Pesticides Section

North Carolina Pesticide Advisory Committee

(General Statute 143-439)

Three practicing farmers

*Mr. Dan McConnell, 475 Old Dana Road, Hendersonville, NC 28792
(Tel. 828/692-2819)/mcconnellfarms@bellsouth.net

*Mr. Greg Bunn, 1626 Exum Road, Nashville, NC 27856
(Tel. 252/459-7154)/gregbunn77@gmail.com

*Mr. Darryl K. Corriher, 1475 Corriher Springs Road, China Grove, NC 28023
(Tel. 704/857-6557 home)/dbcorriher@ctc.net

One conservationist (at large)

* Mr. Manly Wilder, 4609 Manassa Pope Lane, Raleigh, NC 27612
(Tel. 919/789-8377)/mwilder002@nc.rr.com

One ecologist (at large)

Dr. Johnny Randall, Director of Conservation Programs, NC Botanical Garden, CB 3375, UNC-CH,
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(Tel. 919/962-0522)/jrandall@unc.edu

One representative of the pesticide industry

*Dr. Stewart Sherrick, 4774 River Farm Road, Rocky Mount, NC 27803
(Tel. 252/883-7025)/stew.sherrick@monsanto.com

One representative of agri-business (at large)

Mr. William M. McLawhorn, PO Box 370, Cove City, NC 28523
(Tel. 252/514-2416 home)/bmclawhorn@mcsiag.com

One local health director

Phillip E. Tarte, MHA, Union County Health Dept., 1224 W. Roosevelt Blvd., Monroe, NC 28110
(Tel. 704/296-4801 office)/philliptarte@co.union.nc.us

Three members of the North Carolina State University (NCSU) College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, at least one of which shall be from the area of wildlife or biology

*Dr. Clyde E. Sorenson, Professor, Dept. of Entomology, NCSU, Box 7613,
Raleigh, NC 27695-7613
(Tel. 919/515-8427 office/Cell: 919/418-3948)/clyde_sorenson@ncsu.edu

*Dr. Rick Bradenburg, Professor & Extension Entomology, Dept. of Entomology, NCSU, Box 7613,
Raleigh, NC 27695-7613
(Tel. 919/515-8876 office)/rick_bradenburg@ncsu.edu

*Dr. David Jordan, Peanut Specialist, Dept. of Crop Science, NCSU, Box 7620,
Raleigh, NC 27695-7620
(Tel. 919/515-4068 office)/david_jordan@ncsu.edu

One member representing the North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA&CS);

*Mr. James W. Burnette, Jr., Structural Pest Control and Pesticides Div., NCDA&CS,
1090 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090
(Tel. 919/733-3556 office)

One member representing the North Carolina Department of Environment & Natural Resources (NCDE&NR); the State Health Director or his designee

*Mr. Ted Bush, Div. of Water Quality, Dept. of Environmental & Natural Resources
1617 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-1601
(Tel. 919/807-6325 office)/ted.bush@ncdenr.gov

*Dr. Mina W. Shehee, Div. of Public Health, Dept. of Health and Human Services,
2622 Meronies Church Rd., Bear Creek, NC 27207
(Tel. 919/837-5148)/mina.shehee@dhhs.nc.gov

One representative of a public utility or railroad company which uses pesticides

*Mr. Jimmy Brown, Energy United
PO Box 1831, Statesville, NC 28687
(Tel. 704/924-2143)/jimmy.brown@energyunited.com

One representative of the Board of Transportation

*Mr. Don Lee, NC Dept. of Transportation, Roadside Environmental Unit,
1557 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1557
(Tel. 919/707-2921office)/dlee@ncdot.gov

One member of the North Carolina Agricultural Aviation Association

*Mr. Harold Thompson, Air Ag, Inc.
PO Box 36
Tarboro, NC 27886
(Tel. 252/823-5374 office)/Harold@airag.com

One member of the general public (at large)

*Mr. Warren A. Davis, 7320 Valley Lake Drive
Raleigh, NC 27612
(Tel.919/848-1051)/warrenadavis@earthlink.net

One member actively engaged in forest pest management

*Mr. Coleman A. Doggett, 217 Rosecommon Way, Cary, NC 27511
(Tel. 919/467-0551 home)/ncdoget@mindspring.com

One member representing the Division of Waste Management of the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources

*Jenny Patterson, PO Box 11213, Winston-Salem, NC 27116
(Tel. 336/767-0031)/jenny.patterson@ncdenr.gov

*Agency appointments              

Chairman, VACANT
Vice-Chairman, VACANT
Secretary, James W. Burnette, Jr.

1/13

 

NCDA&CS Structural Pest Control & Pesticide Division, James W. Burnette, Jr., Director
Mailing Address: 1090 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090
Physical Address: 2109 Blue Ridge Rd., Raleigh, NC 27607
Phone: (919) 733-3556 ; FAX: (919) 733-9796