporation’s average property factor for the preceding 

three years exceeds 75 percent of the average sum of the factors for those years.

•	 The Secretary of Commerce makes a written determination that the corporation has invested or is 

expected to invest at least one billion dollars in private funds to construct a facility in this state within 

nine years after the time the construction begins. 

•	 Maintain the average number of employees it has at the facility during the first two years after the facility 

is placed in service for the remainder of time in which the corporation must complete the investment.

•	 Pay a wage higher than the average county wage.

•	 Provide health insurance for all of its full-time employees.

If the corporation fails to invest one billion dollars in private funds within nine years, the benefit of the special 

apportionment formula expires and the corporation must apportion income using the standard three-factor formula, 

with the sales factor double weighted.

If no corporation has qualified as a qualified capital intensive corporation prior to January 1, 2019, then G.S. 105-

130.4(s1) is repealed effective for taxable years beginning on January 1, 2019.

For several other types of businesses, such as construction contractors, securities dealers and loan companies or 

corporations that receive more than 50 percent of ordinary gross income from intangible property, apportionment 

is based only on the sales factor.
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Taxes — Corporate Income Tax
Appeals to Statutory Apportionment
If a corporation believes the statutory apportionment formula results in 

allocating to North Carolina a greater portion of its net income than is 

reasonably attributable to business or earnings within the state, it may petition 

the Secretary of Revenue for authorization to use a method of allocation that 

will more accurately reflect the income attributable to this state. Petition may be 

made prior to commencement of operations in the state based on contemplated 

business, and must be made no later than 90 days after the regular or extended 

due date of the tax return. 

Income Taxes for S Corporations
S corporations are not subject to the corporate income tax. Each shareholder’s 

pro rata share of S corporation income attributable to North Carolina is taxed 

under individual income tax. A shareholder who is a resident of the state also 

takes into account his share of S corporations subject to individual income tax 

adjustments.  An S corporation incorporated or doing business in North Carolina 

is required to file an information return with the N.C. Department of Revenue. 

Corporate Surcharge
Corporations subject to corporate income tax must pay an income tax surcharge 

of three percent on its North Carolina income tax due before deducting any tax 

credits or payments. 

S corporations filing composite income tax returns on behalf of shareholders who 

live outside North Carolina must calculate the amount of North Carolina income 

tax due separately for each nonresident shareholder.  That calculation must 

include the amount of individual income surtax based on the Surtax Percentage 

Table for individuals with a filing status of single.

Note:  there is no penalty (interest) for underpayment of estimated tax if the 

underpayment is because of the surtax. 

Special Tax Provisions  
for Limited Liability 
Companies

A limited liability company 
is subject to taxation as a 
partnership if it is classified 
as a partnership for federal 
income tax purposes or as a 
corporation if it is classified 
as a corporation for federal 
income tax purposes. An LLC 
classified as a corporation 
is subject to franchise tax. 
However, it is the intent of 
the law that the franchise 
tax applies equally to assets 
held by corporations and 
assets held by corporate-
affiliated LLCs. An LLC’s 
assets are attributed to a 
controlling corporation if 
the corporation or affiliated 
group of corporations 
owned 50 percent or more 
of the LLC’s assets. The 
percentage was reduced 
from 70 percent to 50 
percent effective January 
1, 2005, to avoid the 
possibility of corporations 
reducing their franchise tax 
by transferring assets to 
their LLC.

Corporate income taxes may be structured 

according to the type of corporation.  

Classifying businesses appropriately could 

lead to significant tax benefits.
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Taxes — Corporate Franchise Tax

Franchise taxes are variable for businesses 

in North Carolina and are levied on the 

basis of one of several determinations of 

worth or value.

Franchise tax is levied on business corporations and LLCs electing to be treated as corporations, 

including those electing federal S corporation status, at the rate of $1.50 per $1,000 of the largest of 

three alternate bases:

•	 The amount of the capital stock, surplus and undivided profits apportionable to the state.

•	 Fifty-five percent of the appraised value of property in the state, subject to local taxation.

•	 The book value of real and tangible personal property in the state, less any outstanding debt that 

was created to acquire or improve real property in the state.

Only corporations that do business in one or more states in addition to North Carolina are permitted to 

apportion capital as described under the first bullet above. The minimum franchise tax is $35.
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Taxes — Property Tax
In North Carolina, the principal source of local revenue is a 

property tax on real estate and tangible personal property, 

including all machinery, equipment and automobiles. The 

state does not levy a tax on such property. 

Property Tax Assessment
There is only one property tax assessment in each county. The 

value determined by the county assessor constitutes the base 

for all levies, including those of cities and towns on property 

located within the municipality. Property is assessed at 100 

percent of its appraised value. Although appraised value is 

intended to illustrate “full value,” this standard is not always 

achieved for real property because it is required to be revalued 

only once every eight years. Property appraised at full value at 

the time of appraisal may appreciate until appraised value is 

only 50 to 60 percent of true value by the end of the eight-year 

period. Actual ratios vary from county to county. Household 

tangible personal property in the personal residence of the 

owner is exempt from property taxation.

New manufacturing machinery generally is appraised at cost 

and is depreciated annually until it reaches a minimum value, 

frequently 25 percent of cost. The annual depreciation varies, 

but a common figure is 10 percent per year. Most counties 

have adopted the “trending” procedure to value machinery 

and equipment. Under this procedure, the machinery is 

valued at its replacement cost each year and then depreciated 

according to its age and expected life.

Property taxes are based on assessments as of January 1, are 

due September 1, but may be paid at par as late as January 5 

of the following year.

County Tax 
Rate County Tax 

Rate
Alamance   .5200 Johnston   .7800

Alexander   .6050 Jones   .7400

Alleghany   .4500 Lee   .7500

Anson   .7670 Lenoir   .8000

Ashe   .4000 Lincoln   .5980

Avery   .3700 McDowell   .2790

Beaufort   .5300 Macon   .5600

Bertie   .7800 Madison   .6700

Bladen   .7400 Martin   .5500

Brunswick   .4425 Mecklenburg   .8166

Buncombe   .5250 Mitchell   .4000

Burke   .5200 Montgomery   .6700

Cabarrus   .6300 Moore   .4650

Caldwell   .6599 Nash   .6700

Camden   .5900 New Hanover   .4655

Carteret   .3000 Northampton   .8700

Caswell   .6590 Onslow   .5850

Catawba   .5300 Orange   .8580

Chatham   .6219 Pamlico   .6525

Cherokee   .3850 Pasquotank   .6200

Chowan   .6850 Pender   .5120

Clay   .3600 Perquimans   .4400

Cleveland   .7200 Person   .7000

Columbus   .8150 Pitt   .6650

Craven   .4728 Polk   .5200

Cumberland   .7400 Randolph   .5860

Currituck   .3200 Richmond   .8100

Dare   .2800 Robeson   .7700

Davidson   .5400 Rockingham   .6980

Davie   .6200 Rowan   .6225

Duplin   .7100 Rutherford   .5300

Durham   .7459 Sampson   .7850

Edgecombe   .8600 Scotland   .9900

Forsyth   .6740 Stanly   .6700

Franklin   .8725 Stokes   .6400

Gaston   .8350 Surry   .5820

Gates   .6400 Swain   .3300

Graham   .4400 Transylvania   .3949

Granville   .7950 Tyrell   .6600

Greene   .7560 Union   .6650

Guilford   .7824 Vance   .7820

Halifax   .6800 Wake   .5340

Harnett   .7250 Warren   .6200

Haywood   .5413 Washington   .7900

Henderson   .5136 Watauga   .3130

Hertford   .8400 Wayne   .7025

Hoke   .7300 Wilkes   .6500

Hyde   .5800 Wilson   .7300

Iredell   .4850 Yadkin   .6900

Jackson   .2800 Yancey   .4500

County Tax Rates (per $100)

Notes: All property subject to taxation must be assessed at 100% of  
appraised value. All counties must revalue real property at least every  
8 years, but may elect to revalue more frequently.
Source: N.C. Department of Revenue, Tax Research Division August 2011
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County Tax 
Rate County Tax 

Rate
Alamance   .5200 Johnston   .7800

Alexander   .6050 Jones   .7400

Alleghany   .4500 Lee   .7500

Anson   .7670 Lenoir   .8000

Ashe   .4000 Lincoln   .5980

Avery   .3700 McDowell   .2790

Beaufort   .5300 Macon   .5600

Bertie   .7800 Madison   .6700

Bladen   .7400 Martin   .5500

Brunswick   .4425 Mecklenburg   .8166

Buncombe   .5250 Mitchell   .4000

Burke   .5200 Montgomery   .6700

Cabarrus   .6300 Moore   .4650

Caldwell   .6599 Nash   .6700

Camden   .5900 New Hanover   .4655

Carteret   .3000 Northampton   .8700

Caswell   .6590 Onslow   .5850

Catawba   .5300 Orange   .8580

Chatham   .6219 Pamlico   .6525

Cherokee   .3850 Pasquotank   .6200

Chowan   .6850 Pender   .5120

Clay   .3600 Perquimans   .4400

Cleveland   .7200 Person   .7000

Columbus   .8150 Pitt   .6650

Craven   .4728 Polk   .5200

Cumberland   .7400 Randolph   .5860

Currituck   .3200 Richmond   .8100

Dare   .2800 Robeson   .7700

Davidson   .5400 Rockingham   .6980

Davie   .6200 Rowan   .6225

Duplin   .7100 Rutherford   .5300

Durham   .7459 Sampson   .7850

Edgecombe   .8600 Scotland   .9900

Forsyth   .6740 Stanly   .6700

Franklin   .8725 Stokes   .6400

Gaston   .8350 Surry   .5820

Gates   .6400 Swain   .3300

Graham   .4400 Transylvania   .3949

Granville   .7950 Tyrell   .6600

Greene   .7560 Union   .6650

Guilford   .7824 Vance   .7820

Halifax   .6800 Wake   .5340

Harnett   .7250 Warren   .6200

Haywood   .5413 Washington   .7900

Henderson   .5136 Watauga   .3130

Hertford   .8400 Wayne   .7025

Hoke   .7300 Wilkes   .6500

Hyde   .5800 Wilson   .7300

Iredell   .4850 Yadkin   .6900

Jackson   .2800 Yancey   .4500

Taxes — Property Tax
Property Tax Exemptions and Exclusions
There are a few exemptions and exclusions of interest to manufacturers 

and retail/wholesale establishments.

Excluded from property taxation are:

•	 Manufacturers’ inventories (raw materials, goods in 
process, finished goods, materials or supplies consumed 
in processing, crops and other agricultural or horticultural 
products held for sale).

•	 Contractors’ inventories (goods held by contractors to be 
furnished in the course of building, installing, repairing or 
improving real property).

•	 Inventories of retail and wholesale merchants (tangible 
personal property held for sale and not manufactured, 
processed or produced by the merchant).

•	 A portion of improvements on brownfields properties during 
the five-year period beginning when the improvements are 
made with the exclusion declining each of the five years.

Exempt from property taxation are:

•	 Computer software, not including embedded software and capitalized software purchased or licensed from an 
unrelated entity.

•	 Property imported from a foreign country and stored at the seaport terminal while awaiting further shipment 
(during the first year of storage).

•	 “Bill and hold” goods manufactured in North Carolina and held by the manufacturer for shipment to a 
nonresident customer.

•	 Motor vehicle chassis belonging to nonresidents that enter the state temporarily to have a body mounted.

•	 Personal property used exclusively for the prevention or reduction of dust in textile plants.

Special Environmental Considerations
Property used to reduce air or water pollution receives special treatment under North Carolina tax laws if the Board of 

Environmental Management or local air pollution control program certifies the property complies with the requirements 

of the board. Such real and tangible personal property is exempt from taxation under the property tax laws and is subject 

to the preferential one percent state sales tax rate as “accessory” to manufacturing machinery. Further, the cost may be 

excluded from the three alternate bases discussed under “Corporate Franchise Tax” in computing the franchise tax and 

may be amortized over 60 months for corporation income tax purposes. Equipment or facilities installed for the purpose of 

recycling solid waste or resource recovery from solid waste receives the same treatment under the tax laws as that given 

to pollution abatement equipment.

North Carolina is one of the 13 states that  

collect no state-level property taxes.
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Taxes — Sales and Use Tax

In North Carolina, the state levies a general retail sales and use tax of 4.75 percent. A majority of counties levy a 2 

percent local sales and use tax on items taxed by the state at its general rate. As a result, the combined general state 

and county tax rate is 6.75 percent in a majority of counties except Mecklenburg County, which has a rate of 7.25 

percent due to a 0.5 percent public transit tax and Alexander, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Haywood, Hertford, 

Lee, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties, which 

have a rate of 7.0 percent.

Items State  
Tax Rate

Local 
Tax Rate

Most tangible goods, room and cottage rentals, laundry and dry cleaning services, mixed beverages 4.75% 2%*

Telecommunications services, spirituous liquor, video programming 7.75% Exempt

Sales of aircraft, boats 3% Exempt

Electricity for general use 3% Exempt

Electricity for qualifying manufacturing industries and plants Exempt Exempt

Purchases of selected goods by manufacturers Exempt Exempt

Motor vehicles, prescription drugs, other medical equipment, gasoline Exempt Exempt

Food for home preparation Exempt 2%

Computer Software sold for use in a data center Exempt Exempt

Sales of piped natural gas to manufacturers and farmers Exempt Exempt

*Mecklenburg County has an additional .5% sales tax; Alexander, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, New Hanover, 
Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes have an additional .25% sales tax 

Sales and Use Tax Rates
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Taxes — Sales and Use Tax
Under qualifying conditions, purchases of certain items are exempt from sales and use tax.  These purchases are 

subject to a privilege tax.

Privilege Taxes

Mill Machinery
Mill machinery, mill machinery parts or accessories, and specialized equipment used to unload or process bulk cargo 

are subject to a privilege tax. This rate is one percent of the eligible equipment with a maximum tax of $80 per article.  

N.C. § 105-187.51B

Distribution Machinery
Distribution machinery for storage, use or consumption at manufacturing and distribution facility, with an  

investment of at least $80 million in real and tangible personal property and 550 employees within five years  

after  the facility is placed into service, is subject to a privilege tax.  This rate is one percent of the eligible  

equipment  with a maximum tax of $80 per article. N.C. § 105-187.51D

R&D Purchases
A one percent privilege tax is imposed on certain equipment purchased by physical engineering and life science 

R&D companies. The tax applies to equipment (including attachments and repair parts) that is capitalized by the 

company for federal income tax purposes and is used in R&D of tangible personal property. N.C. § 105-187.51B

Eligible Data Center M&E
Sales of eligible machinery and equipment to be located and used in an eligible data center that is capitalized for 

tax purposes are subject to a privilege tax. This tax rate is one percent with a maximum tax of $80 per article.  

In order to qualify for the one percent privilege tax, the eligible machinery and equipment must be used for: 

1.	 The provision of data center services, including equipment cooling systems for managing the performance of 

the data center property; hardware and software for distributed and mainframe computers and servers; data 

storage devices; network connectivity equipment and peripheral components and systems. 

2.	 For the generation, transformation, transmission, distribution or management of electricity, including 

exterior substations and other business personal property used for these purposes.   

A minimum capital investment of $150 million for a facility located in a Tier 1 county and a minimum investment of 

$300 million in a Tier 2 or Tier 3 county is required. This investment must be made within five years of the date on which 

the first qualifying improvement is made. The sunset for this exemption is for sales occurring on or after July 1, 2013.  

N.C. § 105-187.51C

Sales of machinery and equipment for an 

eligible data center can be subject to a 

privilege tax of one percent with a maximum 

of $80 per article, if requirements are met.
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Taxes — Personal Income Tax

Single Individuals Taxable Income Rate Surtax

0 to $12,750 6% 0%

Over $12,750 to $60,000 7% 0%

Over $60,000 to $150,000 7.75% 2%

Over $150,000 7.75% 3%

North Carolina has a graduated rate schedule, with rates of 6 percent, 7 percent and 7.75 percent, based 

on the filing status and North Carolina taxable income of the taxpayer.  Started in 2009, individuals who 

meet certain income requirements will pay a surtax on the amount of tax they owe before any withholding, 

payments or credits.

North Carolina taxable income is the same as the figure calculated for federal income tax purposes, with 

certain adjustments.

Married Individuals Filing Jointly and  
Surviving Spouses Taxable Income

Rate Surtax

0 to $21,500 6% 0%

Over $21,250 to $100,000 7% 0%

Over $100,000 to $250,000 7.75% 2%

Over $250,000 7.75% 3%

Head of Household Taxable Income Rate Surtax

0 to $17,000 6% 0%

Over $17,000 to $80,000 7% 0%

Over $80,000 to $200,000 7.75% 2%

Over $200,000 7.75% 3%

Married Individuals Filing Separately  
Taxable Income

Rate Surtax

0 to $10,625 6% 0%

Over $10,625 to $50,000 7% 0%

Over $50,000 to $125,000 7.75% 2%

Over $125,000 7.75% 3%
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Taxes — Workers' Compensation
North Carolina employers enjoy some of the lowest workers’ compensation costs in the nation thanks to a workers’ 

compensation program that is well-managed and features reasonable, fiscally responsible policies. The state’s program 

protects firms from extravagant expenses and unjust benefit claims while equitably serving injured employees with rightful 

claims. Several key features of the program can contribute to substantial labor cost savings:

•	 Self-insurance is permitted.

•	 Insurance rates are lower than the standard industry rates for qualifying firms.

•	 A clear-cut, on-the-job accident is a condition for benefit compensation.

•	 Free accident-prevention workshops designed for each product manufactured.
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Rate Rank

Alabama 2.45 10 Kentucky 2.29 15 North Dakota 1.02 51

Alaska 3.10 2 Louisiana 2.06 25 Ohio 2.24 17

Arizona 1.71 38 Maine 2.52 8 Oklahoma 2.87 4

Arkansas 1.18 49 Maryland 1.63 42 Oregon 1.69 41

California 2.68 5 Massachusetts 1.54 44 Pennsylvania 2.32 14

Colorado 1.39 47 Michigan 2.12 23 Rhode Island 2.02 28

Connecticut 2.55 6 Minnesota 2.27 16 South Carolina 2.38 12

Delaware 1.85 34 Mississippi 1.96 31 South Dakota 2.02 28

D.C. 1.32 48 Missouri 1.90 33 Tennessee 2.19 20

Florida 1.70 40 Montana 3.33 1 Texas 2.38 12

Georgia 2.08 24 Nebraska 1.97 30 Utah 1.46 45

Hawaii 1.70 40 Nevada 2.13 21 Vermont 2.22 18

Idaho 1.98 29 New Hampshire 2.45 10 Virginia 1.39 47

Illinois 3.05 3 New Jersey 2.53 7 Washington 2.04 26

Indiana 1.16 50 New Mexico 1.91 32 West Virginia 1.84 35

Iowa 1.82 36 New York 2.34 13 Wisconsin 2.21 19

Kansas 1.55 43 North Carolina 2.12 23 Wyoming 1.79 37

2010 Workers Compensation Index Rate and Ranking

Source: State of Oregon, Department of Consumer & Business Services (10/10) 
(Although some states may appear to have the same index rate, the ranking is based on calculations prior to rounding to two decimal places.)
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Taxes — Unemployment Insurance
North Carolina’s job stability environment is reflected in the low tax rates assigned to businesses contributing 

to the unemployment insurance trust fund through payroll taxes.

Business entities are subject to a payroll tax — also known as an employment tax — under the N.C. 

Employment Security Law if they either:

•	 Have one or more employees for 20 different weeks during a calendar year in North Carolina or

•	 Pay $1,500 in wages in any calendar quarter in North Carolina.

The tax is payable quarterly and applies to wage payments of up to $19,700 per employee per year in 2011. 

New Businesses
Entities commencing business in North Carolina during the year 2011 are subject to an employment security 

tax of 1.2 percent of applicable wages during the first two years. Those employers who avoid laying off 

workers and maintain a positive “experience rating” can decrease their tax rates to a minimum of zero 

percent. An experience rating takes into account payroll, tax paid, timeliness of payments and unemployment 

insurance benefits charged against an employer’s account to determine a business’ annual tax rate.

Existing Businesses
Entities that have one or more operating facilities in North Carolina that choose to expand or establish a new 

North Carolina facility in the same corporate division as an existing North Carolina operation may select the 

company’s existing unemployment insurance tax rate or may select the standard 1.2 percent rate that applies 

to new businesses.

Unemployment Insurance 
Program for 2011

•	 North Carolina Minimum 
Tax Rate:               	 0.00%

•	 New Employer Tax Rate 
(first 2 years):        	   1.20%

•	 North Carolina Maximum 
Tax Rate:	 6.84%

•	 Taxable Wage Base 
(per employee):       $19,700

New businesses maintaining a positive 

experience rating in the first two years of 

operation can decrease their tax rates to a 

minimum of zero percent. 
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Taxes — Unemployment Insurance

State Revenues
(000)

Cvrd Emp. 
(000)

Avg.  
Cost

Alabama  $547,360  1,738  $203.47 

Alaska  $154,945  290  $240.97 

Arizona  $405,523  2,322  $208.13 

Arkansas  $396,700  1,103  $274.50 

California  $6,209,637  14,106  $294.31 

Colorado  $734,334  2,114  $337.23 

Connecticut  $804,286  1,565  $316.91 

Delaware  $107,006  388  $242.02 

D.C.  $162,622  486  $296.82 

Florida  $1,741,664  7,054  $229.91 

Georgia  $797,129  3,635  $266.84 

Hawaii  $272,273  554  $404.49 

Idaho  $280,722  576  $242.48 

Illinois  $2,697,199  5,352  $294.11 

Indiana  $743,988  2,655  $289.08 

Iowa  $629,553  1,394  $307.79 

Kansas  $400,571  1,257  $317.59 

Kentucky  $475,765  1,661  $286.20 

Louisiana  $245,419  1,799  $195.29 

Maine  $170,126  543  $277.83 

Maryland  $1,009,432  2,291  $321.18 

Massachusetts  $1,886,789  3,058  $379.35 

Michigan  $1,748,101  3,683  $286.07 

Minnesota  $1,202,041  2,494  $347.48 

Mississippi  $244,437  1,040  $188.20 

Missouri  $672,579  2,480  $231.91 

2011 Third Quarter Unemployment Insurance Average Costs

Source: U.S. Department of Labor, Office of Unemployment Insurance

State Revenues
(000)

Cvrd Emp. 
(000)

Avg.  
Cost

Montana  $142,802  396  $250.80 

Nebraska  $226,445  865  $254.14 

Nevada  $393,036  1,082  $302.41 

New Hampshire  $203,395  587  $272.80 

New Jersey  $2,781,827  3,622  $377.99 

New Mexico  $310,201  741  $293.91 

New York  $3,190,697  8,173  $298.91 

North Carolina  $894,546  3,709  $292.05 

North Dakota  $84,499  352  $306.06 

Ohio  $1,510,506  4,766  $285.44 

Oklahoma  $401,718  1,428  $263.26 

Oregon  $970,213  1,553  $291.47 

Pennsylvania  $2,858,931  5,329  $323.42 

Rhode Island  $245,314  426  $361.70 

South Carolina  $553,252  1,714  $237.23 

South Dakota  $49,779  369  $242.15 

Tennessee  $748,239  2,502  $234.30 

Texas  $2,556,652  10,038  $311.35 

Utah  $274,178  1,114  $308.32 

Vermont  $116,026  286  $285.04 

Virginia  $687,187  3,344  $284.39 

Washington  $1,508,670  2,698  $394.94 

West Virginia  $222,182  660  $256.19 

Wisconsin  $1,147,231  2,569  $262.50 

Wyoming  $119,035  256  $335.11 

United States  $47,173,969  125,166  $291.41 

North Carolina’s unemployment insurance costs 

per worker are affordable and comparable to the 

national average.
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