Skip Navigation


Plant Industry - Plant Protection Section -
Plant Conservation Program

Plant Conservation Board

As stated in the Plant Protection and Conservation Act, The PCP Board consists of seven members. The Governor appoints a representative from the N.C. Botanical Garden, the botanical, scientific community of N.C., the N.C. Division of Forest Resources, and a N.C. citizen’s conservation organization. The Commissioner appoints a representative from the commercial plant production industry in N.C., the Department of Agriculture, and the N.C. public at large. Each member is appointed to serve a four-year term.

In summary, the powers and duties of the Board are:
(a) to publish a list of endangered species, threatened species, and species of special concern;
(b) to revise the lists when necessary;
(c) to regulate shipment of species on the protected plant list;
(d) to regulate any exotic species that may appear on the Federal Endangered or Threatened Species list;
(e) to regulate and forbid sale or collection of certain plant species growing in N.C.;
(f) to conduct investigations to determine if a plant should be listed;
(g) to adopt regulations to protect and conserve any protected plant;
(h) to establish programs for endangered and threatened plant species consistent with the Endangered Species Act, including the acquisition of land or aquatic habitats;
(i) to enter into and administer cooperative agreements through the Commissioner of Agriculture with other federal, State, or private conservation organizations concerning protected plant species and their conservation and management;
(j) to cooperate with any federal government or other state agency for the purpose of enforcing these provisions;
(k) to receive funds, issue grants, enter contracts, employ personnel, or purchase supplies to fulfill its duties;
(l) to publicize regulations under which permits may be issued to licensed nurserymen, growers, or botanical gardens for the sale or distribution of protected plants, provided that they are nursery propagated and grown from seed or by vegetative propagation, and that the plants bear the grower’s permit number.

North Carolina Plant Conservation Board Members

Ms. Katherine K. Schlosser, Chairperson
1402 Bearhollow Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
Phone: 336-855-8022, Cell: 336-708-3852
Fax: 336-299-6631


Represents: Public at Large
Effective: 11/8/2010
Re-appointed--Term Expires: 9/30/2016
Appointment: Commissioner



Mr. Les Hunter, Vice Chair
NCDA & CS - Forest Service
1616 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1616
Phone: 919-857-4833
Fax: 919-857-4805

Represents: N. C. Forest Service
Effective: 3/8/2006
Re-appointed--Term Expires: 9/30/2019
Appointment: Governor


Mr.Stephen (Steve) K. Henson, RF
Mountain Region Tree Farm Coordinator
206 Caring Place Loop
Clyde, NC 28721
Phone: 828-506-4786

Represents: Citizens Conservation
Effective: 1/22/2014
Term Expires: 9/30/2017
Appointment: Governor


Dr. Peter White, Director
North Carolina Botanical Garden
UNC Chapel Hill
CB #3375, Totten Center
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3375
Phone: 919-962-0522, 919-962-6939


Represents: N.C. Botanical Garden
Effective: 10/16/1986
Re-appointed--Term Expires: 9/30/2013
Appointment: Governor

Replacement: Damon Waitt, Director of NCBG, Official Notification Pending


Dr. Alexander Krings
NCSU, Botany Department
Garner Hall, Box 7612
Raleigh, NC 27695
Phone: 919-515-2700
Fax: 919-515-3436

Represents: Botanical Scientific Community
Effective: 12/6/2011
Re-appointed--Term Expires: 9/30/2019
Appointment: Governor


Mr. David Hyatt
President/General Manager
Panoramic Farm, Inc.
3110 Tarlton Mill Road
Marshville, NC 28103
Phone: 704-233-4600, Cell: 704-622-3822

Represents: Commecial Plant Production Industry
Effective: 10/1/2013
Re-appointed--Term Expires: 9/30/2020
Appointment: Commissioner

Mr. Jonathan T. Lanier, Esq.
NCDA&CS Legal Affairs
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1001
Phone: 919-707-3010
Fax: 919-715-3559

Represents: NCDA&CS
Effective: 10/1/2015
Re-appointed--Term Expires: 9/30/2019
Appointment: Commissioner


Plant Conservation Program Support Staff
Plant Ecologist: Lesley Starke - Email:
Permits and Research: Jennifer Stanley - Email:

Information Processsing Technician: Nancy Stewart - Email:

PCP Administrator: Cheryl Gregory - Email:
Plant Industry Director: Phillip Wilson - Email:
Plant Pest Administrator: Joy Goforth - Email:
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Property & Construction Division: Kent Yelverton - Email:
Mailing Address: 1001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1001
Phone: 919-807-4366 Fax: 919-733-0999
North Carolina Department of Justice
Assistant Attorney General: Christopher McClennan - Email:
Mailing Address: PO Box 629, Raleigh, NC 27602-0629
Phone: 919-716-6507 Fax: 919-716-6755


For Additional Information Contact:

NC Plant Conservation Program Administrator – Cheryl Gregory

Phone: (919) 707-3760 | Fax: (919) 733-1041

For Additional Information Contact:
NC Plant Conservation Program Administrator - Cheryl Gregory
Phone: (919) 707-3760 | FAX: (919) 733-1041

NCDA&CS Plant Industry Division - Plant Protection Section
Division Director - Phillip L. Wilson
Mailing Address: 1060 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1060
Physical Address: 216 West Jones Street, Raleigh NC 27603
Phone: (919) 707-3753 | FAX: (919) 733-1041

How can we make this page better for you?
Contact the NCDA&CS

Found a bug? Have a suggestion? Fill out the form below and we'll take a look!

Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Question or Comments:

Back to top

Get Email Alerts

Stay up to date with NCDA&CS. Sign up to receive the latest news and upcoming events via email.