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Memorandum 
 

 

To:  New Applicants for a North Carolina Sleep Products Manufacturing License 

 

From:  Kay Harris, Administrator 

  Sleep Products Section  

 

Subject:  North Carolina Sleep Products Manufacturer’s Licensing Information 

 

In North Carolina, Sleep Products are regulated by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

Structural Pest Control and Pesticides Division. Sleep products in North Carolina include but are not limited to, comforters, 

cushions, decorative pillows, pads, sofas and dual-purpose infant car seats. 

 

 New applicants pay a set fee for a license to complete the current year. The amount of the fee is dependent upon the 

quarter in which the business starts in North Carolina. Verification of the business registration certificate may be requested to 

confirm the business start date.  

 

North Carolina regulations state that no person shall sell any bedding in this State which does not comply with the provisions 

of general statute 130A 261-273 Part 8 Bedding. Therefore, a manufacturer’s regulated items found in the channels of trade 

prior to being licensed or registered in North Carolina, must pay a fee of $720.00 regardless of the “business start date”. 

 

 The Uniform Registry Number (URN) System exists for the benefit of manufacturers that ship to or sell products in the United 

States. This allows a single state-issued registration number to be listed on the law label. North Carolina accepts this system 

and requires a state registry number on law labels.  

 

Read and fully complete the application to include the following: 

� Actual Law Label to determine compliance with North Carolina Bedding Law and regulations 

 

� Copy of the current license from the state that issued the uniform registration number (URN) 

 

� Check (s) payable in U.S.  dollars to: Sleep Products Section, NCDACS.  

       Checks from foreign companies must have U.S. bank encoding numbers along bottom of checks.  A service        

      charge of $25.00 for insufficient funds  will be added to the license fees . 

 

The application must be signed by  an officer of the manufacturer with a legal authority to represent the company including 

but not limited to the President, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, or chief financial officer.  

All signatures must be originals. No copies, facsimiles or stamps accepted. 

 

If you have any questions, contact our office at 919-571-4814. 


