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North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

Standards Division 
1050 MAIL SERVICE CENTER 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1050 
Telephone (984) 236-4750 

Fax (919) 831-1303 
 

 
 APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS DEALER 
 
The North Carolina LP-Gas law, G. S. 119 Article 5, defines an LP-Gas dealer as any person, firm, or corporation who 
engages in or desires to engage in: 

• The business of selling or otherwise dealing in LP-Gases which requires handling, storing, measuring, 
transporting, or distributing LP-Gas; or 

• The business of installing, servicing, repairing, adjusting, connecting, or disconnecting containers, equipment, or 
appliances which use liquefied petroleum gas. 

 

Each dealer shall obtain and maintain general liability insurance. Further, the law states that there shall be two classes of 
dealers, Class A and Class B.   
 

Class A dealers are involved in transporting LP-Gases in any amount. You must have general liability insurance, including 
product liability, of at least $1,000,000 combined single limit as well as motor vehicle liability of at least 
$1,000,000 combined single limit.  

Class B dealers do not transport LP-Gases and require $100,000 general liability combined single limit. 
 

The North Carolina Board of Agriculture has adopted the National Fire Protection Association Codes 58, 54, and 30A 
(Chapter 12) (current editions) as standards for storage, handling, and installation of LP-Gas. 
 

Please include: ACORD Certificate of Liability Insurance with each application as proof of current insurance 
coverage.  Please return completed application & proof of insurance by mail or by email to lplicense@ncagr.gov.  
Physical address of location MUST BE shown on ACORD Certificate of Liability Insurance 
 
_______________________________________________ ________________________________________________ 
Name of Firm or Corporation (name company goes by) Name of Principal Individual or Parent Company 
 
_______________________________________________ ________________________________________________ 
Physical Address (Actual location of Business) (Required) Mailing Address (Place to Send Correspondence) (Optional) 
 
___________________________ _____ ___________ ___________________________ _____ ___________ 
City    State  Zip Code  City     State  Zip Code  
 
___________________ ________________________ ___________________________Ext#________ 
County  Telephone Number  Telephone Number 
 
_______________________________________ _____________________________ ____________________ 
Name of Insurance Company   City and State    Policy Number  

DO NOT SKIP THIS SECTION 
 

______Class A Dealer        ______Class B Dealer 
 

Business description: (check all that apply) 
_____ Full-service dealer (includes deliveries) 
_____ Container filling (dispenser site) 
_____ Motor fuel dealer 
_____ LP-Gas storage system installation 

_____ LP-Gas appliance or equipment service 
_____ Bulk transport 
_____ Delivery of filled containers 
Other (describe)____________________________ 

 
_________________________________ _______________________________ ______________________ 
Signature of Applicant    Position with Company              License Number (if known) 
 

__________________________ __________________________  ___________ ___________________________ 
Print Name of Applicant         Applicant Contact Ph#  &   Ext#          Date                   E-Mail address (local site) or NONE 
 
 
     (Continued on the next page) 
     

 



 

 
 
 
 

 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR LP-GAS DEALER LICENSE AND OTHER 

RESPONSIBILITIES 
 
 

 
1. The operational difference between a Class A license and a Class B license is whether the 

dealer is transporting LP-Gas, either in bulk or containers.  A dispensing site that receives 
propane from a supplier, fills containers at their site, and the customer removes the container is 
a Class B dealer  (no employee of the dispensing site transports propane).  The company that 
brings the propane is a Class A dealer.  A company that fills and transports grill cylinders is 
Class A. A company that only installs LP-Gas appliances is a Class B. A cylinder exchange 
location where all they do is sell or exchange filled cylinders, and they do no transporting, is 
exempt from any licensing requirements. 
 

2. The date your license expires coincides with the date your insurance policy expires, as shown 
on the proof of insurance you provide for us.  You must maintain continuous liability insurance 
to retain a valid license.  Be sure the physical address of the location that requires the 
license is shown on the proof of insurance. You are responsible for updating us on any 
changes in ownership, address, telephone number, or insurance coverage. This can also be 
accomplished by making the Standards Division a certificate holder on your policy, then any 
changes or renewals should automatically be provided to us by your agent. Insurance 
information may be sent by email to lplicense@ncagr.gov. 

 
3.  An LP-Gas Dealer’s license is required, prior to operation, per NC General Statute. Locations 

found without a current license during an inspection are subject to a civil penalty on the first 
violation. 
 

4. You are subject to inspection for compliance with LP-Gas Laws, Regulations and adopted 
codes. Companies that use a scale or meter in the selling of LP-Gas are also subject to Weights 
and Measures Laws, Regulations and adopted codes. 
 

5. For violations of installation requirements, you will normally receive a notification of violation 
(inspection form) and 30 days to correct the violation. Follow-up inspections will continue until 
all violations are corrected, progressing to a warning letter then assessment of a civil penalty on 
the third and subsequent inspections. However, for certain serious operational violations a civil 
penalty may be assessed on the first inspection. Under North Carolina law, informal 
settlements/penalty reductions can be made by contacting the Standards Division Director. You 
also have the right to appeal the penalty of the Office of Administrative hearings. 
 

6. Requests for additional time to make needed repairs must be made in writing. For those 
companies that receive inspections via email, that email contains a convenient link to our 
website to request an extension. This is the preferred method. Alternatively, you may access the 
web site directly at https://www.ncmhtd.com/Standards/LP/RequestExtension.aspx or send an 
email to lp.requests@ncagr.gov to request an extension. 
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