Certification & Licensing
Certification & Licensing Staff
- Renee Woody - Licensing, Certification, & Outreach Manager
- Tamora Hester - Licensing Processing Manager
- Effie Carroll - Licensing & Renewals, Reciprocal Applications
Rhonda O'Neal - Pesticide Exams & Licensing & Renewals
- Cam McDonald - Certification, Continuing Education Course Approval, Licensing
- John Feagans - Certification, Continuing Education Course Approval, Licensing
Commercial and Private Certification & Licensing
Certification is required for farmers (private applicators) wishing to apply restricted use pesticides to an agricultural commodity. Private applicators are certified for three (3) years and the certification fee is ten dollars($10.00) every three years.
Licensing is required for commercial applicators applying any type of pesticide for compensation, public operators working for a state or local government who apply pesticides in their course of work, dealers selling restricted use pesticides, or pest control consultants making recommendations for pesticide treatment of pest problems. License must be renewed annually and the fee, where applicable, is seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per year. The license year is January - December.
(A) Commercial Ground Applicators: The North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971 requires licensing for individuals applying any pesticide for compensation. The applicator is required to pass a certification exam appropriate to the area in which the applicator wishes to work.
(B) Public Ground Operators: Employees of federal, state, county, or municipal governments who apply pesticides in the course of their jobs are certified and licensed in the same manner as commercial applicators. However, no fee is charged for the public operator license and use of the license is restricted to applications made as a government employee. Public utility workers are considered public operators but must pay a fee for their license.
(C) Private Pesticide Applicators: Farmers, or their employees, who use restricted use pesticides in the production of an agricultural commodity, on land that they own or lease, are certified as Private Pesticide Applicators upon passing the North Carolina Private Pesticide Applicator exam and submitting in the appropriate application and fee.
(D) Aerial Applicators: Pesticide applicators who apply pesticides with a plane or helicopter. The aerial applicator is required to pass two exams, one in aerial methods, and one in the specialty area in which he will work. The certification period for aerial applicators is two years, with an annual license renewal required.
Pesticide Dealers: Individuals who sell, distribute, hold, or make available for use restricted use pesticides to end users are required to have a Pesticide Dealer's License.
Pest Control Consultants: Anyone who, for a fee, offers or supplies technical advice, supervision, or recommends the use of pesticides is required to obtain a Pest Control Consultants License. Individuals applying for this license must hold a Bachelor's, Master's, or Ph.D. degree in a biological or agricultural science, with specific course work relevant to the area of consultation.
For general license information, private pesticide applicator certification or consultant's license contact (919)733-3556. For information regarding recertification courses go to our Recert Class Page.
PowerPoint Presentation Downloads: