
WHEN REGISTERING NEW PRODUCTS, USE THE NEW PRODUCT APPLICATION 
INCLUDED WITH THIS PACKAGE (REV. 6/09).  DISCARD ANY OLD APPLICATIONS. 

   

STOP!   Registration Renewal Due By January 1, 2010! 
    Plea se read completely before processing the 2010 pesticide registration renewal form. 
The "North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971" requires annual registration of all pesticides marketed in North Carolina. 
All registrations of pesticides registered for 2009 expire on December 31, 2009.  Product renewal applications for 
reregistration of all currently registered products must be received by January 1, 2010,  for the 2010 calendar year. 
Those products listed on the renewal applications not received by this date are subject to “Stop Sale, Stop Use, or 
Removal Orders” if these products are shipped and found in the channels of trade after December 31, 2009. 

ALL INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED!!
 

RENEWAL OF PESTICIDE PRODUCTS: Enclosed is one (1)  computer generated form that 
list all products that were registered for the 2009 calendar year.  Please complete the 
reregistration of these products by FOLLOWING THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE COMPUTER 

FORM.  Under “STATUS” please indicate whether this product is “Renewal,” “Revised,” or 
“Discontinued.”  Please SIGN AND DATE the form and return it with the appropriate fees (made 
payable to NCDA & CS) to the address given on the renewal form.  Make a copy of the completed form 
for your records. 
 

NEW PRODUCT: To register a new product or to continue the registration of any previously 
discontinued product, complete as directed one copy of the "Application for Registration of New 
Pesticide Product" for EACH product to be registered.  The new product application may be 
duplicated if additional copies are needed. 
 

REGISTRATION FEES: The annual registration fee for each brand or grade of pesticide is  
$150.00.  An ENVIRONMENTAL TRUST FUND assessment (ETF) is required for each 

product registered.  The assessment amount depends on the product sales in North Carolina the 
previous fiscal year from October 1 to September 30.  If gross sales of the product were $0 to 
$5,000, the assessment is $25.00 for that product.  If gross sales for the product were 
above $5,000, the assessment is $50.00 for that product. New products require a $25.00 
assessment, since $00.00 sales is less than $5,000.00. Make check payable to the North Carolina 
Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA & CS). The pesticide registration fee and the 
ETF assessment may be combined into one check. 
 

DISCONTINUED PRODUCTS: Each pesticide declared to be “discontinued” by the 
registrant must be registered for one full year after distribution into North Carolina 
has stopped.  Shipment into North Carolina must not occur during the discontinuance year.  

A registration fee and an ETFA (see directions under REGISTRATION FEE) must be submitted for each 
discontinued product unless the registrant certifies in writing on the renewal form that "the product was 
sold only to the end user and no longer remains in the channels of trade.”  Products registered as 
discontinued for the 2009 calendar year do not appear on the renewal listing.  If you wish to renew the 
registration of any previously discontinued product, follow the procedure outlined in the section "New 
Product." 
 



 

PESTICIDE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION: Registrants will receive a Pesticide Registration 
Certification that certifies that the brands or grades of pesticides listed have been registered and 
their sale in North Carolina is authorized for the calendar year indicated.  Due to high volumes of 
renewal applications coming in, you may not receive your certification until June. 

 
APPLICATION REVIEW: Mail all applications to the address on application.  Please be sure 
applications are complete and signed before submitting them. Applications for new 
products are reviewed first, and the renewal applications (computer listings) are reviewed 
second, in the order received. 

                                                                    
LABELING: Include a complete set of final printed labeling for each new product.   Revised labels 
may be submitted any time during the year.  These revised labels, if approved, will be added to 
your file and will be considered the most current label for the product.  No additional registration 
fees are required for revised labels of currently registered products.  Do not send a copy of the 
EPA stamped approved label unless we request it.  Do not submit labeling on CDs or via email. 

 
DELINQUENT REGISTRATION PENALTY: The "North Carolina Pesticide Law of 1971" 
requires a delinquent registration penalty of $200.00 for each brand or grade of pesticide found 
being offered for sale in North Carolina prior to registration.  This penalty MUST be paid and 
cannot be waived. 

 
(EE) BULLETINS:2  Send all 2(ee) bulletins issued for North Carolina uses, as you would 

 
25(b) PRODUCTS, BIOTECH PRODUCTS, GENETICALLY ALTERED PRODUCTS, 

supplemental labels. 

VIRUSES, ETC.: Registration IS required for products exempted under FIFRA Section 25(b), 
biotech products, genetically altered products (such as B.t. corn), viruses, etc.  Seed products 
that have been altered to produce plants that are herbicide tolerant are NOT required to be 
red. 

 
registe

FERTILIZER-PESTICIDE MIXTURES: Separate pesticide registrations are required for each 

 
ERMITICIDES:

fertilizer analysis even if the pesticide remains the same.  These mixtures also require 
registration with the Fertilizer Section, Plant Industry Division, NCDA & CS, 1060 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27611, (919) 733-3930. 

T  Please see enclosed memorandum. 

MATERIAL SAFETY DATA SHEET (MSDS):

 
 

 One copy of the MSDS must be submitted for 

 
CONFIDENTIAL STATEMENT OF FORMULA:

each new registration or whenever the MSDS is revised.  Do not submit MSDSs via email or 
CDs. 

 Do NOT send the EPA Confidential Statement 

UESTIONS?  

of Formula unless we specifically request it.   
 
Q Please contact us at (919) 733-3556 



                     N O R T H C A R O L I N A 
 

I M P O R T A N T  R E G I S T R A T I O N  I N F O R M A T I O N  

N O R T H  C A R O L I N A  
2 0 1 0  R E N E W A L  C Y C L E  

 

CDs & NEW PRODUCT APPLICATION 
CDs - NOT ACCEPTED: Electronic versions of labels and Material Safety Data Sheets can be sent to us via 
our web page hosted by Kelly Registration Systems.  Please see the ELECTRONIC RENEWAL OPTION 
section below for more information.  Even if you do not use the electronic renewal feature, you can still send us 
electronic labels and MSDSs through this system.  If you do not use this system, hard copies of labels and 
MSDSs must be submitted to our office. 
 
NEW PRODUCT APPLICATION:  New product applications are included in this package.  Starting 
immediately, please use these new applications.  Make additional copies as you need them.  Please discard any 
old applications you have on hand.  PLEASE NOTE: On the top, right hand corner of the application you will 
find "YEAR_______".  Please indicate here if the application is for 2009 or 2010. 
 

ELECTRONIC RENEWAL OPTION 
The North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services, Pesticide Section continues to offer you 
the option of renewing your currently registered products over the internet.  Kelly Registration Systems (KRS) 
and the North Carolina Pesticide Section offer this on-line service to help reduce time investment of the state 
and the registrants.  This service enables you to submit your renewal information, electronic versions of 
supporting documentation in PDF format (such as product labels and Material Safety Data Sheets), and remit 
renewal fees electronically.  For more information, including the terms and conditions of using the electronic 
renewal option please visit http://www.kellysolutions.com/erenewals.  If you choose the e-renewal option, you 
do not need to complete the paper renewal application.  If you do not have supporting documentation (labels 
and MSDS's) in electronic format you can still submit your renewals electronically, and send paper copies of 
your documentation directly to the NC Pesticide Section.  You must include a cover letter with the paper 
documents that clearly explains that the documents are being submitted to support the electronic 
renewal.  Electronic renewals are available to all companies with products registered in the state.  To receive 
your username and password or have questions about this option, please contact KRS at support@kellyreg.com. 
 

SUBMITTING ELECTRONIC LABELS 
During the 2009 renewal period, numerous invalid electronic pesticide labels were submitted to the North 
Carolina Pesticide Section through the Kelly Registration Systems’ web site.  These labels were unacceptable 
due to one or more of the following reasons. 
 

1. The labels were for products not currently registered for sale in North Carolina. 
2. The labels were for products that have never been registered for sale in North Carolina. 
3. The labels were identical to those already on file in North Carolina. 

 
The submission of these invalid labels needlessly increases label review time – consuming time that could be 
devoted to processing valid revised labeling.  The staff of the NC Pesticide Section cannot continue to sort 
through the many invalid labels to find those actually needed.  Registrants need to access the KRS web site and 
review their list of products registered in North Carolina and their related electronic labels.  Only submit labels 
that have been revised since you last sent them to us.  Please note that the NC Pesticide Section reserves the 
right to refuse electronic documents from any company that habitually violates these guidelines. 
 


