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TO: All North Carolina County Fair and Carnival Concessionaires and Exhibitors
s
FROM: Richard G. Fredenburg, LP-Gas Engineer ﬂz‘/ﬁ'/{/"'“"mly

All LP-Gas (propane) installations at North Carolina county fairs and carnivals must be in accordance with the
North Carolina LP-Gas Law and Regulations. The requirements of this safety standard include, but are not
limited to:

() All LP-Gas containers must be maintained as required in the National Fire Protection Association
Standard 58 (NFPA 58), 2011 Edition, the LP-Gas Code, including being properly painted to prevent
corrosion, being in sound condition, and being requalified if more than 12 years old and so marked and
visible. OPD requirements apply in North Carolina.

(2) Installed or stored containers will be upright and secured with suitable restraints to prevent tipping over.

(3) Containers not connected into service will have the service valve plugged or the regulator capped, or, if
the valve is the Acme-thread type, the valve will not be plugged but may have a dust cap.

(4) All containers will sit on concrete, asphalt, brick, solid wood blocks, or masonry blocks or in a
container, such as a “milk crate,” to avoid contact with the ground and to provide a stable footing.

(5) Containers shall not be stored in any building, booth, tent, or unventilated vehicle. However, containers
having a maximum LP-Gas capacity of 5 Ib. may be used inside buildings for public exhibitions or
demonstrations. If more than one such container is located in a room, the containers shall be separated
by at least 20 ft. Routine preparation of food is not considered to be a demonstration or exhibition.

(6) All containers filled in place will be located so the fill valve is 10 feet from any ignition source, or is
separated from any ignition source by a vapor-proof barrier to provide 10 feet of separation. If the
container is filled only when ignition sources are shut down, the separation may be reduced to 5 feet.
Relief valves must be at least 5 feet from any ignition source.

(7) All valves, hoses, and piping material will be suitable for LP-Gas service. Hoses must be marked as
LP-Gas approved.

(8) All piping shall be properly supported and, if necessary, protected from damage.

The above requirements, and any others which may be applicable, will normally be enforced by fire inspection

personnel. If necessary, LP-Gas inspectors from our department can be provided. Do not ask a gas supplier to
violate the rules.

Every year there are some concession operators who do not adequately plan their space requirements to include
their propane tank(s). You may want to plan for additional gas hose or tubing to allow the tank(s) to go behind
your booth. All separation requirements of the LP-Gas Code apply.
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