Soil & Water Conservation Commission

SWCC group picture
2015 Soil & Water Conservation Commission members from left to right:  Tommy Houser, Bill Yarborough, Ben Knox, Chairman John Langdon, Vice-Chairman Craig Frazier, Charles Hughes and Manly West

The seven-member Soil & Water Conservation Commission provides oversight, rules and policy for the state soil and water conservation programs. These programs are voluntary and emphasize a locally-led approach to improve and protect water quality and natural resources for a wide range of land uses. The commission is responsible for determining cost share allocations to the state's 96 conservation districts. In return, the local districts utilize these funds to provide financial and technical assistance to landowners to install best management practices on the landscape of North Carolina. The commission also has the responsibility and authority to appoint and remove soil and water conservation district supervisors.

2015 Meeting Schedule, Notices & Deadlines





NCDA&CS Division of Soil & Water Conservation, Pat Harris, Director
Mailing Address: 1614 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1614
Physical Address: 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh North Carolina 27604
Phone: 919.733.2302; FAX: 919.715.3559