Skip Navigation


Structural Pest Control Section

Structural Pest Control Committee (SPCC)

The Structural Pest Control Law created the Structural Pest Control Committee (SPCC) which is authorized to adopt regulations concerning:
  • The amount and kind of training required of an applicant for a license, certified applicator's card, or registered technician's card;
  • The type, frequency and passing score of any examination given an applicant for a license or certification;
  • The amount, kind and frequency of continuing education required of a licensee and certified applicator;
  • The methods and materials used in performing any work authorized by the issuance of a license or certification under this law;
  • The business records to be kept by licensees and certified applicators;
  • The credentials and identification required of licensee and their employees equipment while engaged in structural pest control;
  • The safety methods and procedures for structural pest control work;
  • Fees to be charged for reinspections following a finding of a deviation from the structural pest control rules; and,
  • The fees charged for training materials provided by the Committee or the Division.

In addition, the SPCC has the final authority in approving applications for licenses, certified applicator cards, and registered technician cards.

The SPCC is made up of nine members appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture, the Governor, the Dean of the School of Agriculture of North Carolina State University at Raleigh, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, and the General Assembly. The number and qualifications of the appointments are as follows:
  • One member who is an employee of the Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services who serves at the pleasure of the Commissioner.
  • One member at large who is not a member of the structural pest control business whose term shall be for four years.
  • Two members who are actively engaged in the structural pest control industry and who are licensed in at least two phases of structural pest control.
  • One member who is unaffiliated with the structural pest control industry, NCDA&CS, DEHNR, or NCSU School of Agriculture.
  • All of the members appointed by the Governor serve four year terms.
General Assembly
  • One member who is appointed upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
  • One member who is appointed upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
Dean of the School of Agriculture - NCSU
  • One member from the entomology faculty at NCSU who shall serve at the pleasure of the Dean.
Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • One member who is an epidemiologist from Health and Human Services who serves at the pleasure of the Secretary.

NCDA&CS Structural Pest Control and Pesticide Division, J. Patrick Jones, Director
Mailing Address: 1090 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090
Physical Address: 4400 Reedy Creek Rd., Raleigh, NC 27607
Phone: (919) 733-6100 ; FAX: (919) 733-0633

How can we make this page better for you?
Contact the NCDA&CS

Found a bug? Have a suggestion? Fill out the form below and we'll take a look!

Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Question or Comments:

Back to top

Get Email Alerts

Stay up to date with NCDA&CS. Sign up to receive the latest news and upcoming events via email.