Division Home Page
Pesticides Section Home
Pesticide Registration
Licensing & Certification
Compliance Monitoring & Field Operations
Pesticide Disposal Assistance Program
Environmental Programs
Site Map
Training Calendar
NC Pesticide Advisory Committee Contact Information
NC Pesticide Board Contact Information
Structural Section

Pesticides Section

North Carolina Pesticide Advisory Committee

(General Statute 143-439)

Three practicing farmers

*Mr. Dan McConnell, 475 Old Dana Road, Hendersonville, NC 28792
(Tel. 828/692-2819)/mcconnellfarms@bellsouth.net

*Mr. Greg Bunn, 1626 Exum Road, Nashville, NC 27856
(Tel. 252/459-7154)/gregbunn77@gmail.com

*Mr. Darryl K. Corriher, 1475 Corriher Springs Road, China Grove, NC 28023
(Tel. 704/857-6557 home)/dbcorriher@ctc.net

One conservationist (at large)

* Mr. Manly Wilder, 4609 Manassa Pope Lane, Raleigh, NC 27612
(Tel. 919/789-8377)/mwilder002@nc.rr.com

One ecologist (at large)

Dr. Johnny Randall, Director of Conservation Programs, NC Botanical Garden, CB 3375, UNC-CH,
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(Tel. 919/962-0522)/jrandall@unc.edu

One representative of the pesticide industry

*Dr. Stewart Sherrick, 4774 River Farm Road, Rocky Mount, NC 27803
(Tel. 252/883-7025)/stew.sherrick@monsanto.com

One representative of agri-business (at large)

Mr. William M. McLawhorn, PO Box 370, Cove City, NC 28523
(Tel. 252/514-2416 home)/bmclawhorn@mcsiag.com

One local health director

Phillip E. Tarte, MHA, Union County Health Dept., 1224 W. Roosevelt Blvd., Monroe, NC 28110
(Tel. 704/296-4801 office)/philliptarte@co.union.nc.us

Three members of the North Carolina State University (NCSU) College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, at least one of which shall be from the area of wildlife or biology

*Dr. Clyde E. Sorenson, Professor, Dept. of Entomology, NCSU, Box 7613,
Raleigh, NC 27695-7613
(Tel. 919/515-8427 office/Cell: 919/418-3948)/clyde_sorenson@ncsu.edu

*Dr. Rick Bradenburg, Professor & Extension Entomology, Dept. of Entomology, NCSU, Box 7613,
Raleigh, NC 27695-7613
(Tel. 919/515-8876 office)/rick_bradenburg@ncsu.edu

*Dr. David Jordan, Peanut Specialist, Dept. of Crop Science, NCSU, Box 7620,
Raleigh, NC 27695-7620
(Tel. 919/515-4068 office)/david_jordan@ncsu.edu

One member representing the North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA&CS);

*Mr. James W. Burnette, Jr., Structural Pest Control and Pesticides Div., NCDA&CS,
1090 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090
(Tel. 919/733-3556 office)

One member representing the North Carolina Department of Environment & Natural Resources (NCDE&NR); the State Health Director or his designee

*Mr. Ted Bush, Div. of Water Quality, Dept. of Environmental & Natural Resources
1617 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-1601
(Tel. 919/807-6325 office)/ted.bush@ncdenr.gov

*Dr. Mina W. Shehee, Div. of Public Health, Dept. of Health and Human Services,
2622 Meronies Church Rd., Bear Creek, NC 27207
(Tel. 919/837-5148)/mina.shehee@dhhs.nc.gov

One representative of a public utility or railroad company which uses pesticides

*Mr. Jimmy Brown, Energy United
PO Box 1831, Statesville, NC 28687
(Tel. 704/924-2143)/jimmy.brown@energyunited.com

One representative of the Board of Transportation

*Mr. Don Lee, NC Dept. of Transportation, Roadside Environmental Unit,
1557 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1557
(Tel. 919/707-2921office)/dlee@ncdot.gov

One member of the North Carolina Agricultural Aviation Association

*Mr. Harold Thompson, Air Ag, Inc.
PO Box 36
Tarboro, NC 27886
(Tel. 252/823-5374 office)/Harold@airag.com

One member of the general public (at large)

*Mr. Warren A. Davis, 7320 Valley Lake Drive
Raleigh, NC 27612

One member actively engaged in forest pest management

*Mr. Coleman A. Doggett, 217 Rosecommon Way, Cary, NC 27511
(Tel. 919/467-0551 home)/ncdoget@mindspring.com

One member representing the Division of Waste Management of the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources

*Jenny Patterson, PO Box 11213, Winston-Salem, NC 27116
(Tel. 336/767-0031)/jenny.patterson@ncdenr.gov

*Agency appointments              

Chairman, VACANT
Vice-Chairman, VACANT
Secretary, James W. Burnette, Jr.



NCDA&CS Structural Pest Control & Pesticide Division, James W. Burnette, Jr., Director
Mailing Address: 1090 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090
Physical Address: 2109 Blue Ridge Rd., Raleigh, NC 27607
Phone: (919) 733-3556 ; FAX: (919) 733-9796