Structural Pest Control Section
STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL CREDENTIALS
The Structural Pest Control Law divides structural pest control into three specialized areas or phases: Household Pest Control (P); Wood-Destroying Organisms Control (W); and, Fumigation (F). In addition, it establishes three classes of structural pest control applicators: licensees; certified applicators; and, registered technicians. Each class of applicator must qualify for the credential he or she desires through training, experience, and/or examinations depending upon the credential desired. Structural pest control cards are not prorated; all cards expire June 30th of each year and must be renewed prior to that date if the applicator is to continue working without interruption.
An individual wishing to perform structural pest control for hire or on property other than his own or that of his employer must be licensed. To obtain a license, the applicator must first have two years of documented experience in structural pest control work and qualify as a certified applicator in the phase in which he/she wishes to become licensed, and pass an examination in that phase. The fee for each phase license exam is $50.00. The fee for a structural pest control license is $200.00 for the first phase plus $75.00 for each subsequent phase. In addition, all licensees must provide proof of insurance before the license is issued. North Carolina does not have a reciprocal licensing agreement with any State. Select this link for instructions on how to apply for a structural pest control license.
All applicators of Restricted Use Pesticides for structural pest control purposes must be certified by the Division in the appropriate phase of structural pest control or work under the direct supervision of a certified applicator. To become certified the applicant must attend the Registered Technician School or have completed the Registered Technician Training Program or equivalent, pass the Core (general competency) examination plus examinations in each of the three phases of structural pest control in which certification is desired. Certification does not allow the applicator to perform structural pest control services for hire. To perform structural pest control work for hire, the applicator must be licensed or employed by a licensee. The fee for each of the phase exams is $25.00. The Core exam is administered free. The fee for a certified applicator's identification card is $50.00. North Carolina has a reciprocal certification agreement with Kentucky, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. It must be remembered that even if you qualify for this reciprocal certification agreement that you still must obtain a license in order to perform structural pest control services for hire in North Carolina. Select this link if you are interested in obtaining certification by reciprocity.
All employees of certified applicators or licensees who perform structural pest control must be registered with the Division within 75 days of their employment. Prior to the issuance of a registered technician's identification card, each employee must complete the Registered Technician Training Program or an approved equivalent training program. The fee for a registered technician's identification card is $40.00.
Last updated January 10, 2012
Send questions and comments to Webmaster