	North Carolina Industrial Commission


	IC File #
	     

	Notice of Accident to Employer and Claim of 
	Emp. Code #
	     

	Employee, Representative, or Dependent
	Carrier Code #
	     

	(G.S. 97-22 through 24)
	Employer FEIN
	     

	
	The I.C. File # is the unique identifier for this injury. It will be provided by return letter and is to be referenced in all future correspondence..

	The Use Of This Form Is Required Under The Provisions of The Workers' Compensation Act
	

	


	     
	
	     
(   )    -    

	Employee’s Name
	
	Employer’s Name
Telephone Number

	     
	
	     
     
  
     

	Address

	
	Employer’s Address
City
State
Zip

	     
	  
     
	
	     

	City
	State
Zip
	
	Insurance Carrier

	(   )    -    
	(   )    -    
	

	Home Telephone
	Work Telephone
	

	   -  -    
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  M   FORMCHECKBOX 
  F
  /  /  
	

	Social Security Number                                                  Sex               Date of Birth
	



	EMPLOYEE – This form must be filed with the Industrial Commission within two years of the date of injury or occupational disease or your claim may be barred.  Notice shall be given to the employer as soon as the accident occurred or as soon thereafter as practicable and within 30 days. (This form should also be used for occupational disease claims; however, for asbestosis, silicosis and byssinosis, Form 18B is to be used.)


	
	Notice is hereby given, as required by law, that the above-named employee sustained an injury or contracted an occupational disease, 

	 described as follows:
	  :     FORMCHECKBOX 
 A.M.   FORMCHECKBOX 
 P.M.
	on
	  /  /  
	at
	     ,      
	Describe the injury or occupational disease,

	
	Time of Injury
	
	Date (Required)
	
	City and County
	

	including the specific body part involved (e.g., right hand, left hand)
	     

	Describe how the injury or occupational disease occurred:       

	Occupation when injured:
	     
	Nature of employer’s business:
	     

	Disability began:
	  /  /  
	  Return to work date or period of estimated disability:
	  /  /   or      

	
	Date
	
	    Date             Period

	Weekly wage:      
	$     .  
	  Number of hours worked per day: 
	  
	   Days worked per week:
	  


	EMPLOYER:  This notice is being sent to you in compliance with requirements of the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act, in order that the medical services prescribed by the Act may be obtained; and, if disability extends beyond 7 days duration, or if death ensues, compensation may be paid according to law.


	
	
	(   )    -    

	Signature of (Check One)  FORMCHECKBOX 
 Employee,  FORMCHECKBOX 
 Attorney,

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Representative, or  FORMCHECKBOX 
 Dependent
	
	Telephone Number

	     
	     
	  
     
  /  /  

	Address 
	City
	State
Zip
Date Completed


	NOTE –If injured is unable to sign this, another may sign for him.  This form should be typewritten if possible. Employee should retain one signed copy of this notice, mail one signed copy to Industrial Commission at the address below, and furnish employer with one signed copy.


	Form 18

5/01
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	For IC use ONLY

Nature

Body

Cause

SIC

Coder

	Mail to:    

    
	NCIC - Statistics Section

	
	
	
Form 18
	4334 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4334

Main Telephone:  (919) 807-2500
Ombudsman:   (800) 688-8349



